Wacky Taco Wednesday

Hi! Well, we are one day closer to the weekend, and I’m so ready. I had a great time in Williamsburg last weekend, but I still haven’t gotten caught up on my usual weekend tasks. I guess I get more done during my weekends than I realized!

It was raining when I got up this morning, and I was happy to have this sunshine on a plate in the fridge:

Brekkie

I had my usual breakfast cookie with a big pile of berries. On the side, I had coconut tea with a mix of sugar free chocolate and almond syrups, unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, and skim milk. The shiny bullet to the side is the thermos I took to work containing more of the same. I love getting to work in the morning with a big thermos of tea ready to hit my mug. I love anything with coconut, and this tea is one of my faves!

Remember the Green and Black’s bar I’ve been eating for weeks now? During the day, I reduced the last pieces to this:

All GoneNo worries! The Easter bunny gave me a tasty bar (involving coconut, no less), and it is next on the list of chocolatey treats. I can’t wait to try it tomorrow!ย 

The morning sped by, and it was lunchtime before I knew it. I finished off something else today: my succotash! It was good, but I’m glad to have it out of the fridge. I put the rest of the succotash and the leftover chicken from last night’s dinner in a little bowl with some Country Bob’s sauce this morning, so all I had to do was pop it in the micro for a little zap and then dump it into my big bowl with some spinach and some smoked mozzarella. Instant salad!

LunchI should have snapped a photo before I shook it all up because all of the good stuff is in the bottom of the bowl. It was yummy, and pretty filling too! After that, I tried a strawberry Chobani along with my usual side of Zoe’s granola:

Miss Zoe ChobaniJust to recap my Chobani experiences, I tried the peach and thought the goo was too sweet and goopy. I tried the honey, and I thought it was really good. I appreciated the fact that the honey was already mixed in, and there was no gloppy goo to stir in. The strawberry… well… I’m not a fan of the strawberry goo either. It wasn’t bad, but I think I’d prefer my strawberry Greek yogurt to be sweetened with some strawberry jam and fresh berries. There would be less goo and more flavor. Still, this will do in a pinch.

I wanted something else after this, but I couldn’t figure out what it was that I was craving. I hate when this happens. As I see it, there are several options. I could distract myself and hope that the craving would pass. I could eat a bunch of things hoping to land on the “right” food to feel satisfied, which is NOT a very good approach from a caloric standpoint. I could also eat something filling in the hopes that I will feel full enough to stop craving anything else. That’s what I decided to do today. I went searching through my desk drawer stash, and decided on a bowl of midday oatmeal with some peanut butter.

Midday OatmealI had a bowl of Quaker weight control banana bread oatmeal with Bee’s Knees peanut butter. I sometimes find that a bowl of oats like this will take care of a craving for baked goods, while providing a bit of extra positive nutrition. It definitely filled me up, but I figured out that chocolate was the thing I really wanted around the time I reached the bottom of the bowl. Luckily, I had a Hershey’s miniature Krackel in the desk drawer.

KrackeliciousDone. Whew! I was finally satisfied. Needless to say, I didn’t get hungry for quite some time. I also had a pretty busy afternoon, which kept me too occupied to snack. When I did decide to have a bite of something, I decided to go a little crazy with my usual peanut butter and vanilla wafer snacks.

Pruneston NapkintonMeet Mr. Pruneston Napkinton. I’ve been in a goofy mood all day. What can I say?! ๐Ÿ™‚ I stuck a bite sized prune on the top of each little PB topped wafer, and it gave it a PB&J flavor. Yummy! They looked like eyeballs to me, so I decided to play with my food a little bit. ย Getting creative with what’s in the desk drawer can be fun and tasty too. If you don’t keep a stash at work, I’d highly recommend it. It takes some of the pressure off when planning out snacks for the day if I know that there are plenty of healthy choices close at hand!

When I got home, I decided to whip up something new for dinner using pantry items as well as a couple of peppers and some cilantro I picked up at the Fresh Market on my way out of the ‘burg on Sunday with a different dish in mind. I also had some black beans, the chipotle cheddar I bought at the farmer’s market a couple of Saturdays ago and some Pepito’s corn tortillas in the fridge. This is so easy, it almost doesn’t merit writing out the recipe, but it was really good so I decided to just go ahead and tell you what was in it. It could obviously be varied in lots of ways, but this could be a quick and easy start for a worknight taco meal.ย 

Quick and Tasty

Worknight Black Bean Tacos

Ingredients:

1/2 tsp. olive oil

1 cup onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 cup any color bell pepper, chopped

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. chili powder

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed

8 6″ corn tortillas

4 ounces grated sharp cheddar, chipotle cheddar or pepperjack cheese

salsa

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet. Saute the onion and garlic for three minutes. Add the bell pepper, cumin and chili powder and saute for three minutes more. Add the cilantro and the beans, and cook for about 5 minutes over medium heat, until beans are heated through.

Divide the bean mixture and cheese among the tortillas. Top with salsa and enjoy!

This makes 4 servings

TacoliciousThese were pleasantly spicy, and the creamy texture of the beans with the melty smoothness of the cheese made for a cozy and filling dish. All I can say is yum. I’m also happy because I have leftovers. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m already thinking that I’d like the bean mixture in an omelette or on a naan pizza if I get bored with the tacos. I love versatile things like this! The beans could be a side dish too, for that matter.ย 

So, of course, dessert came after dinner. YAY!! I had a piece of chocolate banana snack cake from the freezer alongside some LaLoo’s Strawberry Darling goat’s milk ice cream. The real cake and ice cream action made me one happy girl!ย 

BlissI just got back from the gym (617 calories burned this evening), and I had a camera shy Chex Turtle bar. I think I’m out of those now. They were really good. I might need more!! I may have another little nibble of something, but I’m basically done for the day. It’s time for me to make my evening tea and get myself to bed so that I’ll be nicely rested for Thursday.ย 

I really enjoyed my tacos this evening, and I realized that I’ve never made black bean tacos. There are so many taco varieties. What do you like in your taco??

Ciao for now, bloggies, and have a very happy Thursday! Only two more posts to go before post #100 and my giveaway announcement. I’m excited. I can’t wait!! See you all tomorrow!

18 Comments

Filed under Beans, Cake, cooking, diet, Food, Greek Yogurt, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

18 responses to “Wacky Taco Wednesday

  1. Love your tacos, I have a can of black beans lying around so I may have to whip these up! I like tons of veggies and beans in my taco…lately I’ve been doing without the cheese.

  2. Erin

    Yummy tacos and dessert.
    I did an easy Mexican meal myself tonight. Black beans are so good!

  3. Those tacos look great! I’m a big fan of fish tacos using grilled tilapia, shredded cabbage, a squeeze of fresh lime, salsa (especially pineapple or some other fruit salsa) and diced avocado.

    Oh–and those organic black and green bars ARE good. I really like the dark chocolate orange one and find that one little 18 calorie square can cure my chocolate cravings if I let it melt in my mouth.

  4. The b-fast cookie looks amazing!

  5. yum, that bar looks great and the tacos!

    I love fish tacos.

    I also love to have avocado and fresh cilantro in tacos.

  6. Those tacos looks so good. The tortillas! Yum.

    I had taco soup last night. Great taco flavor but with a spoon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the prune-eyed snack. haha

  7. The strawberries!! It’s giving me ideas for the massive package I have in my fridge!

    Haha love the face ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Whooooaaa, those strawberries make me want to have some! And yes, love your tacos! Love beans!!!

  9. I have a whole container of leftoever black beans left, so this is one great recipe for me! I’ve been having these cravings for mexican food…
    I like to pile on the cheese though! haha!

  10. your brekkie looks great!! have you tried the blueberry chobz? i think thats my fave…although ill admit i DO like the strawberry ๐Ÿ™‚

    ps just discovered your blog, love it!!

  11. I am so in awe of your chocolate rationing skillz! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Love your taco mixture (sans onions!). It would be really good in an egg white omelet!

    I love avocado and white corn in my tacos – I could basically eat tacos every day and never get sick of them! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. I LOVE tacos! Esp. black bean tacos. They’re so good….

    I really like your idea of oatmeal supplementing for baked goods. I’m going to try that!

    And why not be a pie princess now? We can be one together!

  14. Thanks for sharing your taco recipe! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    LOOOVE Mr. Pruneston Napkinton – YOU ARE TOO CUTE ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. innerwellness

    Gotta love tacos! Thanks for the recipe

  16. scrumptious breakkie cookie! so pretty with those strawberries! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Pingback: Ambrosiabix? « Just Sweet Enough

  18. Your tacos look GREAT, so easy and healthy! Fresh cilantro is key, I’ve learned…it makes everything taste good.

Leave a Reply

