Heeeey, Boo Boo… What’s in Your Pick-a-nick Basket?

Hey, Sweetie Pie! Long time no post! I’ve been quite remiss in my posting lately, but I’ve had a lot of things on my plate. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m in the midst of a bit of a personal project, and I’ve been pretty slammed at work too. The days seem to be getting away from me, even though it’s staying light until late in the day. I love the longer days this time of year! How about you? It would be ridiculous for me to try to catch you up on all that I’ve eaten since last week, but I hope you’ll enjoy a few highlights.

Breakfast is easy enough. In an effort to eat all of my baby bananas, I’ve had the same breakfast every day since my last post! It goes something like this…

Baby NannersIt’s a mix of oat bran, five grain cereal, Jay Robb’s vanilla whey protein powder, agave nectar, baby bananas and TJ’s PB&A. Yum! The only variation over the past few days has been the amount of agave nectar. I realized that I really don’t miss it if I leave it out altogether. Making my cereal a bit less sweet only makes the flavor of the sweet bananas pop even more. Yum! If you are intrigued by Jay Robb and his whey protein goodness, be sure to check out the bottom of this post for a little announcement!

In addition to my breakfast reruns, I have also enjoyed basically the same lunch every day. I liked last week’s picnic lunch so much that I’ve sort of adopted it as my standard over the last week or so. Do people still watch Yogi Bear? Do you get the reference about Boo Boo and the pick-a-nick basket in my title? Am I old? Don’t answer that…

Picnic!

Hey boo boo, what's in your pickanick basket?I fill a container with a nice assortment of fruits, and then have some protein in the form of cheeses and perhaps a hardboiled egg on the side. I love all of the fresh berries and cherries available this time of year, and I love nibbling my way through a big colorful bowl of fruit. It is a definite bright spot! The cheeses (cheddar, Iberico, goat cheese, ricotta… whatever is in the fridge) along with the hardboiled egg add a nice bit of hunger smashing protein, and the fruit is very filling too. This is absolutely a collection of food that I’d take on a picnic. I love it!

The ricotta in the second photo is slightly sweetened with honey and vanilla. It’s another awesome product from one of my favorite vendors at the farmer’s market: Blue Ridge Dairy. The slightly sweet ricotta smeared on the strawberries is to die for!!

I’ve also had a number of the same snacks over the past few days. Including:

Doodles

Nanner Crackers

Weetabix GoodnessPeanut butter, low fat graham crackers, Weetabix, baby nanners… So many possibilities!

The past few days have also included a few egg beater dinners. I made an omelette a couple of nights ago…

Din DinLast night, I made an especially tasty frittata with egg beaters, red bell pepper, ham, cheddar and fresh basil snipped from the pot on my balcony.ย 

FrittataliciousBoth dinners involve egg beaters, ham, cheddar, and red bell pepper. However, the meals are different enough that I don’t feel like I had the same dinner twice. I really love having a lot of versatile ingredients ready to go so that I can have a filling dinner ready in a hurry! The basil really made the frittata snazzy, and my basil plant was happy to get a bit of a pruning.

Speaking of my balcony plants, my first little sugar snack tomatoes are ready to be eaten!

Sugar SnackI also have this cute little bell pepper that’s growing larger every day:

Bella BellI’m obviously not expecting to feed myself with my balcony harvest, but it’s still nice to have a few things growing outside my door. ๐Ÿ™‚

In other news, curiosity got the best of me. I ordered some Holey Donuts!! They came on Friday, and I’ve been doing my best to sample each of the flavors I ordered so that I can tell you, my dear reader, all about them. Yes, I do it all for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Holey Moley!They arrived at the door in a freezer package, and they were still frozen solid. I was impressed! ๐Ÿ™‚ I got several different kinds including chocolate crumb and toasted coconut:

Chocolate Crumb

Toasted CoconutI really LOVE anything involving coconut, and the toasted coconut flavor is so good! The coconut cream pie Holey Donuts… I can’t even begin to tell you how good they are. They are my hands down favorite so far. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a good photo. I have some left so I’ll try again the next time.

Holey Donuts aren’t cheap, and they can be tough to resist, so I’m not planning to restock my freezer once these are gone. However, they’ve been a great treat, and they really are as yummy as other bloggers have made them out to be. If you just can’t resist donuts, a shipment of these might be a worthwhile investment for you. I think they’d make a fun gift for a sugar loving health conscious friend too. You can be both of those things, right? I’d be happy if these little gems showed up at my door!

In case you aren’t familiar with them, they are cooked in a way that greatly reduces the fat (and calories). They arrive frozen, and you gently thaw them in the micro just before eating. I’m still trying to find the perfect number of seconds that will make the donut soft and warm without melting the icing. They really are delicious, and I don’t miss the heavy greasy feeling that you get from a normal donut.

I ordered mine after receiving an e-mail offering a free half dozen swirl donuts with an order of three assortments. If you sign up on their website, Holey Donuts will send you e-mails with special offers. They really are awesome, but it’s worth waiting for a special offer to get a little more bang for your buck.ย 

In case you can’t tell from the foods in this post, I haven’t really been doing a lot of cooking. Ok. I haven’t really cooked anything lately! The warmer weather and my busy schedule have really sort of moved my focus from food to other things. I’ve decided that’s a good thing as I was becoming a bit too focused on my eats anyway. I’m really just enjoying collecting the fresh items from my fridge and making a meal of them. The picnic lunches are among my favorite lunches ever.ย 

I also think it’s so interesting how my appetite changes with the weather. I definitely want to eat rich, warm, comforting foods when it’s cold out. Now that it’s warmer, I’m happier with lighter fresher fare and less preparation too. Have you noticed any changes in your appetite coinciding with the change in season?

I have some garlic scapes that I need to use, and I’m still planning to make my favorite scape recipe soon. I need to eat the rest of the hummus in the fridge first. Is that a hint as to my favorite scape recipe? You bet!ย 

Now, I have some laundry to fold and some blogs to read so I need to wrap up. I did, however, promise you a bit of Jay Robb’s news. Are you ready???

I add Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder to my breakfast bowl almost every morning. It’s also perfect in breakfast cookies, and it makes an awesome smoothie mixed with a bit of fruit, milk and ice. I’m a huge fan! If you’ve been wanting to try sexy Jay Robb’s products, but haven’t found them at your local store, I have a deal for you!

Jay RobbThe folks at Jay Robb’s contacted me and offered to give my reader’s a discount on orders from theirย on-line store. I really do like the product a lot, so I was very happy to be able to provide a discount to my lovely readers. You can get 15% off using the special promotion code,ย BLOGJ9TJSE,ย between now and July 4th. If you are looking for a way to add a little protein to your day, this stuff is great!! It’s also lower in calories than many of the other protein powders I’ve scoped out. Oh, and… it’s yummy!

I keep the vanilla whey variety on hand because it’s so versatile. I have tried the chocolate and strawberry flavors of the whey powder, and I really liked them as well. I know that there are other JR products that I haven’t tried, including the egg white and rice protein products, and, if you try them, I’d love to know what you think!

That’s all I have for tonight! I expect to continue with my sporadic posting for awhile, but I’m not planning to go anywhere! I’ll be around, and hopefully, in the kitchen a bit more. Although, I have to recommend the no cook lunch pick-a-nick!!

I hope you are having a good week, and that all is well in your neck of the woods. Ciao for now, and check out Mr. Jay Robb if you haven’t already!!!

15 Comments

Filed under Bananas, diet, Farmer's Market, Food, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

15 responses to “Heeeey, Boo Boo… What’s in Your Pick-a-nick Basket?

  1. I totally thought that little banana with the crackers and peanut butter was a PICKLE! I was so scared, and had to just read b/c I was in shock! hehehe

  2. I love your lunch picture…very pretty container of fruit. How long does something like that fill you up?

    I forgot to let you know that I bought a bunch of strawberries (from the farmer stand too!) in anticipation of making your strawberry shortcakes two weekends ago. But due to busy workday and weekend schedules, I totally forgot that I bought them until tonight, when I found moldy berries in the fridge. Ugh.

    I’m off next work next week (company shutdown), and hopefully, I’ll remember to make them this time.

    • Linda,
      I was surprised that this lunch keeps me full just about as long as any of my other lunches. I think it’s kind of like having a big salad! I’m a fan of afternoon snacks, so I only need to stay happy for about three hours anyway. Then, it’s time to eat again! Ha!!

      I hate when berries get moldy. Sometimes it happens in the blink of the eye! If you do make the shortcakes, I’d love to hear what you think of them!!

  3. I โค the jay robb- his protein is the best ever! What a great lunch. I love fresh fruit- this time of year is just perfect for it! I am also a huge fan of the longer days….I feel so exhausted in the winter when its dark out- bleh!

  4. I get no more done with longer daylight than shorter days. Probably an age thing….But then I go back before Yogi Bear!

    Finally found a source of oat bran close to home at two nutrition stores in Mountain Home. My half-sister clued me in on a brand, Bob’s Red Mill (bobsredmill.com) which has a lot of interesting things.

    Arkansas’s summers do not encourage me to stay in the kitchen an cook.

    I dropped one of the 2.5 lbs I gained at convention, before my weigh-in today. I am going to step up my exercise program by one day to rev up my metabolism a tad.

    You would have loved one workshop I attended at convention: dumb mistakes officials make. I was laughing up a storm.

  5. maggieapril

    I will undoubtedly be running around the rest of the day inviting people to steal pic-i-nic-bas-kets with me!

    Good donut review – I had been wondering about them.

    Have a great week. maggieapril at http://www.tastenotwaist.com

  6. It’s good to see an update from one of my favorite bloggers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The berry mixture is beautiful. Looks like a rainbow in a bowl. And yes, I got the boo-boo reference. haha

    I’ve trie the egg white protein by Jay Robb and it’s just as delicious as his whey protein ones. Pina Colada is very good too. How nice of them to offer your readers a discount!

  7. yay for donuts! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad to see such a happy little red tomato! Ours are all still green, but I can’t wait for them to ripen!

    I hope you have a great day!

  8. What a rough job as a food/wellness blogger! Donut taste testing? Sign me up. I just went to the site and couldn’t believe all the flavors they had!

    Thanks for passing along the info on the Jay Robb discount. Due to some concerning information about too much soy in the diet, I’ve been looking to replace my favorite soy/whey protein powder with a whey one, but I’ve tried 4 different types and haven’t liked any of them. Jay Robb to the rescue!

  9. mmm your fruit salad looks delicious!
    so jealous of your holy doughnuts! I need to get my hands on those.

  10. At first I thought the mini banana was a pickle! Haha!

    LOVE the Holey Donuts!! They are wonderful, aren’t they?

    My appetite is SCREWED up these days! I’m often not that hungry and when I am, all I want is a big salad.

  11. Y’all made me laugh! The baby banana does look like a pickle. I have such a hard time with the lighting in my office. Pickles, graham crackers and peanut butter might not be the best snack combo. Although… I once knew someone who really liked peanut butter and pickle sandwiches…

  12. M

    Hi Sweetie,

    Oh yes, I still remember my favorite plate when I was little. It was a Jellystone Park little plate. I loved eating on it. ๐Ÿ™‚ …..and yes, it’s still at my Mom’s house. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your tomatoes are so cute!….and that Jay Robb! It’s ALL your fault that I am totally addicted to it! Hehehe.
    It’s 8:51 and it’s still light out. Yeaaaaa! My tastes really do change, as well, with the seasons.
    Have a great rest of your week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. How great that you have your own tomatoes growing! I keep wanting to grow more stuff myself. We do have a garden but at the moment it’s more like a jungle then a garden. The birds love it, but it’s a bit too much of a good thing really… ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Pingback: Zucchini-Feta Gratin from Cooking Light « Just Sweet Enough

Leave a Reply

