Ambrosiabix?

Have you noticed how most of my posts seem to start with breakfast cookies or bowls of oat bran? Well, hold on to your hat! I had a different kind of day today, and it started with breakfast.

I replenished my stock of Bruce’s sweet potato pancake mix at the Fresh Market on Sunday, and the bag has been tempting me all week. This morning, I decided it was time. I had a couple of pancakes topped with a PB2 and sugar free maple syrup mixture and another little drizzle of syrup. Yum! Peanut butter on pancakes rocks!! On the side, I had a quick scrambled egg beater and the rest of my berries. There is a lot of red on my plate, and I loved every bite!

Blue Plate Breakfast In addition to eating some different things today, I also had a new and different gadget on my counter.

Magic in a BoxAfter reading about all of the green monster smoothies on various blogs, and after hearing people talk about their magic bullets, I checked the magic bullet out on line. An “As Seen On TV” product in my kitchen seemed like an unlikely addition, but it seems that they have taken care of a few of the things I really hate about making smoothies in the blender. 1.) I hate trying to get the last bits out of the bottom of the blender and into my glass. 2.) I hate that I only have one blender container that is often much larger than the smoothie. 3.) I hate how annoying it is to clean all of the blender’s various parts. Since you blend the smoothie in the glass you drink it out of, and since there are a bunch of different sized glasses in the box, it seemed like the perfect thing to me. I got it out of the box today, and I made this:

Green Monster... RAWR!My first green smoothie!! I mixed up 1/2 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, 50 grams of spinach, an ice cube and a packet of weight watchers chocolate smoothie mix. I bought a ton of ww smoothie mixes on-line, and I need to use them up and make more room in the pantry for Jay Robb! πŸ™‚ Could I taste the spinach? Not at all. Amazing! The magic bullet worked like a charm, and the smoothie was really yummy. I’ll definitely be making more of these!! I’m just sad that my box didn’t include a dvd of the infomercial. It provided me with several minutes of quality entertainment when I watched it on-line! Hee hee.Β 

When lunchtime rolled around, I only had one thing on my mind: melted cheese. Instead of having my usual naan pizza, I decided to see if I could make a good pizza using an Arnold’s sandwich thin, Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce, and some of my smoked mozzarella.

Lunchy LunchThe cheese was good (duh!), but the sandwich thin got soggy. 😦 The naan definitely makes a better crust, although it is also 80 more calories than the sandwich thin. I guess that’s what they call a trade-off. Even so, my hankering for a melty hunk of cheese was satisfied, and I had a bowl of Campbell’s Select Harvest Light Italian Style Vegetable Soup to go with it. When I want something filling, the answer is often soup!

What comes after lunch? Well, lunch dessert, of course! The Easter bunny AKA my friend, Cherie, tucked a very interesting bar of chocolate into the thoughtful Easter basket she gave me when I spent Easter at her home, and I was so excited to try it!Β 

Coconut Curry ConcoctionI generally think it’s hard to go wrong with Theo’s chocolate products, and I rarely meet a coconut product that I don’t like. Β I LOVE coconut, and I love curry, but how would I like them together… and in chocolate…? I liked them. I liked them a lot. In fact, I’d say this was a pretty amazing bar! The bar has nice coconut bits throughout, and you can definitely taste the curry. Add chocolate to that combo, and wow. Thanks Easter bunny!! There are also some bits and pieces of vanilla wafer on the plate along with a little dark chocolate dreams PB. This was a tasty little plate for sure!

After I cleaned out the rest of the crumbs from the vanilla wafer jar, I needed to refill it. Sweetie Pie, you have a vanilla wafer jar? Well, sort of.

Papaw's Vanilla Wafer JarThis jar used to live in the kitchen at my grandparents’ house, and it has held many tasty things during its life. Sometimes it had homemade cookies in it, but often it was full of humble vanilla wafers. My papaw loved them, and he’d nibble on them when he just needed a bite of something sweet. I just think the jar looks “right” with vanilla wafers in it, and I’m happy to have it sitting on my cabinet at the ready if my sweet tooth starts to holler!

Here’s where my snacks take a turn that I thought was kind of funny. My fruit bowl has been emptied out this week, and I’m hoping to fill it up with things from Saturday’s farmer’s market. In the meantime, I decided to see what kind of fruit was in the pantry. I had a can of mandarin oranges in light syrup, and I decided to drain off the sticky syrup and mix the oranges into a bowl of Blue Ridge Dairy Greek yogurt.

Step OneMy plan was to mix up a big bowl, but not to eat it all at once. In fact, I planned to just have some on a Weetabix, which I did.

Ambrosiabix?While I was eating the Weetabix, I realized that this combination really reminded me of tasty ambrosia. Ambrosiabix? Β The only thing missing was coconut. So…

Step TwoI had a little bowl about an hour later with some coconut on top. I was loving this combo!! When I got hungry again, the thought process went something like this:

“What do I want?”

“Hmm… there is about half a bowl of that ambrosia stuff left in the fridge.”

“But, you’ve already had that twice. Don’t you want something different?”

“If I add a couple of vanilla wafers, then it will be different.”

“Good point! You are so right! Let’s do it!”

Step ThreeYes, I do sometimes have conversations like that with myself. That’s normal, right? So, I ate the rest and ended with this:

Operation Empty The Bowl is CompleteI would really recommend this combination if you are looking for something light, bright and lovely. It was also a great way to make use of a pantry item. I love doing that! I have one more can of oranges that has been in my desk drawer at work for awhile now, and it will be on its way back home with me tomorrow so that I can make some more of my little ambrosia concoction! Maybe I won’t kid myself next time, and I’ll just sit down with the big bowl and a spoon.Β 

What’s your favorite thing to add to Greek yogurt? Apparently, mine is coconut and oranges. πŸ™‚

There was nothing unusual about dinner. It was a rerun, but a delicious one! I had more of last night’s black bean tacos.

Din DinIf you happen to be on Weight Watchers and you’ve never tried Pepito’s corn tortillas, you might want to check them out. Two of them are only one point, and they are really good. My store keeps them in the refrigerator case. You can do so many things with them, and I almost always have some in the fridge.

I followed up my dinner with a piece of chocolate banana snack cake and some Strawberry Darling LaLoo’s goats milk ice cream. Yep, I had that for dessert last night too. It was awesome yesterday, it was awesome tonight, and I’m planning on finishing off the ice cream with another piece of cake tomorrow night. I’m sure it will be… awesome! I do love my cake and ice cream!! πŸ™‚

Dessert!After dessert, I went to the gym to work out with my trainer and then to do some cardio. Tonight’s workout burned around 620 calories according to the heart rate monitor. We did some core exercises that we haven’t done in awhile, and I could really tell that my body had gotten out of the habit of doing them. I know that’s good, but it wasn’t the most pleasant thing. Ouch! I’ll be feeling it tomorrow for sure! After my workout, I tried my last new thing for the day. I had a cinnamon roll Larabar. This was one of those things that I always left on the shelf when I was counting points. I still think 200 calories is a little bit hefty for a bar, but I enjoyed it so I think it was well worth the “expense.”

LarabarOne more day of work to go and only a couple of more posts until I give you the scoop on my 100th post giveaway. Tomorrow, I’m planning to tell you how the scale has treated me with my switch from counting points to counting calories. I’m looking forward to all of it!

Now, as usual, I’m off to bed. Ciao for now, and I hope you have the best Friday ever!!

21 Comments

Filed under Beans, Cake, Chocolate, diet, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Washington, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

21 responses to “Ambrosiabix?

  1. I love my magic bullet green monsters so much — they are so easy to make and to pop the blade and cup into the dishwasher after.

  2. MMMMmmmmm everything looks great! And peanut butter on pancakes? Awesome idea! And nice on the magic bullet!

  3. I sometimes get sucked into infomercials, too!

    I love the vanilla wafer jar. Having recently lost my Grammy, I really appreciate hearing stories and seeing “heirlooms” like that in others lives. πŸ™‚

  4. I just love your blog so much. You try so many things that I’ve never even heard of before. Sweet potato pancakes? Exotic chocolates? Just love it. I look forward to your eats every day. πŸ™‚ I’d love to follow you around for a couple of days and try everything. LOL

    I’m going to look for those tortillas. I LOVE taco chicken wrapped in corn tortillas.

  5. It’s always mouth watering to see someone eat pancakes. Did you have more time to spare this morning in order to make these? Do tell to what led to the switch.

    I’m so happy to see your Bullet review! I have a very handy blender, but I always make too much and end up wasting my smoothie because I can’t finish it. And like you said, there is a lot more cleaning with all the different parts from a traditional blender.

    I can’t justify buying the Bullet (or the knock-off version) at the moment, but maybe I’ll put it on my wishlist as well. Congrats on an awesome addition to your kitchen!

  6. I’m glad you liked your first green smoothie πŸ™‚ Um, I totally want a Magic Bullet now. I’ve seen them on so many blogs but have never seen the whole SET! That is awesome.
    I think my favorite thing to put with Greek yogurt is Kashi Go Lean Crunch cereal! They just GO together!

  7. You can’t go wrong with Greek yogurt and granola with chopped/mashed banana!

  8. Wow – look what have done to the humble weetbix. I am very impressed! It actually looks tasty!

    What great eats πŸ™‚

  9. umm….I talk to myself like that all the time πŸ™‚

    Love the vanilla wafer jar – and what a fun story it has!

    Those sweet potato pancakes sound awesome. I don’t go to the Fresh Market very often, but I’ll have to keep that on my list!

  10. Alyssa

    Just discovered your blog–and the fact that it is addictive. I secretly have had a MB for over a year and never used it. Hmmm, maybe I’ll open the box b/c smoothie season is here…

  11. I have watched the Magic Bullet commercials this last week while sick at home. They are compelling. Seeing your post I am more compelled than ever. *Must-save-money* πŸ™‚

  12. I can’t believe I never thought of peanut butter on cupcakes! That’s the best thing ever!

    And now I’ve got to find those corn tortillas…

  13. LOVE Jay Robb- best tasting protein powders around! I also couldn’t be without my awesome magic bullet! My gma use to always make ambrosia when I was little- sooooo good

  14. That’s so cool you have your grandmother’s jar with all its sweet memories (yes, I punned on purpose).

    I’m enjoying your Weetabix concoctions! I never thought to eat it dry as a base for stuff, I’ve always just mushed it into my milk.

  15. eats look DELISH! I love that nilla wafer jar! — adorable πŸ˜‰

  16. What a tasty breakfast!!

    I love that jar!! Very cool! My favorite things to add to Greek yogurt: Vitatops, fruit, Kashi Crunch, cinnamon, and canned pumpkin (not all together though!)

  17. I think the moment my blender breaks down I’ll switch overr to Magic bullet. The smoothie and the breakfast looks so delicious!

  18. I meant pancakes. Not cupcakes. Duh!

    And I had waffles for dinner! Yum!

  19. Erin

    I’m glad you went for the Bullet. I absolutely love mine. I use it a ridiculous number of times a day. Also, TV infomercials frighten me and I almost didn’t buy it because it’s one of those, haha! But, this one is definitely a winner. I hate hate cleaning blenders, and my laziness kept me from actually drinking smoothies before now. I think you’ll really love it!

  20. Yay for green smoothies and Lara Bars πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    Kristen

Leave a Reply

