Back On Track

More Tulips!

Hi everybody! I hope you had a great Tuesday! I’m feeling much better after a couple of days of “back to normal” eating, that’s for sure. Thanks for all of the comments on yesterday’s post. I really do love Williamsburg, and I had a great time writing about some of my favorite places. πŸ™‚ I decided that I’d post another tulip picture because I took a bunch! The dark ones and the red and white striped ones are two of my favorites!

Today’s eats are about as normal as it gets, with the exception of the fact that I didn’t do a full grocery shopping trip this weekend, and I didn’t make a “big batch” food for my lunches. As you will see in a minute, that isn’t a big problem… yet. First things first, I started off the day with a breakfast cookie:

BrekkieI made this one with 1/3 cup oats, 15 grams of Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder, 16 grams of nut butter, and a bunch of cinnamon. I topped it with 1 Tbsp. of chocolate PB2 mixed with 1 Tbsp. of sugar free maple syrup and 1/2 Tbsp. of cocoa powder. That made for a pretty tasty frosting! Of course, you can barely see it since I covered it in a ton of strawberries. I bought a big container of berries at the Fresh Market on Sunday, and some of them are already getting mushy. I’m trying to use them up, but some of them may end up in the freezer. 😦

I snacked on some more of my Green and Black’s milk chocolate toffee bar during the morning and afternoon. I think I’ve now been eating this bar for three weeks. It’s good, and it’s almost gone. I don’t need a lot of chocolate to satisfy my chocolate tooth, so chipping away at a bar works pretty well for me. Plus, if I bring a few pieces to work and leave the rest of the bar at home, nibbling on it all day isn’t really an option!

Green and Black's... againΒ So, I mentioned that the lack of a big batch wasn’t a problem yet. Why? I’m still eating succotash. I’ve been loving it, but I’ll be glad to eat the rest of it tomorrow. I rarely complain about leftovers, but I feel like I’ve been eating this forever! I wasn’t sure how it would do in the freezer so I’ve just been nibbling away at it bit by bit. I had it for lunch along with some tuna salad on light rye wasa crisps.

Lunchy LunchI also had a container of honey flavored Chobani with Zoe’s cinnamon raisin granola mixed in.

Honey ChobaniI wasn’t the biggest fan of the peach Chobani because of the overly sweet peachy goo, but the honey is already mixed in to this one, so there’s no goo in the bottom. It was just sweet enough, and it tasted more like my Greek yogurt typically does when I sweeten it myself. It’s a winner! I’ll definitely buy it again.

Later on, I snacked on some vanilla wafers topped with PB&Co. The Bee’s Knees peanut butter. Yum! Vanilla wafers are perfect if you want a little bite of cookie, and they are amazing topped with PB (but then… most things are amazing topped with PB…).

Snicky SnackLater in the day, I had an apple. I kind of forgot to take a picture, so you are just going to see the evidence.

BustedI hate red delicious apples, but I like Macintosh apples pretty well if they are still quite fresh and crisp. This one was pretty good. It was followed by three little candies that a friend shared with me, but I was too busy eating them to take a picture. πŸ™‚ They were little pineapple mango fruit pectin gel candies from Safeway, and they were about the size of gum drops. The pineapple mango flavor was tasty and satisfied my craving for a little bite of something sweet for a little while. Then, I had this:

Crisp!I was excited to try these fruit crisps, and I bought them in both the berry and apple cinnamon flavors months ago. I’m still eating them, and I don’t think I will be buying more when I run out. They are perfectly tasty, but they don’t have any substance. They really don’t have much nutritional punch at all, and that makes them a bad choice, in my opinion, as far as bars go. They were fine for a little something sweet, but I knew it wasn’t really going to help with any hunger issues. I also ate the last two little wafers in the bag, sans PB this time.

Right before I left work, I had a blurry date with some blurry peanut butter:

Blurry FoodHe just wouldn’t be still to have his picture taken. I blame the blur on his fidgeting. Meanwhile, I believe this is peanut butter installment number three of the day. πŸ™‚

When I got home, I was hungry and wanted something quick. I had taken another chicken breast out of the freezer jungle to thaw, so I cut it into strips, sprinkled it with a citrus pepper seasoning mix and then tossed it on the griddler. I also put a potato in the microwave. This evening’s “blue plate special” included the chicken– topped with some Country Bob’s sauce, the potato– topped with some Greek yogurt, salt and pepper, and a few little steamed veggies.

Din DinIt was a quick, saucy and satisfying dinner, but it wasn’t nearly as exciting to me as dessert (shocker!). Since I finished off my big container of Edy’s slow churned, I was able to open a fresh container of ice cream. This happens to be one of my all time ice cream favorites!!Β 

LaLoo'sThe first time I bought LaLoo’s goat’s milk ice cream, it was totally on a whim. I figured that I loved goat’s milk cheeses, so why not try goat’s milk ice cream? I’ve been a devoted fan ever since. They carry it at my local Whole Foods, and I haven’t tried a flavor that I haven’t loved. The texture is SUPER creamy, and the nutritional information is amazing. One half a cup of the Strawberry Darling is 130 calories and 5 grams of fat, but you will swear that it should be more! The Vanilla Snowflake flavor is my favorite vanilla ice cream ever and the Black Mission Fig is amazing! The fig competes with the Strawberry Darling for first place in my book. This lovely ice cream features the combo of strawberries and balsamic vinegar. Heaven! I had some on a vita top for a little “cake” and ice cream action:

So Good!!I included a link to LaLoo’s website, because I thought it might be a fun link to share. It sounds like they have a lot of happy goats and good practices, which I appreciate.Β 

After dessert, I headed off to the gym to workout with my trainer and then to do cardio. I burned 600 calories. Woo hoo! After that, I needed one last snack. I thought about what I could have, and realized that I was truly hungry. This wasn’t a situation where a tasty little bar was going to do the trick. Instead, I opted for a very bland looking bowl of oat bran with the last installment of PB for the day:

Oat Brannie SnackIt’s not pretty, but, if you are a fan of oat bran you know that it was tasty. I added a bit of sugar free English Toffee Torani to sweeten it up, along with some cinnamon for spice. Now, I’m nice and full again, and I’m ready to head to bed with my tea. Before I go:

Tina is having a granola giveaway over at Carrots ‘n Cake.

Speaking of giveaways, this is my very own post #96, and I’ll be announcing an exciting giveaway in post #100 as a way to celebrate. I picked a few things up over the weekend, and I think you’ll like what I have for the winner. I can’t wait to tell you about it… but I will. πŸ™‚

I hope to make a new recipe soon, but I’m so disorganized after being gone for a few days. I hope you don’t mind a few days of basic food journaling! It’s helpful to me, and, hopefully, interesting to you. Ciao for now, bloggies and have a great hump day!!

13 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

13 responses to “Back On Track

  1. Oh wow, everything looks great!
    And I love love love tulips! Such a beautiful picture!

  2. The succatash still looks yummy! Everytime I see it, it puts me in the mood for edamame. I bought a big bag in the freezer section for .80c and just microwave steam a handful at a time. Great for snacking!

    Pretty tulips! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait until we get some green and vegetation around here! The trees haven’t even started blooming yet. Booo.

  3. Ooh la la. I love the breakfast cookie concept!!

  4. Hola! I wanted to let you know that snack wraps and ice cream are also my guilty pleasures at McD. They are the only two items that I would ever considering eating there.

    Welcome back from your vacay. I liked your Lessons Learned comments from the previous post, it’s very applicable to me too! I will refer to them whenever I’m traveling. I haven’t quite gotten back on track from my vacation eating yet.

  5. I always love looking at your food. It’s slightly exotic to me because you try things I’ve never even heard of like blurry dates and goat milk ice cream. I need to have a field trip to Whole Foods. My closest one is about 40 minutes away though.

  6. Can’t believe you’re almost at 100 posts!! AMAZING!!!

  7. Yum to that “frosting”!! That looks incredible! I love the core picture! I demolish my apples as well!

    You can never have too much peanut butter πŸ˜€

  8. 100 posts is so close – so exciting!

    that ice cream sounds amazing. I love strawberries/balsamic. I have never seen that brand, but I’ll have to start looking for it!

  9. Love the flower shot, it made me smile

  10. M

    Your trip sounds likes so much fun!
    Thanks for all the terrific ideas from your food journaling. I love it! πŸ™‚
    The reflections from “lessons learned” have such insight.

  11. I have never seen tulips that dark before – I love the color.

    Thank you for the link to the goat’s milk ice cream – it sounds delish, and I can’t wait to try it.

    One of the things I appreciate the most about your food journal blog posts is that you show how eating small portions of delicious food can truly satisfy and still remain weight-loss friendly. It doesn’t have to be all about boiled chicken and broccoli! (shudder). You always give me such great ideas, and often introduce me to some new products that turn out to be my new faves. Thank you!

  12. I’ve got to try that honey PB and those vanilla wafers. They look divine. And I’ve never had goat’s milk ice cream, but you’ve got me curious…

  13. For some reason, this post has me wondering if its dinner time already.

Leave a Reply

