The Work Week Returns…

Banana Bran Scone BrekkieGood evening everyone! I hope you had a great Monday. I was a bit sad to be back at my desk instead of out enjoying festive brunches, but I made due with some pretty tasty eats. Before heading off to work, I had one of my banana wheat bran scones with some berries and a tiny dollop of Greek yogurt sweetened with honey. A scone alone would never fill me up! I want to give you a little review of my own “product”: I’m not a huge fan of these scones. It could be that they aren’t very sweet (as a scone really shouldn’t be that sweet), and I needed to add jam. It might be the taste of the wheat bran. These scones are fine, but they Β don’t rock my socks off. I just thought I’d pass that along in case you were considering making a batch. Since I knew I needed more protein if I was going to stay full until lunch, I also had an ugly, but satisfying smoothie along with my cup of skim milk, coffee and sugar free Torani.

One Ugly Mug!In the smoothie:

1 packet of chocolate Weight Watchers smoothie mix

28 grams of spinach

1 cup of almond dreams unsweetened almond milk

a pinch of cinnamon

It may be ugly, but it made up for its looks with some tasty staying power!

When lunchtime rolled around, I had a lunch that reminded me of the kind of plate you might find yourself with after a trip to a family style buffet like the Golden Corral or Sizzler:
Lunchy LunchWhat do I mean by that? These things don’t really “go” together. I recall many trips to the buffet where I would return to my seat with some salad, mashed potatoes, lasagna, perhaps an egg roll, a tiny taco and, well, you get the point. I used to love buffets like that, by the way. Now– not so much. I had the last of my leftover Buitoni mushroom pasta with asparagus and spring onions, along with some Tribe chipotle hummus, veggies and a little cup of green tea chai pudding. Kind of weird, right? I do hate to waste food, and this is what I came up with out of the fridge this morning. It was good despite being a bit mismatched!Β 

CrunchyliciousI decided that I needed some Fiber One crunch in my little cup of pudding today. I’ve been cutting back on fiber a bit, but it really does keep me full. Facts is facts. After that, I had one of these:

Crunchie!!!I had my first Cadbury Crunchie bar a couple of years ago when some friends, who were living in London at the time, brought a bag of mini crunchies along on our vacation in Italy. I think I might have emptied out the bag. I found them to be completely addictive. Yikes! I’ve since found them in D.C., and I like to keep a few around. The bag stays securely in the drawer and I enjoy one from time to time like a reasonable and sane person rather than a Crunchie schnarfing lunatic!

Honey LoveLook at the crispy honeycomb goodness. It tastes kind of like the burnt sugar on the top of a creme brulee… wrapped in milk chocolate. If you’ve never tried one, don’t!! πŸ™‚ I find that having a little treat like this one after lunch leaves me feeling satisfied longer and I’m less likely to reach for other snacks as quickly. Maybe it’s a mental game, but I’ve found it to be true for me. I did eventually look for another snack, and I found a herd of stick turtles lumbering across my desk:

A Herd of TurtlesVanilla wafers topped with PB and bite sized prunes is one of my new favorite little snacks. The sad little stick legs and contextual “art” are optional!

Feeling a bit of an afternoon slump coming on, I ate this little pack of Sunkist fruit snacks that a friend gave me the other day. I’m not usually a huge gummy candy/fruit snack eater, but these really hit the spot! I got past my slump and was able to move along faster than my herd of turtles. Are you a fruity/gummy candy eater or does your taste usually turn in a different direction? I enjoy the occasional gummy worm, starburst, fangtastic or sour patch kid, but I usually prefer chocolate or caramel myself.

Chewy Fruit GoodiesI was really hungry by five o’clock, but it wasn’t time to go home yet. “What to eat?” was the question. I had a calorie goal in mind for my snack, and I almost reached for one of the bars in my drawer. After thinking about it for a minute, I realized that I could have a bowl of blueberry almond oatmeal (the target brand… archer farms, maybe?) in about a minute, and it would certainly keep me full much longer. I added a little PB on top because I just really love PB with my oats. What’s not to love about that?!

Afternoon Oatmeal BreakAfter my bowl of oatmeal, I wasn’t hungry for a huge dinner when I got home. I heated up the rest of the black bean taco filling from the other night, and I put it on top of a bunch of beautiful lettuce from the farmer’s market along with some blue tortilla chips, chipotle cheddar (also from the farmer’s market), Greek yogurt (yep, from the market too) and salsa. I often use Greek yogurt in place of sour cream, and I almost think I prefer it at this point!Β 

Taco SaladOf course, I always have room for dessert, and I decided to crack open my new container of LaLoo’s Vanilla Snowflake goat’s milk ice cream. This is really my very favorite vanilla ice cream ever. I can’t explain what it is about this kind that makes it special, but it almost has a frozen custard flavor to it. The vanilla is also impossible to miss. It’s just so good! I had more berries on the side and a little bit of the Brunette praline spread that I bought at brunch yesterday. Berries and cream… YUM!
LaLoo's LoveI was pretty stuffed after all of that, and I decided that, since I had a night off from the gym, I’d watch one of the Netflix selections that has been lingering on top of the television for awhile now. Vicky Christina Barcelona was this evening’s featured film. Have you seen it? I’m still processing my thoughts on that one, but they seem to be headed in a positive direction. After the movie, I decided I needed one last snack since I was feeling a little rumbly and I hate trying to fall asleep if I’m hungry. I just finished this little bowl of Quaker Corn Bran cereal topped with a splash of almond milk. Now, I’m nice and full again and ready to head to bed!

Cereal Snacker

Before I go, I want to remind you to enter my 100th post giveawayΒ if you haven’t already. I think the jar of Dark Chocolate Dreams PB alone is worth posting a comment for a chance to win, but then, I might be partial to all of the things in Sweetie Pie’s Prize Pack! πŸ™‚Β 

I also wanted to mention a really cool and chocolatey giveaway over at Happy Texans! I always enjoy reading Kelly’s posts so much, and you should check out her site if you haven’t already!

That’s it for me! Maybe I’m now back on track with posting after being a bit behind for the last couple of days. Here’s wishing you a great Tuesday! Ciao for now, bloggie friends!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “The Work Week Returns…

  1. CRUNCHIES ARE MY FAVORITE CHOCOLATE BAR IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!!! And yes, that had to be in capitals. Whenever, ugh… we went trick or treating, I would trade my candy to have a huge stash of them. nom nom nom. =D

  2. I loveee crunchie bars! I haven’t seen one around in forever, but they’re so yummy and unique tasting. I haven’t tried yogurt on salad yet, but I want to, your dinner salad looks wonderful.

  3. Oh, can you throw in a crunchie bar into the giveaway? LOL
    I’ll have to look for those. Yum.

    Your food drawings crack me up. I’m going to have to do my own. They’re too cute. Food should be fun, don’t ya think?

    Guess what certain type of protein powder I found at the store today? I’m looking forward to trying it.

    I have to say that your smoothie looked like swamp water. LOL Chocolate and green don’t look good together. haha

  4. ikkinlala

    I love citrus hard candies and like citrus gummies if they’re naturally flavoured (most companies do a good job of lemon, orange, and grapefruit if it’s available, but not such a good job of lime). I’m not a big fan of most other fruit-flavoured candies.

    I like Crunchies, too, and fortunately they’re widely available here.

  5. I love crunchies. I used to nibble all the chocolate off first, then let the honeycomb melt in my mouth.

  6. I know I’ve told you this before, but I so enjoy your posts! πŸ™‚

  7. ooh, that praline butter stuff sounds so good.

    Do you like adding the spinach to the WW smoothie mixes? I still have a few of the chocolate ones, too, and I’ve thought about adding some, but I haven’t tried it yet.

    I love all candy, pretty much πŸ™‚

  8. Seriously, would you be my personal chef?

    I think you need one of these for your lunches:

    http://www.ilovepeanutbutter.com/detail_40050001__3.html

    I was searching to find out where I could buy that peanut butter and found all sorts of things! Thank you so much for the work you put into your blog. I know it’s time consuming, but your ideas are a big help!

    ~amy

  9. The Greek yogurt reminds me of whipped cream! Using it as a sour cream sub is one of my favorite things to do as well! It’s perfect πŸ™‚

    Haha cute turtles!! I’ve never heard of those Cadbury bars!

  10. ah that scone looks absolutely amazing!!! scones are the best for breakfast πŸ™‚

  11. I have lunches that look like yours a lot πŸ™‚ Just a mish mash of randomness, but things that I really enjoy.

    I’ve been thinking about picking up a magic bullet just for smoothies!

  12. Sarah

    I love crunchie bars! We ate a ton of them on a hiking trip in England. Your breakfast looks fantastic!
    Sarah

  13. How have I missed out on Crunchies?? I love Cadbury chocolates! I’ll have to keep an eye out for some. My cousin is coming to visit from the UK in June — I already told her she can just bring me chocolate for my gift! πŸ™‚

    This probably sounds like a stupid question, but does the goat milk ice cream taste like goat milk? I can’t do goat cheese but ice cream seems like something I might try.

    • Hi, Spice! Definitely ask for some Crunchies. They are so yummy!

      I don’t think it really tastes like goat milk. It’s a little tangy and very smooth, but it has enough ice cream sweetness that I don’t notice anything else. I will say that I love goat cheese so my taste buds might not pick up on whatever it is that makes you dislike the cheese. The texture is just so amazing with such a small amount of fat!

      • Well, if I ever see goat’s milk ice cream I may just have to try it! I tried the coconut milk ice cream a while back and thought it was good, and I usually don’t like things made with coconut milk.

        I’m going to run some errands for my giveaway, so if I see Crunchies I’ll make sure to pick some up to try.

  14. Love your thumb ring! And who doesn’t love oatmeal?

  15. Your prune/cracker animals made me laugh out loud. Too funny!

    And I had almond blueberry oatmeal for breakfast this morning too. Although I made mine with steel cut oats. I can’t handle the texture of rolled oats.

  16. EnglishGarden

    Cadbury Crunchies look wonderful but I do not believe I have ever had one. Probably not to be found here.

    The choco-green smoothie- not so sure about. I did see the Magic Bullet at Wal Mart, however, might be a thought.

  17. Amy

    Excoooooooose! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

