Springtime Market Potato Salad and a Quick Weekend Recap

Pretty PoppiesI’m a little behind on posting, but I’m going to do my best to get you caught up on what I’ve been up to this weekend, a few of my favorite eats, and a recipe that I’m really excited about. Here goes…

The photo of the gorgeous poppies at the top of the post, and the photo of the beautiful arrangement below were both taken at the farmer’s market yesterday. The market was really hopping! I can’t resist taking photos of the beautiful flowers, but I didn’t actually bring any home with me… this time.

Beautiful!This is what I did buy:

My HaulNow, I recognize the fact that the tomatoes are out of season, but I was in the mood for some so I picked them up anyway. They are only so so. The other purchases from yesterday, the radishes, green onions, asparagus, pink lady apples (out of winter storage, I believe…), the lettuce and the Greek yogurt holding up the tomatoes, are all pretty awesome!! There is also a basil plant and a bell pepper plant in the midst of the veggies. Time for more balcony gardening! Just look at these pretty radishes:

Radiant RadishesI was never a fan of radishes as a kid because I thought they were too “hot.” Now, I really like them!

I decided to slice up the rest of my Blue Ridge Dairy smoked mozzarella from the market a couple of weeks ago, along with one of my tomatoes and some fresh basil in order to make myself a quick caprese salad for lunch. There’s a little balsamic vinegar and sea salt on top too. After seeing all of the fresh things at the market, I wanted a fresh lunch.

CapreseI followed up my salad with an interesting and delightfully crunchy sandwich:

Crunch!Tribe chipotle hummus and sliced radishes on an Arnold’s sandwich thin made for a surprisingly yummy combination!!

After lunch, I sliced up my Derby Day brownies, and fixed them on a plate with a little mint sprig from the pot of mint on my balcony. Then, I headed over to my friends’ house to watch the horsies. ๐Ÿ™‚

Derby Day Brownies!When I go to my friends’ house, I get to hang out with my favorite puppy dog in the whole world, Inga. Isn’t that face adorable!?

What a Pretty Girl!

I was discussing the fact that I probably shouldn’t have another brownie with Inga, since, as I told her, I had already had one after lunch. This is what she had to say about that:

IngabadingaI stick my tongue out at the idea of no more brownies too. She’s so wise! I really just couldn’t resist posting this picture of her with her tongue sticking out because I thought it was so darn cute!! I hope she won’t be embarrassed. ๐Ÿ™‚ While we were discussing brownies, her mom was making mint juleps.

Muddlin'

The smell of the mint was AMAZING! My friends have a ton of it growing in their back yard, and Inga’s dad was out harvesting some when I came in the door. It doesn’t get any more fresh than that! I didn’t take a photo of my finished drink because I was too busy sipping! ๐Ÿ™‚ I did get this action shot of my friend adding the bourbon with the simple syrup sitting in the background.

Juleppy

The juleps were yummy, and what an exciting race! I always love checking out the interesting hats and other fashion choices in the crowd too. What fun! After the race was over, the boys went out to fire up the grill and Inga’s mom made this pretty salad.
Big Bowl of FreshnessI’m so jealous of their outdoor grill, since outdoor grills aren’t allowed in my apartment building. This burger was SO yummy! Just look at the melted cheese!! There’s a little piece of grilled chicken hiding in the background too, because it looked so good that, of course, I needed a sample.

Din DinThis dinner was perfect for a Saturday night hanging out on the porch with friends. YUM and YUM!!ย I had so much fun last night!! Thanks again to my friends for having me over. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today, I did a bit more cooking with my farmer’s market purchases and also with a few things out of the fridge. I’m trying to empty out all of my produce before I leave for Alaska next Monday, and I decided that I needed to make another little batch of Cabbage Nests with some cabbage that was in the fridge. I wanted a fried egg today, for some reason, and I decided I might like it on top of a Cabbage Nest. This may seem like an odd plate, with the tomatoes and goat cheese alongside the egg and the cabbage, but it was actually pretty good! Yay for using up things in the fridge!! Get ready to see a lot of that this week…

Return of the Cabbage NestThe other thing I made today rates much higher than “pretty good.” I’d say that this is freakin’ awesome!!! I made this salad using some of the things I bought at the market yesterday, and a dressing mixture that I came up with last year when I was making a more basic potato salad. I love this recipe, and I love how versatile and low fat the dressing mixture is. You could use it on all sorts of things. Without further adieu…

Springtime Market Potato Salad

ย 

Springtime Market Potato Salad

Ingredients:

The Veggies:

Nonstick Cooking Spray

1 1/2 pounds of fingerling potatoes, complete with the skin

3/4 pound of fresh asparagus (or more if you prefer), cut into 1 1/2″ pieces

1 cup green onions, chopped

1/3 cup roasted red peppers, chopped

Salt and Black Pepper to taste

The Dressing:

1/3 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt

2 Tbsp. light mayonnaise

3 Tbsp. rice wine or other light vinegar

1 Tbsp. coarse dijon mustardย 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Spray a baking sheet well with nonstick cooking spray. Spread the potatoes in a single layer on half of the sheet, and spread the asparagus in a single layer on the other half of the sheet. Spray the asparagus and the potatoes with cooking spray and give them a little sprinkle of salt (about 1/4 tsp). Place in the oven for 20 minutes. Remove the baking sheet from the oven, place the asparagus in a large bowl, and return the potatoes to the oven for an additional 5-10 minutes, making sure that the largest potatoes are tender. Allow the potatoes and asparagus to cool.

When the veggies have cooled, slice the potato into bite sized chunks and add it to the bowl with the asparagus. Add the green onions and roasted peppers.

To make the dressing, combine all of the dressing ingredients in a small bowl and mix well with a whisk.

Add the dressing to the veggies, stir very gently, and add salt and black pepper to taste.ย 

This makes about 6 servings, and the recipe calculator I used says that each serving is cal: 113, fat: 1.5, fiber: 2.6. Of course, you would want to plug it into your own calculator, but that should at least give you a rough idea. That’s not bad for potato salad, and the Greek yogurt really makes it creamy without adding a lot of fat and calories. It also adds a bit of protein. Woo hoo!

I used some fingerling potatoes I had in the drawer, but you could always chop up a couple of regular potatoes and roast them to use in this salad:

Fingerling PotatoesI cut the potatoes into pretty big chunks, and I love the combo of the potatoes and the roasted asparagus!

Asparagus and PotatoesThe onions and peppers really give it a blast of color!

VeggieliciousIf you’ve never bought the coarse dijon mustard, I have to recommend it! I like it mixed with vinegar as a dressing for green salads, and I love the texture of the mustard seeds when I use it in a dressing like this one.

DressingFor dinner, I brought everything together and had a cabbage nest topped with a chicken mushroom asiago sausage and accompanied by a big pile of my springtime market potato salad. Sausage, potato salad and cabbage just “go together” to me, and this was reminiscent of a cookout. It was rainy outside, but I was having my own little indoor picnic!

Dinner!Now, I’ve finished my gym time for the evening, and had a bit of chocolate. It’s time to get to bed and get ready for Monday. I’m expecting a busy week as I try to wrap things up in tidy packages so that they will be manageable during the week that I’m away. Wish me luck! I hope you have a great week! Ciao for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

19 Comments

Filed under Asparagus, cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Food, Greek Yogurt, Recipes, Salad, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

19 responses to “Springtime Market Potato Salad and a Quick Weekend Recap

  1. I am going to make that salad. It just sounds delicious.

    I have a question for you: I know you told me how to make the breakfast cookie but I can’t find the recipe at all and I keep looking. Can you share the recipe again? I would love to try it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your pictures from the farmer’s market makes me want to visit the one near me. I think they do it twice a week.

  2. That looks like the perfect potato salad!! I have been looking for a good new recipe as I can’t stomach mayo but yogurt is usually okay, I can’t wait to try it this summer.

  3. OH MY GAWD. Fried egg on cabbage nest = genius! Stealing that one next!

  4. Yum! I am SO making that spring market potato salad this week for lunch! So good and so easy!

    The flowers at the farmers market are gorgeous – who needs to buy ’em when you have pics like that to share? (Ok, buying them would be nice too, but… for economy’s sake…)

    One question – was the smoked mozzarella you used in the Caprese salad fresh? I don’t think I’ve ever seen fresh, smoked mozzarella – it’s usually one or the other.

    • Bella-
      It is fresh smoked mozzarella, and I get it from the Blue Ridge Dairy folks at the farmer’s market. It is one of my favorite things! I haven’t seen smoked fresh mozzarella anywhere else around here. It’s so good. I wish I could e-mail you some. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh my gosh, those flowers are gorgeous! I love how colorful they are! Simply beautiful!

    And mmm everything looks so delicious!!!!

  6. Simple things like flowers put a smile on my face and make my day! Hope you have a wonderful week.

  7. so many colorful things in this post – I love it! The flowers and radishes are gorgeous, and your potato salad sounds SO good!

  8. The flowers are beautiful, I love poppies.
    All your foods look great too.

  9. Yum, the potato salad looks fantastic! Anything that includes rice wine vinegar=YUM in my book!

    Sounds like you had a great derby day!

  10. Mmm caprese salad! So good ๐Ÿ™‚ What a great potato salad!

    What kind of dog is that?! She’s a cutie pie!

    • That’s a good question. I don’t think there is a sure answer. The most correct thing I can say about Inga is that she is a Texan, since they got her while they were living in Texas. ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s so awesome!

  11. elra

    Oh, Inga is adorable, but watch out darling… you not suppose to eat that brownies or anything has chocolate in it, k?!

    Beautiful produce, that’s what I like about farmer’s market. WOW, have I read this wrong? Those poppies, $2/stem?

    Love your spring salad, definitely will make this.

    • Funny comment, Elra- Inga definitely wanted to get in on the brownies. She ended up settling for some sesame snacks instead. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’d hate to be a dog and have to avoid chocolate!!

  12. That potato salad looks delectable! I can’t wait to grill out this weekend! And it’s Monday…ugh!

  13. So much fresh, lovely food here! What a great weekend of eats! I have to say, I like radishes and I don’t know why I don’t eat them more often! Are they in season now? They look especially great in your salad. Love the crunchiness!

  14. Super post … little bit of everything! And Inga just cracks me up ๐Ÿ™‚ Have been eating a lot of radish sandwiches myself lately … just wish I had your brownies to eat right after!

  15. Alaska WOW I am looking forward to those posts and pictures.

  16. Pingback: Tea Wisdom and an Eatful Day « Just Sweet Enough

Leave a Reply

