Afternoon Oatmeal: Habit Forming?

Bananabrannerriffic!Hi bloggie friends! I hope everyone had a good day. Mine was pretty good, although I didn’t get as much accomplished as I had hoped. Some days are just like that, I guess. I did start off with a hearty bananabrannerriffic breakfast bowl. This bowl had:

  • 20 grams of wheat bran
  • 20 grams of oat bran
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. of sugar free Smucker’s maple syrup
  • 10 g of Jay Robb’s vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 sliced banana
  • 1 cup of water

It wasn’t my usual bowl– no strawberries or peanut butter, but simple and quick was on the menu this morning. I had a cup of coffee with skim milk and sugar free Torani on the side. I usually have a mix of skim milk and Almond Breeze in my coffee. My store was out of unsweetened Almond Breeze the other day so I picked up some unsweetened Almond Dream instead. I’ve noticed that it sort of curdles in my coffee, whereas the Almond Breeze always mixes in nicely. Has anyone else experienced this? I’ll be using the Almond Dream in smoothies, but not so much in my lattes. Yuck!Β 

My breakfast was a little lighter than usual, and I got hungry with an hour to go until lunch. I decided to have a little bitty pink lady apple I got at the farmer’s market with a great big glob (1/2 Tbsp, actually) of The Bee’s Knees PB. I love honeycrisp apples the best of all, but pink ladies take a strong second place!

The UsualWhen lunchtime rolled around, my co-worker and I decided, sort of on the spur of the moment, to take the lunch blanket that lives in my office and go out for a little picnic on the lawn at the National Building Museum. It was nice to sit in the sun. My office is usually FREEZING, and I love having the opportunity to thaw out during lunch. I had a Morningstar Farms Chik’n Patty on some Nature’s Own Light Honey Wheat bread, some steamed carrot, broccoli and cauliflower mix, a baggie of cucumbers and bell pepper slices, and a little bit of Tribe chipotle hummus. There was a lot of orange and green in today’s lunch. Orange and green are tasty! πŸ™‚

Al Fresco Lunchitty LunchI split a little piece of chocolate with my friend, and then had this when I went back in to the office.

Z-LiciousThe chocolate brownie Zbars are my favorite, but the blueberry ones are a close second. It was a nice little dessert. After my big veggielicious lunch and the Zbar, I didn’t really need a snack until much later. I started digging through the desk drawer, and then I had an idea….

PB on Something DifferentI think I mentioned the other day that I have some of these fruit crisps that I bought awhile ago. I don’t often choose them because, although they are tasty, they don’t really have much nutritional punch and they do zip for my hunger. I decided to eat one of the crisps (there are two per pack) with PB on top for a little protein. I think that the remaining crisps are going to meet a similar fate. The PB gave it a little bit more sticking power, and the combo of the fruit crisp and PB was yummy!

That reminds me: I’ve totally neglected my page of snack ideas since I stopped doing Friday weigh-in and snack idea posts. I’m hoping to update it soon with some of the snacks I’ve added to my repertoire. I think there should be a category called “Things That Go Well With Peanut Butter.” That’s a common theme in my snacks for sure!

Oatmeal SnacktimeAnother common theme over the past two days has been the afternoon bowl of oatmeal. I wanted a substantial snack today when dinner was still a couple of hours away, and a big bowl of blueberry oatmeal did the trick– again. I think I might be developing an afternoon oatmeal habit!Β Do you have any snack habits? Is there a snack you have every day like clockwork?

It was a good thing I had something substantial. The metro was having issues this evening, which meant that it took me much longer to get home than usual. When I finally got back to my apartment, I was definitely ready for dinner. I had something good planned.

Before I tell you what I had for dinner, I want to give you a little update. Remember this photo of the freezer jungle?

BeforeEvery time I opened the door, there was an avalanche of frozen things falling out and landing on my feet. I would have failed a pop quiz about what was hiding in the back of the freezer, and I had all sorts of things crammed in the door. After focusing on trying to use things from the freezer this month, I’ve managed to turn the scary jungle into this:

Freezer Update

Now, if you are a super organizational type person, you probably think this still looks like a mess. For me, this is perfection! I didn’t get the best shot of the interior, but trust me that there is plenty of empty space next to that bag that is sort of propped up vertically. There is also some space up at the top, and the stuff in the door looks more orderly. I think that the best part of this little project has been using up the random little bits of things, like the pineapple, in unexpected ways. Now, I know what’s in my freezer. There is nothing ancient or weird lurking in the back corner. I’m pretty pleased, and I’ve made so many things with items that were just sitting here in the freezer jungle waiting to be used!Β 

Tonight’s dinner used up another item from the freezer, although it wasn’t anything particularly creative. I took a package of ground turkey breast out to thaw yesterday, and I mixed up a batch of turkey burgers this morning and put them in the fridge. That gave them time to chill and firm up, and they were ready to toss on the Griddler as soon as I got home!

Turkey Burger!I made five burgers out of the turkey, and here’s what was in them:

  • 1.3 pounds of ground extra lean turkey breast (I like nice even numbers… “.3”???)
  • 1/3 cup chopped onions
  • 3 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp ancho chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Country Bob’s Sauce
  • 1/4 cup of egg beaters

The burgers were moist and flavorful and cooked up super quick on the griddler. I have four leftover burgers, and I know what’s for lunch tomorrow! Tonight, I had my burger on an Arnold’s sandwich thin with some chipotle cheddar and mustard. On the side, I had a quick microbaked potato with butter spray, salt and pepper. I also had some of the pretty lettuce from Saturday’s market topped with a little salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar. The lettuce is so good that it doesn’t need much in the way of dressing. It was a tasty dinner, and a very filling one!

I followed it up with a So Delicious Neapolitan Mini-Ice cream sandwich. It was 90 calories of deliciousness! I love these!!

So Delicious!After my quick dessert, I went to work out with my trainer and then to do some cardio. I burned 625 calories this evening, and had a good workout even though I wasn’t really in the mood when I made myself go to the gym. This was one of those days when I had to make myself get moving, but found that I really enjoyed my workout once I got started. Since the weather is warm, we went out and lunge walked up the big hill behind my building. I hadn’t really missed the hill during the cold months, but it was satisfying to find that it was easier tonight than it had been when we moved our lunges indoors back at the beginning of the winter. πŸ™‚

Goat's Milk Ice Cream LoveSpeaking of satisfying, my sweet tooth was in all out crazy mode this evening. I had a bowl of LaLoo’s Vanilla Snowflake goat’s milk ice cream topped with berries and a few chocolate chips after the gym. I followed that up with this:

The Final Snackdown

Three little reduced fat nilla wafers, topped with some of the Brunette praline spread I bought at brunch on Sunday, and the last piece of the Theo’s coconut curry chocolate bar made for a yummy little plate of nibbles. I think my sweet tooth has finally gone to sleep for the night. Speaking of sleep, it’s time for me to head to bed too.Β 

Before I go, if you haven’t entered the giveaway for Sweetie Pie’s Prize Pack, do it now!! You have until midnight on Friday. I can’t wait to send a big box of foods I love to the lucky winner!

I also wanted to mention that Bella is having a giveaway that you should check out!

Have a great humpday! Ciao for now, bloggie friends! πŸ™‚

17 Comments

Filed under Bananas, Chocolate, cooking, diet, Fitness, Food, Pineapple, Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

17 responses to “Afternoon Oatmeal: Habit Forming?

  1. Erin

    What a delicious looking day. I’ve never tried the blueberry z-bar, but I do love the brownie one!
    I don’t have any clockwork snack rituals right now, but when I was a freshmen I would always take those individual oatmeal packets from the Dining Hall and eat one at midnight (I had unhealthy sleep habits). Every night. Maybe it’s just oatmeal thats habit forming!
    My current oats are certainly much better, but I’ll always have a special place for the packets of Maple and Brown Sugar.

  2. My freezer gets to be such a huge mess too! I have so much stuff in the side drawer, time to use stuff up! I love those mini So Delicious sandwiches too.

  3. Hahaha, that is one neat freezer!!

  4. I love before and after shots! What a big diff.! I love how you’ve now stood the boxes on the door and the little shelf up vertically. It looks like they take up a LOT less room that way, and you can actually see what they are.

  5. Great organisation skills πŸ™‚

  6. your freezer looks amazing! mine looks like the “before” picture πŸ™‚

    I really wish I could find that ice cream here – it sounds so good!

  7. I love the PB blobs in the center of your apples! Yum πŸ™‚

    NICE freezer!! As a Type A, I admire your organizational skills!

  8. What a great job on the freezer clean up, my boyfriend and I just went through the same hassle. We found lots of goodies that had hidden themselves in the back of the freezer!

    Question-I live just outside of DC, which Farmers Market do you go to (if that isnt too personal of a question). Most of the ones out my way havent started up yet, or I havent found the right ones perhaps πŸ˜€ Oh and howdy neighbor!

  9. Good for you for taming the freezer beast!

    My only snack habit seems to be that I need a substantial one around 3-4 pm. I don’t have any one in particular I rely on, but I do better if it involves protein.

  10. I LOVE turkey burgers. I eat them all the time! Yours look divine! And I ryhmed!

    How do you like that protien powder? Could it go in baked goods? I was going to whip up muffins for Ben for breakfast and wanted to see if I could add some protien and fiber….

    • You know, I haven’t tried it in baked goods. That’s an awesome question! I’ll have to keep an eye out and see if I come across anyone who’s added a bit to their goodies. It seems like it should work, but I couldn’t say for sure…

  11. Those sandwich thins that you use for your turkey burger look so good! I’m going to have to see if we have those in my area.

    The freezer looks magnificent! So well organized! It really inspires me to set up some organization in my own. (Although my freezer doesn’t have as much in it as yours does, it still needs some TLC).

    P.S. – Thanks for the shout out about the giveaway!

  12. afternoon oatmeal is such a good idea. i love my oats so much, but i get stuck in the idea that they’re only for breakfast. not so! i need to branch out.

    i usually end up having my yogurt/fruit snack every morning around 10:30, and it holds me perfectly until lunch πŸ™‚

  13. p.s. i’m so impressed with what you’ve done with the freezer πŸ™‚

  14. What a great idea to have a picnic outside, I also freeze in my office, why does it have to be so cold!

    I work right across the street from a park, so I have to do that once its warm out.

    I have a freezer jungle going on right now, so I am proud of yours! I have had heavy items hit me in the foot as I open the door. Every once and a while I will do the same thing and just eat out of the freezer and see what happens!

    It sounds like you had a great day!

  15. Your freezer looks great!

    My snack standby is a nonfat latte (hot in the winter, iced in the summer). The milk gives me much needed protein and calcium, the coffee gives me a much appreciated caffeine buzz and the overall taste is very satisfying and is the one thing that banishes any blooming chocolate craving–even though there’s no chocolate in it.

  16. WOW, so many great ideas…love it! Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

