True Confessions

It was just as I had imagined…

Glacier BayThis is a photo I took in Glacier Bay. I know that this picture doesn’t do it justice. Alaska was, in a word– breathtaking! I had such a great time, and saw so many amazing things that I hope to share with you a bit at a time over the days to come. Speaking of you, I’ve missed you! I haven’t had internet access this week so I haven’t been able to post, and I also haven’t been able to keep up with all of my bloggie buddies! I’m hoping my google reader hasn’t exploded! 🙂

It was a fabulous week, and I’m sorry that vacation had to end. I heard a man say “enjoy reality” as I was stepping off of the boat. His sarcasm was appreciated as I headed back to work and the daily grind, but he probably didn’t know that there are some things about reality that I really am going to enjoy. First of all, I will be happy not to have options like the one below staring me in the face every morning (and close by just about any other time of the day…):

Pastries!Don’t worry. I have some beautiful sights to show you, but, since food is the main event in my usual blog posts, I thought I might as well get the “true vacation confessions” part of my trip out of the way since I’m back on the wagon and trying to focus on the positives after a week of, well, pretty unhealthy choices.

In the previous post, I listed several goals for myself during my vacation. I can tell you that my pants are most definitely too tight, and a quick and ill advised impromptu hop on the scale revealed a number that even I wouldn’t have imagined. Having said that, I enjoyed myself and the food that I ate (even if I didn’t enjoy the over-full sensation I experienced on SEVERAL occasions… Food Aversion Therapy (FAT) reared its head more than once…) As predicted, I’m more excited than sad to return to my usual fare, and there is something to be said for that. How did I do with my goals? Here is my honest appraisal.

  • Make sure to drink the usual 100 ounces of water a day: I ordered 10 big bottles at the beginning of the week and worked on them all week long. I didn’t quite drink 100 ounces a day, but I got quite close on many days and even exceeded it on a few others. This is a goal that I like because I remember the days when I didn’t drink water at all. The fact that I make it a priority and typically enjoy drinking it now is evidence of a definite lifestyle change. I did pretty well with this one. Yay!!
  • Visit the gym each day: Well… I did better than I would have a few years ago, but I can’t say I did a very good job of meeting this goal. I didn’t make it to the gym on the days I was traveling to and from Alaska, and I didn’t go on the days when I had excursions. I went on Tuesday for an hour, and then I never graced the door again. There were a few days with no activity at all. My long hike in Juneau was definitely a work-out (and a fabulous experience, by the way…), but my other excursions, although active, weren’t quite as strenuous. It could have been much much better, but it could have been worse. I think that scheduling lots of fun physical activities is a big key for me on vacation. That’s one way to make sure I get some activity into my day without having to put in my usual gym workout. Lesson learned. 
  • Try to eat as much fresh stuff as possible: If the goal had been “try to eat as much fresh stuff as possible,” I would have scored 100%. Hee hee. All kidding aside, I definitely ate fresh fruits and vegetables at each meal, and I know that, in times past, I probably would have zipped right past them and gone straight to the pastries. Instead, I had fruit AND pastries… and bacon. 🙂 For example, a breakfast would usually resemble this plate that includes a pile of fruit salad as well as a pear in my bowl of oats:

BrekkieI was so glad that there were oats every morning as well as lots of cool things to add to them! The plate above was typically followed by something that looked like this:

Breakfast DessertCarbalicious! A typical lunch started with 2/3 of a huge plate of salad (mostly veggies but with a few goodies) and a sampling of whatever random offerings were on the buffet that day. 

Lunch PlateBuffets are so weird. Don’t get me wrong. I ate more than my fair share this week, and I enjoyed most of it, but I still prefer to have things that make sense together. A wonton, baked beans, curried chicken and pasta in cream sauce are unlikely friends. My problem is that I like to try everything. That also goes for the desserts:

DessertThat brings me to the fourth goal–

  • Remember that tasting is fine and cleaning the plate is not necessary: I hate to waste food, so I didn’t set out to be wasteful. However, things did get left on the plate if they just weren’t very good. There were a number of things I tried over the first few days that proved to be less than stellar, and I didn’t choose those again. Some days, however, there were so many things I wanted to try that I’d make a plate like the one above and nibble my way through. Sometimes I ate it all, but there were often some things that didn’t make the cut. I’m happy not to have a dessert buffet in my kitchen on a daily basis. Yikes! I’m glad that there were at least some fruits and veggies involved, but I was definitely craving a menu heavy in fruit and veg upon my return home. 
  • Don’t overdo it on things I could have any day: I realized that this goal wasn’t really very helpful in a cruise ship atmosphere because I could have almost anything on any day. That includes the desserts. I wouldn’t have them ALL on the same healthy eating day, but I usually manage to work a few in here and there. This goal sort of morphed into my eating all the things I wouldn’t have on any old day, and eating them in abundance. I tend to lose all reason with regard to eating on vacation, even though I’m fully aware that my choices have consequences. I could have made much better choices and still had a good time. I hope to remind myself of that fact in the future. I would also have had even more fun if I hadn’t felt stuffed and sluggish on multiple occasions. Note to self: pastries are available anytime and it isn’t necessary to try to eat them all during a one week period. 🙂
  • Be kind to myself: This goal really kicked in a few days ago when I realized that my clothes weren’t fitting correctly. Honestly, I’ve been beating myself up more than I would like. I enjoyed myself, but I know that I went overboard and let my sweet tooth run rampant. Instead of the “Love Boat,” I was sailing on the “Sugar Ship.” Vacation should be enjoyed, but that doesn’t mean eating everything in sight. Striking that balance is one of the hardest things of all for me, but I’ll keep working on it. 

Today I got back on track, had a great workout and renewed my commitment to healthy eating. Feeling stuffed into my clothes gave me a glimpse of what my future could be like if I stopped fighting the good fight, and it wasn’t a nice sight. I already feel better after a day of normal eating, and I’m sure that, as the days and weeks pass, the scale will move back in the right direction. If you are a person who struggles with these sorts of things the way that I do, you know that the most important thing is to get right back on the healthy path and look forward rather than wallowing in a slip up and exacerbating the problem. My feet are firmly on the positive path, and I know that I’m headed in the right direction.

Before I go, I thought I’d share one more photo from my trip. This is me on the ship as we are leaving College Fjord. It was truly a beautiful place, and I can’t wait to share more photos and tidbits about my trip over the next few posts. In case the smile on my face doesn’t give it away, I had a great time.:-) Ciao for now, and I’ll catch you later!

College Fjord

19 Comments

Filed under Alaska, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

19 responses to “True Confessions

  1. Yea! You’re safely back home, and I’m happy to see you blogging again.

    Thank you for the recap. I hope you don’t mind but can I borrow this goal concept for my own upcoming trip next week? (Of course, I will link back to your post as the inspiration). We’re heading to Ottawa and Quebec City on Friday for about a week and I’m already worrying about over indulging on French food and my mother-in-laws amazing (yet buttery) cooking.

  2. PS – you’re so cute in that photo! i like how your baby blue jacket matches with the other blue hues from the ocean and sky.

  3. Hi! I am the commenter formally known as Beadie but while you were away, I stopped writing my food blog.

    But, wanted to let you know that I am still reading and it looks like your trip was amazing. I can’t wait to read further recaps!

  4. Sweetie Pie!!! I’m so glad to see you got back safely and enjoyed your trip. I loved your goals and I think you did great, AND, like you said, you are back and eating normally again. I loved seeing your recap so far of your goals and how you did and the things you learned about yourself. I think that is the most important part – not necessarily meeting each goal exactly, but seeing what happens when you’re learning to trust yourself and what you can do 🙂

    the pictures are breathtaking, and I can’t wait to see more!

    ps: I got my package and LOVE it! My husband already stole half of that chocolate bar but the other half is ALL mine 🙂

  5. AmyJoGo

    Yay! Welcome home! You have been missed!

    Can’t wait to hear more. Thanks for your honesty in this post (and all the others too!).

  6. Sounds like you had an amazing time! Alaska is by far one of the most beautiful places that I have ever been. I love how the mountains shoot straight out of the water!

    Youre back on track, that is the important part. I think sometimes we need a vacation (and the eating that goes along with it) to remind us why we are on this journey!

  7. So many tasty eats and GORGY photos!! Sounds like a great time 🙂 Glad you enjoyed vacation!!

  8. Claudia

    I am glad you had a great vacation! I’m also super glad you are back! I love your blog and I missed it…selfishly I know.

    Please don’t beat yourself up about the vacation. Vacations are vacations and by definition include a little indulgence, if only because we don’t do that on a regular basis!

    I can’t wait to see your pictures!

  9. Ahhh I have goosebumps it’s so pretty! I’ve been craving a cruise vacay for awhile now – I just might have to pigeon hole that to an “Alaskan cruise!”

  10. Welcome back home!! It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation and I can’t wait to see more photos! (lovely photo of you too!!) I’m sure those extra kilo’s will disappear as soon as you get back into your normal routine!

  11. That photo looks like something out of National Geographic or something. Wow. It looks so beautiful.

    I don’t even want to discuss the food. I almost licked my computer screen. LOL That waffle is so pretty!

    Looks like a wonderful time and I can’t wait to see more pics. Gorgeous! I want to go on a trip now!

  12. Wohoo, you’re back! Looks like you had a wonderful time — can’t wait to read more about it.

    I think you did pretty well, all things considered. I’m glad you’re not beating yourself up too much, seems like you have a good plan to get back on track.

  13. Sounds like a wonderful vacation. I’ve heard persons who eat normally, complain of tight clothes, so don’t beat yourself up.

    I know I would not have done as well. I did meet my 1st 10% goal while you were away.

    looking forward to some great photos.

  14. EnglishGarden

    How beautiful the snow
    The Alaskan lights set a glow

    How dreadful the hot air blows
    As we set about our grass to mow

    I love the beauty of the snow
    As mowing only makes my face glow

    Glad you are back

  15. maggieapril

    I’m thrilled you had such a wonderful vacation. Unfortunately, I totally understand the “vacation eating syndrome.” It is an affliction I suffer from myself. But it is behind you now so don’t even think about it. I have found that my rapidly gained weight tends to come back off quickly, too. Looking forward to reading more about your trip.
    maggieapril from http://www.tastenotwaist.com

  16. So glad you’re back! I had just started reading your blog right before you went on vacation. This post was so helpful to me, as I just came back from a mini-vacation where I ate too much, and enjoyed my sweets a bit too much, and I have really been beating myself up about it. It is so helpful to see that others have the same problem, but are able to get back on track and continue on. Thanks so much.

    I also liked your goals list, and will keep it bookmarked for my next vacation.

    And last of all, thanks for all the beautiful pics and descriptions of Alaska. I want to go now!

  17. Hey Sweetie! I love that photo, glad your trip was awesome. More glad you are back 🙂

  18. Yay, glad you’re back! Glad you had a great time! Thanks for reflecting back on your goals!

Leave a Reply

