Take a Hike!

In Juneau, I hiked on the East Glacier Loop trail in the Tongass National Forest. After trekking up several hundred feet, we were treated to this view of the Mendenhall Glacier:

Mendenhall GlacierWhen I scheduled my hike, I knew it would be good exercise, but I had no idea I was going to enjoy it so much! The day was kind of cloudy, and the air was chilly and moist. It was also so FRESH! There were only six people in our little group plus the guide, and I think we were all struck by the peace and quiet and the smells of the forest. There were lots of lovely views along the way, and there were several little things that really struck my fancy. If you are a foodie, I don’t have to tell you how great these are:

Fiddleheads!Fiddlehead ferns! They were growing everywhere. I wanted to make like a bunny and start nibbling!! While tasty, given my music background, I also love them for the resemblance to stringed instruments. Although, I guess these were around long before violins hit the scene. Hmmm…

There were also some cute little mushrooms, but I, of course, wouldn’t nibble on those without an expert opinion first.Β 

MUSH-roomsIt was a bit early (and cold!) for flowers, but these little guys were doing their best to get the party started:

Party AnimalsWe took a little side jaunt and saw this pretty waterfall near the end of the trail:

WaterfallEverything was just so lush and green! I got some good exercise, learned a lot from our knowledgeable guide, and now I think I might need to find more opportunities for this sort of hiking in my own backyard. Bliss!

After the hike, I went back to town and met up with my friends at the super touristy but super fun Red Dog Saloon.

Red Dog SaloonI clearly needed to refuel with a big juicy burger, potato salad and a Guinness. πŸ™‚

A Necessity!Excuse the messy hike hair. πŸ™‚ I’d been hoping to see a bear on the hike, but I guess most of them were still napping. I had to settle for this one at the saloon:

TreedFun!! Today, I hiked to work as usual, and I didn’t see any bears on that hike either! Although, work was a bit of a bear. I had a super busy day, and, as convenience would have it, I ate exactly the same things I had yesterday. That’s my way of saying that I didn’t have time to take photos. If you’d like to see today’s breakfast, lunch and dinner, just check out yesterday’s post. πŸ™‚ There were a few small changes. First, I didn’t have any more dried apples so I had a date and a piece of light string cheese instead. Second… I ate my celery first today and then just ate the peanut butter straight from the spoon. Hee hee. Sometimes I want my PB in a concentrated dose, and the crunch of the celery was sort of addictive on its own.Β 

I did have some different things after dinner. In keeping with my goal of eating less sugar, I made another smoothie. These really are sweet enough, filling and satisfying. I’ve been mixing fat free sugar free butterscotch pudding mix into pumpkin this week, and loving it! I finished off my pumpkin today, but I still had a serving of pudding mix left. I started to wonder…

Butterscotchie Shake SmoothieI used to love milk shakes with caramel ice cream topping blended in. I decided to put the rest of my pudding mix in a cup with 6 ounces of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, half a scoop of Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein and a few ice cubes, and then give it a zip in the magic bullet. I don’t know why I’ve never tried this before! The pudding mix made it extra creamy, and it totally reminded me of one of those milk shakes. This will not be the last Butterscotchie Shake Smoothie I make! Yum! What’s your favorite flavor of milkshake?? I always love smoothie inspiration! πŸ™‚

I followed that up with this little plate:

Blue Plate SpecialStrawberries topped with a bit of Galaxy granola and a bit of dark chocolate dreams PB really hit the spot. I think I may have a vitamuffin before I head to bed because I should be able to sleep my way through any sugar hankerings that might result. All in all, it has been a great day! I’m so glad to have three days to get things back in order. I hope you are enjoying the photos from my vacation. I’m having a great time sharing them with you! I have a fun little outing planned for tomorrow, and I’ll tell you all about it later. For now, I’m off to hibernate like a bear until the morning. Ciao for now!

13 Comments

Filed under Alaska, diet, Fitness, Food, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

13 responses to “Take a Hike!

  1. My fav milkshake is peanut butter banana! Mmm mmm!

    The pictures are so gorgeous – thanks for sharing your trip with us! πŸ™‚

  2. Gorgeous photos – looks like an amazing hike.

  3. Lovely pictures!! It looks that you had a great time exploring!!

  4. i really am loving your vacation photos. and those fiddlehead ferns are adorable!

    i think my favorite milkshake flavor has always been strawberry — i haven’t had one in ages, though!

  5. That smoothie sounds awesome! I’m boring, I like vanilla BUT I also like cookies and creme smoothies too πŸ™‚

    Gorgeous pictures!!

  6. What a gorgeous view! Makes me want to get out and do so more hiking. You know, I have never had Fiddlehead ferns but I haven’t met a green veggie I didn’t like! They are so fun!

  7. That’s the most amazing vacation. Looks like so much fun. I was talking to hubby about your beautiful pics and we both want to go now. πŸ™‚

  8. Awesome pictures, definitely a fun-filled time!

  9. Thanks for sharing your photos! A cruise to Alaska is seriously on my “bucket list,” so I’m loving the recap πŸ™‚

  10. im definitely a chocolate milkshake girl!

    love all the pics from Alaska.. ive never wanted to go there, now im seriously wondering if i should someday!

  11. I went for the heavy stuff–ice cream soda, mainly vanilla with possibly caramel or butterscotch syrups added πŸ™‚ Haven’t done that in a long, long time.

    I am enjoying your tour of Alaska, which I don’t expect to experience that trip.

    We are having a hamburger/hot dog/baked beans/ice cream sundae COOK-IN Memorial Day. I am an indoor person by nature and by allergy.

    It usually rains Memorial Day. True to form it is already raining………..started yesterday.

  12. Alaska looks amazing! I really want to go there soon. πŸ™‚

    I’ve been putting cheesecake flavored sugar free pudding mix in my chocolate protein shakes. It makes them insanely good and only adds 25 cals!

  13. Dude you do NOT want to see a bear in spring. They are very hungry and a bit nasty too.

Leave a Reply

