New Food Finds

Hi, sweeties!! I want to thank you so much for your generous and kind comments on my previous post. The blog world is such a supportive place, and I have so much to learn from each of you. Hopefully, you can learn from my experience as well. Goodness knows, I’m learning from it. 🙂

While I haven’t been cooking a lot, I have certainly been eating. One of the things I’ve been doing while working on eating intuitively is trying to work more of the foods I’ve missed back into my life. For example, I ordered pad Thai last week from a nearby Thai restaurant, and I was delighted to discover that it didn’t take much for me to be comfortably full when I ate slowly and really savored my food. As a result of eating when hungry and stopping at the point of satisfaction (rather than at the point of empty plate…), I actually got four meals out of my one order of pad Thai! I would say I got my money’s worth out of that one!

I’ve also been doing plenty of shopping with an eye to finding things that will really satisfy me. I’ve found a couple of things I’d like to tell you about. I don’t know that these are exactly “new”, but they are “new to me.” Perhaps they will be new to you as well!

I really enjoy Yogi tea, so when I came across these granola crisps at my Safeway, made by the Yogi tea people, I couldn’t resist picking up a bag. I had the strawberry ones first.

Strawberry YumsThe photo on the bag doesn’t lie. The flakes really do have lovely seeds and bits of grain clinging to them. These had a nice strawberry flavor, and a very nice sweetness to them. The flakes are quite large, and make for easy snacking out of hand. They really are crisp and crunchy! Not surprisingly, they make a tasty addition to yogurt. I really find that I am most satisfied by a cup of yogurt when there is some crunch involved! To illustrate (with a somewhat off color photo)…

Crunchy, Yo!I obviously meant “off color” in the literal sense. I still have trouble with the lighting in my office. It isn’t made for photography! I loved the strawberry crisps so much that I decided to buy a bag of the Mountain Berry Flax crisps when I spied them at Whole Foods. 

Mountain Berry FlaxOnce again, I was not disappointed. The back of the package says that these little gems blend “the sweetness of blueberries with whole grains, heart healthy flax and a touch of huckleberry.” Huckleberries always remind me of Huckleberry Hound. Remember him? Blue dog? Southern drawl? Funny hat? I digress… Anyway, these have a lovely berry flavor, and the same lovely crunch as the strawberry gems. Speaking of the back of the pack:

VitalsI’ve had these in yogurt, mixed with other cereals in milk, and straight out of my hand. Check out the sturdy flakes:

FlaketasticI especially loved dumping the little crumbs from the bottom of the strawberry crisp bag into my vanilla Oikos at work today. So good! They are a new favorite food, and I’ll be restocking my drawer at work ASAP!!

The other new thing I’ve tried recently is the Old Country Style Muesli from Bob’s Red Mill. I have a friend who used to live abroad, and she once told me that she had a hard time finding a good unsweetened muesli. I think this one fits the bill!

Bob's MuesliAccording to the package, the ingredients are: Whole Grain Rolled Oats, Wheat,  Rye, Triticale and Barley, Almonds, Date Crumbles, Raisins, Sunflower Seeds, Flax Seeds and Barley. It doesn’t get much more basic than that! Here’s the link with more info, including a photo of the info on the back of the bag, in case you are interested in knowing more. Not bad, I must say.

I like to mix up a bowl of muesli, almond breeze, a splash of agave nectar and berries at night and let it sit in the fridge until morning. When I wake up, it’s ready to go. I’ve also mixed it up in the morning and let it sit while I shower. By the time I ready for it, the grains have had some time to soften up. The consistency certainly gets thicker after it sits overnight, but sometimes I forget to make it ahead of time. I think it’s good either way!! 

MuesliI haven’t tried it hot, which is another option. I love oat bran, grits and oat meal, as you know, but it is nice to have a cold super grainy cereal during the hot days of summer. That has been more appealing to me than a cozy bowl. I’ve really been enjoying this chilly breakfast, especially with all of the amazing local berries I have to add to my bowl. The blackberries really are as enormous as they look. SO good!! 

So now you know about a few of my recent purchases. I hope my little reviews are useful, and I hope you’ll keep an eye out for these products at your local store. I love telling you about the foods I enjoy! I’d like to start doing more review type posts, and I’m curious: What do you think makes for a good review? I’m learning as I go, and I’d love your feedback! 

Now, I have “The Red Violin” all cued up in the DVD player, and I think I’m going to watch it and relax a bit before heading off to bed. I’ve been meaning to watch this movie for years, and I think its time has finally come. I’m also feeling a little bit hungry, and, after writing about these granola crisps, I think I know exactly what I would like to eat! 🙂

Here’s wishing you a happy hump day! Ciao for now, sweeties!

9 Comments

Filed under Bob's Red Mill, Food, Intuitive Eating, Uncategorized, Weight Loss Success Story, Yogi Granola Crisps

9 responses to “New Food Finds

  1. debby

    Hi Sweetie, I think its funny that we don’t really know each other but we still call each other sweetie.

    Yes, I really like food reviews, and you have similar tastes in food to me. I like knowing where you found the food, and I always like knowing the calorie count.

    The Bob’s Red mill muesli is interesting because just today I spent quite a bit of time staring at the Bob’s display in the store. I didn’t notice the muesli but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t there. Of course, I keyed in on the chocolate chip cookie mix…

    BTW, am I the only one who gets only half of your pictures showing? The other half (of each picture) is gray. So the bag picture which has the calorie count doesn’t let me see the calories!

  2. Okay, now I’ve gone back to the original post for the 10th time, and all of the whole pictures are there…

    Huckleberry Hounddog. You aren’t old enough to remember him! Did they show reruns of that show when you were a kid?

  3. I think a good review is any one that is honest. I just like seeing new products, even if I can’t find them here, and seeing what people think about them.

    those yoga crisps look SO good! too bad there’s no WF here.

    I love that Bob’s muesli; I have it too. It’s so good.

  4. maggieapril

    Product reviews – love ’em! There are so many things out there to try – it’s nice to have help. Taste is most important but nutritional stats are right up there. I don’t eat artificial sweeteners (not because they’re evil – simply ‘cuz I don’t like the way they taste) so I’m interested in that. And would you buy the product again? (You already do good reviews, btw.)

  5. Anything that includes crunch in the title? I’m there. Thanks for the reviews! I love hearing about new products 🙂

  6. sarahdbelle

    The granola crisps look so delicious. I’m glad that you enjoyed them.
    I love product reviews because I get a sense of what’s out there and what I might like to try. For example, even though the muesli looks great, I know from your review that I can’t buy it because of the nuts. It’s also important to be honest about what you like and don’t- which you are.
    Take care!
    Sarah

  7. I will check out the Muelsi. Actually hot stuff is more filling to me.

    Some of my favorite foods which are regular, not diet, are things with lots of fiber, i.e. Wheat Thins Fiber Select. 13-15 are a serving, filling and two points.

    Then I have found some single serve ice cream, like WM Great Value with lower caloric value than Blue Bell single serve.

    As you can tell I don’t like to cook as much as you do, but I do find some creative ways to change things.

    I frequently add cereal to ice cream for fiber and crunch and have trained my husband to do the same.

    BUT WW has trained me to label read. I buy nothing that has sugar alcohols added as I’m not fond of food induced diarrhea. I recently bought some Skinny Cow novelties, thinking because sorbitol was NEXT to LAST ingredient -basically a trace, I’d get by eating it . NOT. Too bad…. taste too good….but maybe a safety valve to keep me from abusing it, cuz I’m not buying anymore. :~)

    Good luck on new way of eating. I’m interested, except I want to lose more, not maintain.

  8. I’m so glad that IE is going well for you! I really like your product reviews, too.

  9. Thanks for mentioning these granola crisps – I was looking for something like this to add to my yogurt in the morning or just to snack on.

    I found them in my Safeway and can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

