New Perspectives

Hi, Sweeties! Remember those photos I promised you of my ziplining adventure in Alaska? Well, get ready because here they come. They actually are a pretty good illustration for some of the points of today’s post, so I thought it would be quite appropriate. Also, I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long. This post should explain my absence. 

I was excited about ziplining in Ketchikan, Alaska, but I didn’t know what to expect. Before taking the leap off of the platform, the instructor made sure I had the proper gear and an understanding of how to use it. I was harnessed up and the trolley attached to the harness was clipped to the line. The instructor explained how I should use my hand to steer the trolley if  I found myself spinning off to the side and needed to straighten back up. He also explained how to press down on the top, which works like a friction brake, when it was time to stop. Stopping proved to be the challenging part.

Geared UpEach leap into weight loss started with gathering gear and trying to understand how to use it properly. If you want to read about my journey in greater detail, please check out this page. Just to briefly summarize, you might recall that my experience went something like this:

Date: 2000 Weight: 340 pounds Gear: knowledge of fat content in the foods I ate, a well stocked kitchen and good walking shoes

Results: Loss of 110 pounds and gall bladder problems due to, according to my doctor, the restriction of fat in my diet

In 2001, I started law school, had to have my gallbladder removed, discovered that I didn’t have time to make all of my own food, and got out of my walking habit. I gained back 60 of the pounds I’d lost and ended up weighing about 280 pounds.

Date: 2005 Weight: 280 pounds Gear: Weight Watcher’s On-line tools, fancy food scale and all sorts of exercise gear, including a heart rate monitor to measure calories burned during exercise

Results: I lost 120 pounds and gained the ability to rattle off the points values for food like a superstar. I learned to really enjoy all sorts of exercises and discovered that my body was strong and capable. I also hit a plateau and became frustrated when my meticulous counting wasn’t providing results on the scale. 

I started this blog in January of this year and by March, I decided that I was sick of counting points and I was tired of beating myself up when the scale refused to budge. I decided that a change would be a good thing, so I switched to counting calories and started using the Sparkpeople on-line tracker in place of my ww on-line tracker. I thought that the new approach would be a bit more flexible and would shake things up a bit. I viewed it as a sort of transition to something that was less of a diet, and more like normal life. WW claims not to be a diet, but I never totally bought that idea. For a short time, I did revel in the flexibility of calories versus points. Calories are calories, and I didn’t need to use a calculator to convert things into points. That was somewhat liberating. The scale immediately dropped from 160 to 153 in reaction to the changes in my eating, and I started thinking about whether it was time to stop trying to lose and to start trying to maintain. That brings me to this:

Zipping AlongOnce you leap off of the platform and start zipping along, you build up speed and just sort of fly through the air. It’s a bit like cruise control. I think that dieting can be very similar. You just kind of zip along, counting your points or calories or whatever, and then you decide for one reason or another that it might be time to stop. That’s where things got tricky during ziplining, and that’s where things have gotten tricky for me with my weight loss. Here’s a photo of me getting ready to land. 

StoppingTo stop yourself, you have to use the friction brake. If you press down too early, you may have to use your hands to drag yourself along the line to the platform. If you press down too late, and the friendly instructor doesn’t use the back up brake, you could find yourself pulling a “George of the Jungle” and crashing into a tree. Each platform is actually built around a tree, kind of like a tree house. If you stop too early, you will make it to the platform eventually. Stopping too late has a worse consequence.

Unfortunately, the ultimate weight loss stopping point isn’t always clearly defined like the strong and sturdy tree. Yes, I set a goal weight for myself, once upon a time, and I haven’t reached it. However, I was basing it on a BMI chart that doesn’t know how much muscle I have in my 160 pound make-up. It also doesn’t know how much deflated skin I have. Yes. I do have some. I don’t think it’s possible to lose more than half of your body weight without that unwelcome side effect. 

I think my bottom line this year has been that I’m not unhappy at my current weight. Sure, I wouldn’t mind losing more, but I could be happy right here. Rather than letting the scale determine whether it’s time to stop, I’ve started looking at other factors too. I’ve realized a few things.

1) I’m sick of counting points/calories and of weighing my food. This was becoming a bit of an unhealthy obsession for me, and I’ve only become more obsessed and frustrated as the scale has stayed steady despite my best efforts. To quote the old saying, it might have been “like beating a dead horse.” 

2) Despite allowing myself treats along the way, I’m definitely suffering from diet deprivation and the backlash eating it can cause. I ate like nobody’s business on my Alaskan cruise. I ate until I was sick on more than one occasion. I had the feeling that I’d been freed from prison for one week in order to eat everything that wasn’t on the menu in the prison cafeteria. It wasn’t a pretty sight to see, and that’s when the scale jumped back into the 160s where it has been ever since.

3) While I have certainly felt deprived of certain foods, I think the bigger sense of deprivation was coming from the inability to go out with friends and to do things spontaneously. I spent a lot of time and energy wondering if there would be anything I could eat within my rules when I found myself out with friends. Often, I would just stay home. Sometimes I would find something that would work. Other times, I would toss my rules out the window only to feel guilty later about breaking them. 

4) My perfectionist tendencies have been making me crazy. By giving myself a set of strict rules or limits, I drive myself to stay within the framework I’ve created in order to avoid feeling that I’ve failed and to feel that I’ve succeeded. I was to the point of weighing the lettuce in my salad so that I could calculate the calories and subtract them from my daily allowance. Lettuce!? Did the scale budge thanks to those efforts? No. Did my frustration level grow? You betcha. 

5) I can’t spend the rest of my life weighing everything and counting calories or points if I want to stay sane, happy and avoid smacking into the tree of endless dieting despair.

6) I like sanity and happiness.

7) I need to figure out a way to “stop” that is not a restrictive diet but that will keep me from reverting to my old habits. As funny as it sounds, I need to learn to eat.

That brings me to the last three weeks and my absence. I’d been reading about intuitive eating throughout the blogosphere for some time now, and I had a vague idea of what it meant to eat intuitively. I decided it was time for me to check out some of the literature on the subject. Forever the student, I picked up a few of the more well known IE books. The two most useful ones I’ve read so far are: Intuitive Eating: A Revolutionary Program that Works by Evelyn Tribole, M.S., R.D., and Elyse Resch, M.S., R.D., F.A.D.A. and The Rules of Normal Eating: A Commonsense Approach for Dieters, Overeaters Undereaters, Emotional Eaters, and Everyone in Between by Karen R. Koenig, ICSW, M. ED. A useful website that lists the 10 principles found in the book by Tribole and Resch can be found here.

Both of these books really resonated with me. I think the basic idea is quite simple. You should eat when you are hungry and stop when you are satisfied/full. If you are already an intuitive eater, that might sound quite obvious to you, but my eating was not typically driven by hunger or fullness. Aside from, perhaps, being driven by an effort to avoid hunger completely. IE is a more novel concept for me. Back in the heavier days, my eating was likely driven by emotions or boredom. In recent years, it has been driven by the external rules and limits I’ve imposed on myself. I’ve watched plenty of my friends use this “eat when you are hungry method” in their daily lives, with positive results. It makes a lot of sense to me, and it seems like a natural way of giving your body what it wants and needs.  

The books go beyond that basic idea with a number of other very useful principles. One of these principles involves legalizing foods that you have forbidden yourself. Vani had an excellent forbidden foods challenge sometime back, and I happily participated. I think I’m just beginning to understand why this is so important. It’s human nature to sometimes want the very thing you can’t have. If you know that you can have those forbidden foods, their power is greatly diminished. I’ve been experimenting with some of these foods over the past few weeks, and the funny thing is, many of the things I’ve really been sad to pass up over the past few years aren’t even that great. I had a pretty lousy cupcake from the store yesterday, for example. It looked pretty, but it wasn’t all that good. When I really concentrated on the taste and texture while savoring it, I realized that the frosting was too sweet. I think that’s the first time I have EVER determined that something was too sweet. Apparently, “Just Sweet Enough” has an even greater meaning than I had realized. 🙂 I’ve been amazed at the things that I have built up into some sort of mega treat in my mind only to find that they really aren’t that amazing after all. 

So, basically, I haven’t been cooking as much lately as I’ve started working through the principles in these books. I’m not sure what the scale is doing, but I do know that my pants still fit after three weeks. I’m trying to spend less time, energy and focus on food and the scale, and that has resulted in less blogging. I haven’t been sure how to explain what I’m up to, and I’m not sure this really does a great job. I would never want to discourage anyone from the path they’ve chosen, but I do think it’s important for me to tell you about my experience. I’m still not certain how IE will work for me, but my stress level around food and eating has already decreased by about a zillion percent. That’s right. A zillion percent. Math was never my strong suit. 🙂 That, to me, has made this effort worthwhile. I think it is also a good experiment to try to get a new perspective on eating, and I’ve been pleased with the results so far.

I’m not going away, but, at this point, I do not plan to post full days of eats anymore. I find that putting that much attention on the things I eat is not a good thing for me. I do plan to share plenty of recipes and reviews with you, as well as updates on how this IE process is going. I just hope you will understand why I’ll be posting less frequently and why my recipes may not all be “light” ones. I know that my body prefers healthy and nutritious foods, and there will certainly be plenty of that in the days to come. I do plan, however, to keep experimenting with previously forbidden foods, which could lead to some interesting kitchen experiments. 

This blog has been so useful for me during the past 7 months as I’ve tried to find a way to stop my diet merry-go-round and find a comfortable resting spot, and all of the supportive comments from my wonderful readers have really made all the difference. The ultimate goal, after all, is not to fit into a certain pair of pants but rather to be happy in life. That might look something like my post-ziplining mug:

HappySince one of my favorite things about this blog has been the opportunity to learn from many of you, I just have to ask: Have you had a period in your life where you counted calories/points/fat grams/whatever and then decided that there was a better way to find balance? What’s your story? Are you still counting? Do you have an exit strategy for when you get where you’re going? 

As always, I wish you all the best wherever you may be in your life’s journey. 

Before I go, I want to send a few birthday wishes. My little brother turned 30 on Tuesday. I can’t believe it!!! It’s really hard to believe that he just turned 30 since our mother is just turning 28 today. 😉 Here’s a photo of my mom and me during the Christmas holidays:

Mom and MeHappy birthday to both of you and lots of love! XOXO 

Now, I’m off to have an air conditioned work out in the gym. It’s a scorcher of a day, and I’m glad to have an indoor option. Ciao for now, sweeties and have a great week! 🙂

19 Comments

Filed under Alaska, diet, Fitness, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

19 responses to “New Perspectives

  1. It’s so great to hear from you again!

    I still swing back and forth between dieting (calories, or points) and wanting to do the intuitive eating thing. Haven’t completely broken free from the dieting mindset since that’s all I’ve known for almost half my life.

    I look forward to reading about your intuitive eating journey, and I love the analogy you provided.

  2. Good to see you again! That zipline looks like so much fun, I’m super jealous!

    For me, fluctuating my weight has always been a portion control thing. I was lucky enough to have an active childhood and good genes, so I’ve never been overweight, but I still can add on pounds I’m not happy with. When I notice this happening, I realize that I’ve been taking 2nds and sometimes 3rds. It helps me to serve myself at the stove or counter and then that’s it. No 2nds and no putting the pot at the table b/c then I pick out of that. I also use the rule of 1/2 plate of veggies and only 1/4 of meat and starches. Too often I find that the cheesy rice piles and piles on the plate, yet the veggies don’t. Remaining really conscious of those things while serving myself and planning dinner helps keep me on track.

  3. Vani

    Great to hear from you again, and I’m so glad that the FF challenge is still helping you – I had a similar reaction to the restriction of counting points this year, and realized that, in the end, I was only going to find my “feel-good” weight when I focused on health rather than weight loss – Roni at Ronisweigh really made this distinction clear to me. It’s SO much easier to eat a big plate of veggies because they’re pretty, taste good and give me good energy than it is to eat them because they’re “0 points!!” (to me, that screams deprivation for some reason).

    Thank you for being an inspiration!

  4. I am content to continue what I am doing. However, I saw an endocrinologist in July for a matter not related to weight (have a Vit. D deficiency) .

    We discussed the weight I have lost and my eternal battle.

    His one remark was it did not matter what I did to lose weight, I had to quit using the word diet. I have to accept my food changes as healthy not temporary, and be able to deviate and jump right back on without delays of weeks or months.

    I guess it has sunk in some. We been really busy with out of town trips (3 in July) and now a week at a resort fishing. I have not gained nor lost. I’m not fretting too much, except I am not happy nor healthy at this weight, so I need to move it on down. Seems I do better in fall and winter.

    I know you have food blog, but I’m sure you have a life outside of food. It might be fun to have an occasional non-food blog.

    Of course I blog for fun and occasionally inspirational or educational sharing.

    And I don’t blog every day. I write and schedule: I make draft titles and save them to develop later. OR I take photos which is a passion I love.

    I will be interested in your food changes

    I am afraid at this point to trust my intuition and hope this is the answer for you. I know you do not want to gain it all back. Let me know when pecan or coconit cream pie and tiramisu are worked in. I really don’t ask fo much do I?

    This minute I am craving an ice cream bar and just stuffed myself with a fresh bell pepper stuffed with salmon and some Fiber Select Wheat Thins. I have the points but I am craving this and know I am stuffed full. And sooner or later will probably eat it.

  5. I like your analogy. I think you have to figure out what works best for you, makes you feel healthy and happy. Good luck with it all.

  6. AmyJoGo

    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

    I had a large gain at last week’s meeting. Partly due to water retention (I know everyone must use that excuse, but I promise it’s not an excuse. It’s either water retention or there’s something seriously wrong with me…it was that bad). I’ve felt so guilty about it and put so much pressure on myself this week to count everything. What happens when I use guilt to pressure myself? I fail big time. Like I did this weekend when I ate four slices of pepperoni pizza followed by slow churned mint crunch ice cream and the constant snacking that happened on Saturday. Ugh.

    I’ve also been reading about intuitive eating and have wanted to purchase the very books you blogged about. I’ll be ordering at least one of the books tonight, for sure.

    Thank you for sharing where you’re at and what you’re doing. I’m guessing it’s often difficult to be so vulnerable with us on your blog.

    Have a great Monday!

  7. Wow, I sure was glad to hear from you! Your success with weight watchers, then getting ‘stuck’ and switching to counting calories sounds very similar to my journey. I added in a personal trainer, which at the time I didn’t realize, would help me make different food choices, and the scale is finally moving down again.

    I love the idea of intuitive eating. But I am afraid the ‘full button’ is broken on me. I am trying to repair it by paying attention to whether or not I am hungry, and trying to wait for an hour after I think I am hungry to actually eat again. Maybe someday I will evolve to the place where I don’t have to count/weigh/measure. For now, I actually enjoy that stuff–I know, I’m weird. Its the math gene in me!

    I sure was glad to see you back. I really enjoy reading your blog! I won’t miss all the delicious food pics, though! They were too tempting for me! (I am still contemplating buying an ice cream/yogurt maker.)

  8. Brandi

    Hello friend 🙂 I love this post and how you explained everything and tied it to this amazing ziplining experience!

    I am still working on cutting the ties, so to speak, and finding my own balance outside of those limitations that WW puts on my days/weeks. It’s been slow going, but it’s going 🙂 I still doubt myself sometimes, which is the hardest thing, but I expected that since it’s new to me.

  9. oh you are so inspiring to me, keep on keeping on!

  10. Hi Sweetie Pie! You have an amazing story and I’m so glad you find time in your busy schedule to share it. If you ever come to SF, do know that you have a friend here. I will take you out! Your posts are so filled with so much truth and fun. I like the analogy of your weight loss journey to your ziplining adventure.

  11. wooohooo, awesome post!! i’m so glad you came back for a visit :-).
    i did ww online also from 5/2007-9/2008 — followed it to a tee to lose the 20 pounds i wanted off in the first 6 months and then continued for almost a year on maintenance. i was SURE i was going to stay on it forever bc i was all gung ho about it being a lifestyle change … until i started to feel like i’d had enough. i switched to sparkpeople for a few months and then got sick of that, too. (probably around the time i read Intuitive Eating!) between the end of counting and my running injury in march and the nonstop delicious food at my office, i’ve gained AT LEAST 10 pounds. BUT i also feel ok about it — i think i look at my weight now as more a reflection of my lifestyle than as something that actually affects who i am. i learned a lot from ww (i only ever made pasta for myself before i started it!), but i also realized that there needs to be a better, non-weight focused way to be healthy. i’m working on it, and i obviously have a long way to go, but i’ve come to the conclusion that it takes more of a mental change than a physical change. negative thoughts are way more damaging than 10 extra pounds!

    keep filling us in on the progress of your intuitive eating — you sound like you’re on the right track, so keep it up!

  12. Y’all, thanks so much for the comments. I learn so much from you all and your experiences. Please keep ’em coming! 🙂

  13. Great job on the post- I’m sure all of it wasn’t easy to write and I really appreciate your honesty. Great analogies. I think its amazing how far you’ve come and how much weight you’ve lost (props to you). Getting to an intuitive state of eating is not easy, but I think you will be so much happier when you are there. I currently do a little calorie counting but its only to make sure I am getting enough protein in my diet (since I eat a mostly veggie friendly diet). Good luck chica!

  14. maggieapril

    Lots of good points in this post and not so dissimilar from my own experience. As to your cupcake experience… I shop at a grocery store where all of the items in the bakery look fabulous. But as I discovered (back when I was quite heavy and didn’t give calories a second thought) they didn’t taste nearly as good as they looked. I now try to convince myself (hello, Little Debbie) that everything else follows suit.
    Do you use Facebook much? If so, I will send you a friend request.
    Best of luck to you in all you do!

  15. Hi, Nicole,
    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog! I hope we can support each other as we take this on. I’m so glad I’m not the only one shaking in my boots about this…well, I would be if I could find boots that would fit around my calves! I’m wishing you the best!

    Also, I’m reading “Intuitive Eating” right now and wonder what you think about “The Rules of Normal Eating”. Do you find it to be as good? I’m planning to read it after finishing this. Thanks!

  16. EnglishGarden

    I just received my copy of Intuitive Eating in the mail today. I have some meetings coming up that should give me some time to read. Hopefully I can get enough read tonight to decide if I really want all the “snacks” they will offer. Snickers and Chex Mix are always good for breakfast. LOL
    Thanks Sweetie for the insight.

  17. Good to have you back Nicole! I have been a little absent myself here lately. I like the idea of the intuitive eating; over the course of the past years I think I’ve tried out most populair diets such as ww and other similar ones, but at some point I always go back to just trying to eat sensibly without counting calories or points. I mean: in all honesty I do know where I go wrong. I do realize I overeat on certain foods, so for me at least it is no rocketscience. I just love food too much which always ends up in me overeating on the not so good things…. I am definitely gonna have a look at the IE books out there; maybe it is something that would work for me too!

  18. Fantastic post… you are so wise! And very cute 🙂

    I like the way you explained your journey and completely agree… you evolve and grow as you gather knowledge and learn new ways of doing things.

    I chucked out the “diet” word 15 pounds above a healthy BMI but felt good about my body at that weight… what surprised me about maintaining was that the learning didn’t stop. I’ve embraced intuitive eating (esp. the first book you mentioned) but sometimes I count calories for a couple of weeks… depends on where I am and what I need at the time. Took me awhile to accept that this okay and doesn’t mean I’m screwing up!

    Looking forward to reading about wherever you go next!

    PS finally had your chicken salad for lunch today… TASTY! 🙂

  19. First of all, that zipline looks SO fun! It’s definitely something I’d love to try once I’m closer to my goal weight.

    As far as the intuitive eating, it sounds like a great thing to do once you’re at maintenance, or close, as you are. It makes sense – eat when you’re hungry. Now that you know portion control, it’s a lot easier not to overindulge. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear more about how it’s going. The pants fitting the same is a good sign that it’s working well.

    I’d love to have you really review those books you’re reading.

    Other post ideas:
    new workouts you’ve been trying
    new foods (you do a lot of this already)
    new recipes (I love the things you cook!)

Leave a Reply

