Bacon Chocolate and a Day of Healthy Eats

Today has been a pretty typical day, and I decided it was a good day to do a food journal post. I’m trying to really get my eats back in order. I’m up a few pounds, some from the cruise and a little from last week’s treats, and I know it’s time to buckle down and get back on the healthy train. Today went well!

I started off in a rather usual way:

Gritsy Bran!I had a big bowl of “gritsy bran” (half grits and half oat bran) with some vanilla Jay Robb’s whey protein powder and honey mixed in. I topped it off with a lovely banana and a few grams of my new favorite Trader Joe’s snack: PB&A. Peanuts and almonds coated in a berry vanilla coating…. YUM!!! The PB&A combo was a great addition to my bowl, and gave it a little bit of crunch. Lovely!

For lunch, I had a picnic in my lunch bag. On Saturday night, I went to Wolf Trap with some friends to see the Gipsy Kings in concert. This was our fourth year in a row to sit on the lawn and enjoy the GKs, and, as usual, we had quite a picnic! I ended up with some leftover cheese, and I have a ton of fruit in the fridge so a picnic style lunch seemed like a great idea!

Picnic!I had a piece of Iberico cheese and a bit of Danish blue along with some berries, cherries, grapes and a hardboiled egg for an additional hit of protein. I loved nibbling on this lunch!

Speaking of our little Gipsy Kings feast, I found an interesting chocolate bar on Friday, and I knew that my bacon loving friends and I needed to try it. We’ve been amused by all of the interesting bacon products popping up these days including bacon salt, bacon vodka and bacon flavored dental floss. I couldn’t resist adding this to the picnic basket:

Bacon Chocolate?I love chocolate, and I love bacon. I didn’t really think this would be disgusting, but I was certainly skeptical that it would be good. I was expecting chocolate that had a hint of bacon taste, but nothing too dramatic. I was so surprised to discover that this bar actually has crispy pieces of bacon in the chocolate! No joke! Weird? Perhaps. Good? Well, um… yeah. I cannot tell a lie. It actually was really good. Perhaps I need to get over my skepticism about the crazy bacon products and invest in some bacon dental floss next! πŸ˜‰

Getting back to my lunch, I decided to finish the meal off with a low-fat cinnamon graham cracker topped with 1/2 tablespoon of Bee’s Knees peanut butter.

Mmmm....Who needs a sandwich when you can nibble your way through eats like these??

Mid-afternoon, I decided to have a peanut butter fudge vitatop. I almost always pick one of the chips off before tossing my vitatop in the micro, which explains the empty little chip crater over on the side. πŸ™‚

Vita LoveLater, I had a bowl of Greek yogurt with strawberries and berry jam.Β 

Greek Berry YoI got some really sweet little berries at the farmer’s market on Saturday, and I’m glad I got two containers instead of one. They are SO good! I love the pink shade they give to the yogurt too. πŸ™‚

I had a camera shy bag of 100 calorie popcorn before heading home to dinner. We got a new microwave in our kitchen at work a few months ago, and I actually go to a different kitchen to make popcorn just because the new microwave turns my popcorn to cinders every time. I stand there. I listen. I still burn the popcorn. It’s worth a stroll up the hallway just to avoid the burnt pieces, and… the burnt smell. Yuck! Today’s bag was just right!

When I got home, I decided to make a quick egg beater omelette, filled with cheddar and ham, and I had some roasted cauliflower and roasted carrots on the side. The melted cheese (that you can’t see in the photo) was the very best part!Β 

Weird pictureSorry about the unappetizing photo. I promise that it tasted better than it looks in this picture!

I ended my meal with a bowl of Laloo’s Vanilla Snowflake goat’s milk ice cream topped with some more PB&A. Trader Joe, I love you!!! PB&A on top of my favorite vanilla ice cream in the whole wide world made for a fantastic treat.

So Good!!I just finished doing 35 minutes of cardio in the gym following a class with my trainer. Tonight involved a LOT of lunges, and I suspect I’m going to be feeling them tomorrow. Honestly, I’m already feeling the aftermath of the lunges tonight! I think I’m going to go and do a bit of additional stretching before I head off to bed. Extra stretching usually helps, and it certainly can’t hurt!

Do you have a favorite stretch? I love the basic hamstring stretch where you cross one foot over the other, and then bend down and try to put your palms on the floor. I seem to have tight hammies fairly often, and that stretch always makes me feel so much better!! I’ve also enjoyed seeing the increase in my flexibility. There was a time when I could really only touch my fingertips to the floor during this stretch. Now, I can almost put both palms on the floor. Yay!!! Sometimes the little things really do make me feel good. πŸ™‚

I guess I’d better get to the stretching and move away from the computer. Ciao for now, y’all! If you see bacon chocolate at your local store, keep an open mind. πŸ™‚ I’m just sayin’.

15 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

15 responses to “Bacon Chocolate and a Day of Healthy Eats

  1. Anne K.

    Yummy eats! I love your breakfast, and fresh fruit! The choco bacon bar looks… um, interesting (haha!) But I love the vitatop! I want to try that flavor. And goats milk ice cream? Yum!

    My favorite stretch is the hip flexor stretch where I get on one knee with my other leg bent in front at a 90 degree angle, and lean into it. My hip flexors are really tight, and it’s good to stretch them!

  2. I love your picnic style lunch, too fun! My favourite stretch is what I call the butterfly stretch (or did as a kid in swim club, haha) … okay, it actually is called that! http://www.tinajuanfitness.info/exercises/butterflystretch.html it always feels great after a workout.

  3. I’ve been wanting to try chocolate covered bacon for awhile now – saw it on some Food Network show. Didn’t know they had bars of it! And bacon flavored floss??? That would NOT make me feel clean and refreshed, like I’d just flossed! I need minty fresh mouth products.

  4. Bacon flavored vodka and floss?? Hmmmm . . .

    I’ve seen people talk about bacon and chocolate together, so it must be the new “thing.” When we were up in DC, we ate at Co Co. Sala and they had chocolate-covered bacon on the menu. Too bad we forgot to order it.

  5. Bacon chocolate? I mean really….who was sitting around thinking of new flavors and thought “Hey, I love bacon. I love chocolate. Let’s put the two together.” I dunno. I’m still a skeptic but I’m willing to give any chocolate a try. πŸ™‚ Except maybe chocolate covered ants.

    Your foods look so good. Makes me hungry. πŸ™‚

  6. My mom bought me that Vosges bar about 2 years ago, and I’ve been obsessed with it since!!!

  7. love the picnic lunch!

    I’ve seen that chocolate bar, but it was like $7, so I didn’t buy. But I did make bacon waffles this past weekend, so I’m always up for something bacon-y πŸ™‚

    i like the same stretch you do – that is what is usually tight for me after running, so I always do that one.

  8. That TJs PB&A mix sounds so good! Too good though!! I’m in love with your omelet – whenever I make them I just end up with scrambled eggs.

    My favorite stretch is just the old school, sit with your legs in a V, center stretch. Ahhhh!

  9. oh man I’ve seen the bacon chocolate on TV and how they make it…awesome idea!!! If you come to chicago, you should DEFINITELY go to “More” cupcakes where they serve BLT cupcakes!!!

    You had an awesome awesome day of eats!! I totally do what you do with your breakfast!! I do the banana, oatbran (no grits) hehehe and then i top it was lots of crunchy stuff. Yummy!! Great minds think alike. πŸ˜‰

    P.s. I’m hosting my very own Big Lucky Giveaway and I hope you’ll come check it out!! πŸ™‚

  10. I tried the bacon chocolate a few weeks ago with one of my bacon loving buddies and I was SHOCKED that I liked it…ok liked it a LOT.

    This same person introduced me to baconsalt and baconnaise (yeah bacon mayonaise.) Yeah I’m not that big of a fan of bacon ha!

  11. Amy

    I just can’t imagine brushing my teeth before bed and then following it up with some bacon flavoured dental floss. That’s disgusting.

  12. I am not a hater of bacon chocolate πŸ™‚ I might jsut have to try it. Sweet smokey and salty sound fine. I have a heel stretch I just love right now.

  13. Maybe my kids would floss more if it were bacon flavored??

    That’s so funny, who would have thought of that??

  14. Wow–I’m sending the link for this post to my hubby. He would love the bacon + chocolate combo!

  15. Interesting chocolate bar! I’ve never heard of bacon and chocolate together before!

Leave a Reply

