If you like Pina Coladas… and Getting Caught in the Rain…

Hi, y’all! You know that song, right? It seemed like a good title for this post. You will see why in a bit.

Well, I’m not doing very well with keeping up with my blogging lately. That’s for sure! Other things seem to be taking a bit of priority, but I’m hoping that everything will settle down soon, and I’ll get back in the kitchen. I haven’t been cooking much lately either, and I’m missing my kitchen therapy time! Cooking is so relaxing! I’m sure that many of you would agree. πŸ™‚

I thought I’d do a quick “two fer” of a post– two days for the price of one post. I’m not going to post all of my eats from yesterday and today, but I am going to give you some highlights.

I’ve had the same breakfast the last two days:

Gritsy BranI love my “gritsy bran!!” I have really been enjoying it with some vanilla whey Jay Robb’s protein powder, agave nectar, almonds and a crisp pink lady apple on top. I mentioned this before, but I realized, during my cruise, that I really like crisp apple or pear on top of my bowl even more than when I cook the fruit in with the oats. It’s kind of like gritsy bran apple dip! Yum!!

Yesterday’s lunch and today’s lunch have a component in common: Refried beans. I opened the can the other night when I made a frittata to feed a craving for Mexican, and I’ve been enjoying the rest of the can over the last couple of days. Yesterday’s lunch:

Lunch #1I topped a bowl of beans with some feta and salsa, and had a quick salad made of cucumbers, tomatoes and fresh basil from the pot on my balcony. I topped it with salt, pepper and rice wine vinegar. Basically… I was out of lettuce, and needed some veggies in my lunch bag. This salad was quick, easy and fresh!

I also tried yet another Clif bar, my third this week, and the Chocolate Chip bar was yummy! You might recall that I tried the Carrot Cake bar a couple of days ago, and I had the Maple Nut bar on Tuesday. If this was a race, Carrot Cake would be winning. It is still my favorite so far.Β 

Today’s lunch:

Bean BowlI cooked Β a big batch of brown rice this morning, and topped a serving with the leftover veggies from frittata night. I sauteed twice as many as I needed on Tuesday, thinking that I’d make another frittata. Instead, I made a bowl with brown rice, veggies, refried beans, feta and salsa. I added a dash of chipotle Tabasco too for a little more flavor. Yum!

Yesterday’s snacks included a bowl of Greek yogurt with berry jam and strawberries as well as a bowl of afternoon instant oatmeal. I think you know what they look like by now. πŸ™‚ Today’s snacks, however, were a bit more interesting. I tried two new things, and I also had a smoothie in the mix.Β 

SmoothSmoothie: half a pack of chocolate Weight Watchers smoothie mix, 3/4 cup of milk, strawberries and two ice cubes.Β 

New thing #1:

MojoI liked this Clif Mojo Peanut Butter Pretzel bar! It was a little bit salty and a little bit sweet. The best part was the peanut butter chips! Chippy goodness aside, it also packed a nice amount of protein, and made for a satisfying snack.

New thing #2:

Pop Goes the ChipI’ve been trying new salty snacks lately, partly because I’ve been trying not to eat so many sugary snacks. I tried the barbecue flavor of Pop Chips the other night while I was watching my movie. Today, I decided to try the Parmesan Garlic flavor.Β My opinion? These were good, but the barbecue flavor was better. These had more garlic flavor and less parmesan taste than I was hoping for. They were good, but they probably won’t be my first choice the next time I’m at the store. I do think they make for an interesting photograph!

Now, hopping back to yesterday (I really hope I’m not making you dizzy going back and forth!), I had dinner at a new place and loved it!! I met up with my friends AW and JB to grab a bit of dinner before heading to a reception for alumni of our law school. AW suggested Sandella’s, which is a cool new flat bread place at 19th and I. She mentioned that they have their nutritional information on-line. Score! I checked it out, and it looked amazing! I decided to order the Brazilian Chicken Grilled Flatbread– grilled chicken and mozzarella on top of a Brazilian sauce. Now, I know where I’ll be going if I have a craving for pizza!

Sandella's LoveI had already eaten about 2/3 of my flatbread before I remembered to snap a photo. I was having too much fun talking to AW and JB. Oops!

I’m not a fan of really thick pizza crust, so a grilled flatbread is perfect for me. Yes, I eat my pizza for the toppings. I’ve been known to just pick the cheese and other yummies off the top and leave the bread alone. Do you like your pizza crust thick and doughy or thin and crispy?Β 

This flatbread was thin and chewy, and the Brazilian sauce was sweet and spicy. The cheese was perfectly melted, and the chicken was nice and tender. For 459 calories, it might be a little heftier than a dinner at home, but it is certainly a better choice than many other pizza options I could choose. Plus, I got to eat the whole thing! JB got the Aloha flatbread, and when I saw the pineapple, I knew what I’d be having on my next visit. I kind of wanted to steal his, but I restrained myself. πŸ™‚

After dinner, we started walking to the reception and got caught in a major rainstorm. AW and JB were both in suits and serious lawyer shoes, and I was wearing a silk dress and sandals. Running clothes and rain panchos would have been preferable. We found ourselves trying to huddle under a tree at one point, because we were in a park near the White House with no building for shelter, but this rain was no joke and no match for a tree. Just imagine a wall of wind and water. Umbrellas were no use, so we finally just made a run for it. Unfortunately, there was a fatality:

R.I.P.I borrowed this book from Inga’s mom and dad, and it is demolished! Ugh! Getting caught in the rain while trekking around the city is a definite hazard of city life. My work papers are all crinkly and weird too.

Getting caught in the rain was an unexpected twist to the day, which might be part of the reason it made me laugh. I’m not sure that my friends would agree, but it was actually… kind of… fun. I splashed in some puddles, and laughed and squealed as the water soaked me through.Β It isn’t every day that I show up to an event with the ability to wring water out of my hair, my sweater, my dress and my book. There were no pina coladas, but I had definitely earned a bit of wine. I don’t have any photos, so just imagine a plastic cup full of sauvignon blanc and you will have the picture. If you imagine me looking as if I’ve had a bucket of water poured over my head, you will have an even better idea of the scene. πŸ™‚

Tonight’s dinner wasn’t followed by a frolic through the rain, although, it has been raining all day. I’m hoping that the rain will be over by the time my parents come to visit. Sometimes I really do like the rain, but sunshine is much better for playing tourist! I had a simple salad with grilled chicken and feta. I also whipped up a quick dressing with mustard, honey and lime juice. I got a veggie box last night so I have lettuce in the fridge again.Β 

SaladI had a little bowl of gelato for dessert after that. Then, I made the executive decision not to work out tonight. I made a deal with myself that I will go to the gym tomorrow night, and I’m sure I will unless last minute cleaning preempts it. Fridays are usually a night off, but it is always good to know that I have Friday in case I do need a back up day. Β 

I just didn’t feel like going tonight. That’s all I can say about it. My upper body, and especially my shoulders, are still quite sore from Tuesday night’s work out. I also feel sort of tired today. Going to the gym sounded like torture, and, uncharacteristically, I just didn’t go. I know I mentioned my bad workout on Tuesday night, and the fact that I don’t think I always allow time to recover properly between workouts. I’m hoping that I will feel awesome tomorrow, and I suspect I will have a better workout after another rest day anyway.Β 

So that’s about it for me. I’m tired and need to get to bed. I’m so glad that tomorrow is Friday! I hope to post regularly while my fam is visiting, but I guess we’ll see what happens. I can at least say with certainty that I’ll be able to spend some time in the kitchen. I’m looking forward to it!!

Here’s wishing you all a great Friday and an awesome weekend. Ciao for now, y’all!

14 Comments

Filed under Beans, D.C., diet, Fitness, Food, Washington, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

14 responses to “If you like Pina Coladas… and Getting Caught in the Rain…

  1. I should try adding an apple to oats – it looks great and the crispiness might be a nice contrast. Very exciting your family is visiting – should be a great weekend.

  2. I like thin, semi-crispy dough for my pizza. Sorry about the book, what a bummer! 😦

  3. Melanie

    You know, I’ve been thinking about how fun it would be to get caught in the rain lately:).

    I like my pizza with thinner crust; the toppings are the important part, for sure….honestly, the crust shouldn’t really be the focal point to me….lots of times, I’ll just do the toppings on a tortilla!

  4. I love your blog so much and look forward to your posts. πŸ™‚

    That pizza and your dinner look so great!
    I like my pizza dough any way I can get it. LOL I usually go for the thin crispy crust though.

  5. looks like you’ve been having a good week! I love thick doughy pizza AND thin crispy crust – just depends on what kind of mood I’m in πŸ™‚

  6. I adore that Mojo bar!! It’s tied for my favorite with the Trail Mix flavor πŸ™‚

    Thin and crispy all the way! Pineapple is my favorite pizza topping – you have to get that kind next time because it’s delicious! Boo to getting caught in the rain!!

  7. Gave you a lovely award, and it’s waiting for you on my blog. Go grab it! πŸ™‚

  8. That pizza looks so good! Where do you buy your agave nectar??

  9. Hi there! I totally relate to your hectic schedule. I’m just getting caught up again with your recent posts after a brief hiatus of all blog reading. For me, work comes first as it pays the bills…and then fun.

    I’m from the Chicago area and grew up eating deep dish, but now I don’t like it at all. There’s just way too much cheese, sauce, everything… I prefer Italian style pizzas that are thin as crackers. And I recently discovered that I like anchovies on my pizza, a lot.

  10. I vaccillate between thick crust and thin. When trying to cut calories I eat thin crust, or make my own with flatbreads, tortillas, or pita breads.

    Your Pop chips photo- really interesting. I first thought you were trying to pur’ee something, until I read about it.

    Do you use the protein powder to enhance weight loss, or support exercise, or supplement a lower protein diet?

    I have some protein powder in the house from when I did the CURVES diet which I don’t recommend for a long period of time. You count carbs on it. It is similar to Atkins.

    Enjoy your parents before anything else.

  11. Fun pizza question πŸ™‚ I SAY I like thin but that’s just because I know that’s what I should be eating…in a perfect, calorie and carb-free world, I like it thick and chewy πŸ™‚

  12. thin and crispy for me! that flatbread looks delicious.

    and i love your splashing in the rain story. sometimes, you have no choice but to enjoy the downpour!

  13. I am feeling so behind in blogging as of late too! Its just tough to keep up. Your lunch refried beans look delicious- have you tried black bean refried beans? The TJs version is out of this world. I am def a thin pizza girl

  14. homegirlcaneat

    I love a good thick and doughy crust! But then I love gourmet thin pizzas with tons of amazing veggies and stuff all ova them!

    I ALMOST picked up that mojo bar today! Next time fosho I will! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

