Tea Wisdom and an Eatful Day

“Life is a flow of love; your participation is requested.” That doesn’t really have anything to do with today’s post, but it is the quote on the Yogi tea that I’m sipping right now. Random quotes often amuse me. 🙂

Today was kind of a weird day. I woke up at a weird time, added something new to today’s morning routine, and was a bottomless pit all day long. At least it started out with a pretty normal breakfast:

BrekkieI’ve been waking up earlier than usual the last few days, partly because I’ve been trying to get to bed earlier. It’s rare that I’m up and functioning before 7:30. I am NOT a morning person. 🙂 This morning, I woke up at 6:30, and I felt really tight and stiff from last night’s workout. I’ve been meaning to try one of the yoga videos on my On Demand, and I decided this was the day. I have only tried yoga a handful of times, but I could tell that, thanks to strength training, my balance was much better than it used to be. It was still a challenge, but I remember how much harder it was the last time I tried it. I definitely felt better after I was done, and I’m going to remember that in the future when I need some extra stretching!

After my 25 minutes of yoga, I mixed up the same bowl I had yesterday, but I remembered to add some protein powder today for some extra staying power. I put my nut chopper in the photo because I’ve been meaning to tell you how I practice portion control with the chopped nuts that I love to scatter on top of things. I put the nut chopper on the food scale, set the scale to zero, measure out the number of grams of nuts I want, and then I just have to turn the handle a few times and sprinkle away. It’s so quick and easy! 

Since I ate breakfast earlier than usual, I wasn’t surprised when I got hungry for a snack earlier than my normal time. I usually make it until at least 11:00, but today I was hungry by 10:30, despite the addition of Jay Robb to my bowl. I had a Wallaby maple yogurt (YUM!) and some Peanut Butter Puffins (Double YUM!) to hold me over until lunch:

WallabyliciousHere’s where things take a weird turn. I had a bigger than usual lunch:

Big Lunch!I planned to have the edamame and the cookie as afternoon snacks, but I had them with lunch instead. I also had a hard boiled egg, some Springtime Market Potato Salad and a sandwich made with goat cheese, radishes and scallions. I would have preferred hummus, but I emptied the container yesterday. 😦  I don’t know if I just didn’t hit the right spot with this lunch, but it left me wanting more. I was with some friends at a place that sells cookies, and we discussed the fact that I wanted one. I didn’t get one, and I headed back to my office still looking for something else to eat. 

Then, I saw a plate of these in the hallway:

Bonus Cookie!I don’t typically have trouble passing up the store bought food that co-workers bring in, but homemade items are another matter altogether. Add that to the fact that I had just had a conversation about how badly I wanted a cookie, and it was destined to come back to my office with me. It was yummy, and I enjoyed it! Here’s the weird thing: I still wanted something else so I had a random Fiber One bar from the desk drawer. 

Bonus Bar...I’d basically eaten all but one of my afternoon snacks, a bonus bar, my lunch and a bonus cookie all in the span of an hour and a half. That’s really not normal for me! Today was a struggle for some reason. I was kind of a bottomless pit, although I wasn’t only eating out of hunger. I hardly ever have a day like that, and I’m just hoping tomorrow will be back to normal!! Eventually, after all of that, I did feel legitimately hungry so I broke the sad “no nut butter” streak that started yesterday and had one of these with peanut butter:

Nut Butter!!I meant to save the other crisp for tomorrow, but… I ate that too. When it was close to quittin’ time, I had the other snack I had brought, which was a bowl of Greek yogurt with the very last bits of the Goji chunks and a bit of pomegranate honey jelly. I love this combo, but I’m kind of glad that the “high calorie to low satisfaction ratio” Goji chunks are gone. 

Goji-Yo!When I got home, I decided to try to salvage the day. I had some Campbell’s light southwestern style vegetable soup. 

SouperThat was followed by an egg white omelette with some fat free cheese and scallions as well as a piece of toast with sugar free jelly. This meal was low in calories and pretty decent as far as protein goes, but, I wasn’t done.

CheesyI just had to have the rest of the Strawberry Darling LaLoo’s…

Strawberry Darling… followed by some chocolate chips…

Chocolate Chippers… and a Vitatop. 

VitalovelyProject “salvage the day” was short lived. Now, I’m sipping tea and trying to make it to bedtime without eating anything else. Do you ever have days like this? Do you give in? Days like today are incredibly rare for me, so I’m not going to really worry about it. I’m sure that I could analyze my eats and come up with a zillion strategies and theories, but I don’t want to do that. If it happens again, well, I may revisit the issue. For now, I’m just going to remember that tomorrow is a new day, and go from there. Even so, it will go down as a weird day in my books. Wish me luck with a return to normalcy tomorrow!

I went to the gym tonight, and I had a good workout, which made me feel much better. Tomorrow, I hope to kickbox during lunch, and I’m excited. I do look forward to the super challenging kickboxing class I attend each week. My pink gloves are ready!

I’m glad that Friday is close because, as I see it, my official vacation starts at the end of the Friday work day. I can’t wait!! I think a change of scenery will do me a world of good!

Ciao for now, bloggie friends and have a great Thursday! I’m planning on having a “normal” one. 🙂

17 Comments

Filed under diet, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

17 responses to “Tea Wisdom and an Eatful Day

  1. Some days I eat more, sometimes less, and I figure it just balances out in the long run…it’s not worth getting upset over 🙂 Have fun kickboxing tomorrow – sounds like a lot of fun!

  2. OMG, I hate bottomless pit days. And yes I have had them. I just try to eat the best choices possible. Also, light popcorn gives you a lot for the points/calories. Looks like you made it through. I like to think that when I have a day like that it means that I am about to lose a lot of weight. 🙂

  3. Erin

    I have days like that. I usually just go with it. Or at least try to. I certainly fight it sometimes and just feel guilty, but we shouldn’t. These things happen, and maybe your body was just in need of some extra fuel. And some days, a body just needs chocolate. I’m sure you’ll be normal tomorrow!

  4. Sweetie, Join the club of humans!!! i think it’s DEFINITELY normal to have days like this, because i’ve had plenty of them. As long as you head back on track tomorrow you will be JUST fine. I secretly enjoy indulging in many snacks or big meals once a while because it’s nice to switch things up on your regular routine to keep your body guessing. I also like that it pumps me up for my workout the next day and gives me all the less reason to cheat! 🙂 You will be juuuuust fine and I’m sure you’re going to kick butt with good eating and good exercise for quite some time!

  5. Sounds like you are ready for ALASKA!!!

    Neat: I found some Fiber One® bars and the KASHI® Honey Sunshine®™ at Wal-Mart yesterday and like both. No oat-bran, however. Just oat meal in umpteen varietues which is OK occasionally but childhood favorite hot cereal is Malt O’Meal®

    A trip to Springfield with husband and also my best friends seems eminent. A visit to an Asian market for baby bok choy, and maybe a nutrition place are on the lists.

  6. I blame the rain….that appears to never be going away!

    I totally had a bottomless pit sort of day yesterday, and actually ate all of my snacks and my lunch between 10-1pm yesterday. Somehow I kept myself busy and ignored the evil man in my head saying “hey lady…open the snack drawer.”

    Thanks for the ideas for the PB2!

  7. oh yeah, I have days like that. I don’t know why, but sometimes I am just SO hungry all day long!

  8. AmyJoGo

    Think it may have something to do with starting your day with a workout? I don’t know why, but anytime I’ve worked out before work, I feel like I’m starving the rest of the day.

    I agree with you and everyone else that you just have to roll with it as best as you can. I think you did a phenominal(hope I spelled that right. too lazy to do a spell check this am) job with having healthy snacks rather than grabbing chips, pastries and sugary pop out of a vending machine(the way I do!).

    btw…you’re 36? You look like you’re 26!

    ~amy

  9. debby

    I definitely think waking up at a different time can set you up for a day like that. Sometimes when I have a day like that I will try to break the cycle by having something different, like high-protein, non-refined carb. Sometimes it works…

  10. I definitely have days where I’m ravenous – I try to drink as much water as possible but ultimately I give in. Waking up earlier throws me off! Don’t worry about it too much! Hope you have a great Thursday 🙂

  11. My whole WEEK has been like that. I blame a blend of weather, stress and Aunt Flo. Plus, I think my workouts have been a little more intense this week. Last night’s spin class had my heart rate maxed out for most of the 45 minutes.

  12. Very exciting that your vaca starts tomorrow!! You must be thrilled. I def have botomless pit days! Drives me nuts. I try to drink tons of water and wait 5 minutes before I eat something I am “really wanting” to make sure I am actually hungry and not just bored! Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t! hehe. Have a good one

  13. Staci

    I just read your blog for the first time – It’s great 🙂
    I definitely have bottomless pit days! I could completely understand….it made me smile as I thought that so many people go through those days. 🙂

  14. I love those fiber bars! Aren’t they great!

  15. i totally have bottomless pit days! usually i try to just make some of the choices veggies and fruit, but there are always sweets mixed in as well. i usually just run with it!!

  16. Have fun on your vacation!!! Come back safe.

    Will you be blogging in Alaska?

  17. Alyssa

    OK. By comparison, my day was sooo much worse. I passed the same cookies in the office, but I had TWO. Then a certain other co-worker stopped by my office and *made* me eat another half. I went home and baked cookies for my hubby to take to school, and thus had more cookies. I estimate I ate 1/2 a dozen cookies that day….

Leave a Reply

