My Experimental Grits

Happy Tuesday! I started the day off with a rather odd bowl of grits. Do you ever have an idea that sounds good in theory, but isn’t the best in reality? I love a fancy cheese course. My ideal cheese course involves some sort of jam or jelly, interesting cheese, nuts, bread, fruit… the usual. This morning I thought I’d try to create a bowl of “cheese course” grits. 

Experimental GritsIf you’ve read one of my posts about grits before, you might remember that I like my grits sweet rather than savory. Since I had a cheese that was studded with fruit, Trader Joe’s Apricot and Raisin Amaretto English Cheese, I thought it might be the best of both worlds. I decided to mix some jam into my grits, and then top it with some crumbled up sweet and savory cheese and some chopped almonds. Ok. Pretend the grits count as bread. We’ve got jam, cheese, nuts, “bread” and…

Hungry For Grapes!… fruit. This is just like a fancy cheese course, right? Um, not so much. It was ok. It was certainly edible, but it isn’t an experiment that I plan to recreate any time soon. I do love cheese and grapes together, so breakfast earned some points for that combo, but otherwise, meh. Ah well. You win some, you just eat some anyway.

Speaking of winning some… my little morning snack was a winner!

All GoneI ate the last six little Cadbury mini eggs. I’m making my way through my Easter treats, and I’m kind of glad that it will be awhile until the next “candy” holiday. In fact, when is the next candy holiday anyway? Christmas?? That can’t be right. How can that be possible? I meant to have them after lunch, but I was craving something sweet and decided it wouldn’t hurt to go ahead and break them out pre-lunch. Speaking of lunch:

Lovely LunchI had a bowl of Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup, another salad tossed with my soybean succotash, feta and chicken sausage, and a new little pudding I found at the grocery store this weekend topped with a crumbled vanilla wafer. 

Green Tea Chai Pudding from Kozy ShackKozy Shack has come out with several flavors of 100 calorie puddings. I believe the packaging mentioned something about probiotics and other such things. I bought it because of the flavor: Green Tea Chai. It didn’t disappoint. I’m happy that I have three more in the fridge. This is certainly no official product review, but I will say that I enjoyed it.

After that, I was still a bit hungry, and I had a peanut butter Gnu bar. I think the cinnamon raisin Gnu bars are still my favorites, and, as far as peanut butter flavored bars go, this one just isn’t my favorite. It does earn points because of the little bird saying “it works!” on the package. Oh dear. Thanks, for the reassurance, bird.

Who Gnu?Late in the day, I finally got around to having the snack I had packed. This morning, I fixed up this little cup of Greek yogurt, and topped it with some honey and a ton of cinnamon. By the time I got around to eating it, the honey had all sunk to the bottom. It was just like a “fruit on the bottom” sort of yogurt. Wow! I didn’t know I had the ability to make one of those. Ha! There is some Zoe’s granola on the side, as usual. I stirred up the yogurt and started eating it, but it just wasn’t doing it for me. I realized that something was missing. That something was…

Honey Love and Zoe's… a pretty chopped up pink lady apple. This snack went from “so so” to “fabulously awesome!” I ended up dipping my apple slices in the yogurt and granola, and it was SOOOO good! I love Pink Lady apples. 🙂

The Lady is a SnackWhen I got home, I wanted something quick. I was tired and hungry and I needed food ASAP! When I feel that way, an omelet is often the answer. Mine is a bit over cooked, but mine usually are. There is also some chipotle Tabasco on the top. Inside the omelet, I put smoked mozzarella, turkey pepperoni and a couple of tablespoons of Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce. I love having a jar of that in the fridge. It’s so helpful when you need just a tiny hit of tomato goodness. I had some of the beautiful farmer’s market lettuce on the side drizzled with a mix of balsamic vinegar and coarse dijon. That lettuce is SO good. I don’t know why it took me so long to try it. It’s beautiful and delicate and so very fresh. It’s also nearly all gone. 😦

Din DinAfter dinner, I had another half of a shortbread cookie, courtesy of my friend, BDK, with a bit of ice cream. These cookies are so good!! Then, I went to the gym. 

Shortbready Goodness!I just had this Chex turtle mix bar as my post gym dessert. I sort of feel entitled to an extra dessert each evening after I get home from the gym. Do you have a favorite post gym snack? 

Chex Turtle BarThanks for telling me about your favorite “snacking” cereals yesterday, by the way. I should get some cocoa puffs! Several people are fans of them. Golden Grahams, TJ’s Honey Macadamia Grainfest, PB Puffins (one of my faves), TJ’s High Fiber O’s and Honey Almond Kashi also made the list. I used to love golden grahams. I may have to visit the cereal aisle for some retro-snacks after I work my way through my current supply!

So that’s about it for me today. Work was busy, and aside from going to work, going to the gym and eating, I haven’t really done anything else. In other words, you’ve heard all about my day now! I do like busy days at work. It’s nice when the day sort of zips by. I definitely prefer that to the days where the clock seems to crawl along at a snail’s pace! 

Now, I’m going to make a cup of bee pollen tea, mix up a breakfast cookie since I’ve missed them the last couple of days, and then I’m going to call it a day. I hope you are all doing well, and having a great week! Ciao for now!

17 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Soy, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

17 responses to “My Experimental Grits

  1. Dipping apple slices in yogurt + granola? Smart idea!!!

  2. I got some great idea from you tonight. I love grits but haven’t had them in so long. I always remember from “My Cousin Vinny” when he says, “what is a grit?” LOL

    Cinnamon in the Greek Yogurt. Why didn’t I think of that?!

    And mmmmm…..I have a weakness for Cadbury mini eggs.

  3. This past Summer we only had plain oats, so I tried to experiment for me and my younger cousins’ sake. It did not work out well, and I ended up adding about a cabinet worth of food to it. haha

    Next candy holiday is…. HALLOWEEN! 🙂 How could you forget?!

  4. I LOOOOVE your eats. Seriuosly, i can’t imagine a more tasty day of food. Everything looks awesome and what a cool way to make fruit on the bottom yogurt. hahahahah 🙂

    Definitely love plain greek yogurt and lots of honey with some granola after workouts! Another fave of mine are fudgesicles. YUMMY!!!! Thanks for sharing the cereal results, I’m totally with ya, PB puffins all the way!!

  5. I am soooo happy that the easter chocolate fest is over! I think I gained a kilo over the last couple of days which is not good…. On top of that the gym was closed so I have to get back on track!

  6. You’ve given me some fantastic ideas! Grits, PB fiber bars (I love the bird saying ‘It works!’) and granola and yogart….I might find tasty ways to eat healthier!

  7. My husband (from SC) introduced me to grits. He has a few unusual likes, the recipes of which I gleaned from relatives. Most are the result of surviving on what’s economical: like rice and grits.

    The grits one is simple: 1 can of salmon, or less expensive mackerel (can) heated and scrambled with four or more eggs, salt and pepper, and served over grits. On occasion I’ve added onion or other veggies, or spices to make it healthier or flavorful. It is not an eye-appealing dish.

    • Carol, I think that sounds quite good! It’s hard to go wrong with grits and eggs, and the addition of the salmon sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe idea!

  8. you had me at cadbury eggs 🙂

    I love pink lady apples, too, and your omelette sounds (and looks) amazing! Why have I never put pepperoni in an omelette?

  9. Commenting backwards, I know. But I had to say that I am definitely going to try your recipe for succotash. I bought a bag of edamame a few weeks ago and tried them steamed with a little S&P but it just didn’t cut it. I like the idea of mixing them up with some other veg and a flavored/healthy sausage.

    Cadbury eggs. mmm. I didn’t have any Easter candy this year, but I’m thinking I may have to make a quick trip to the drug store and buy some discounted Cadbury eggs.

  10. Erin

    I’ve been having a lot of so so breakfast experiments lately. It happens!
    And yes, Halloween!
    Although, that’s a long way off too.
    That yogurt snack looks divine.

  11. Apple dipped in Yogurt with granola..totally love it. Anyways I am addicted to granola these days.

  12. Haha I made the same bird observance on my blog – isn’t it funny!

    That TJs cheese sounds divine!

  13. Maybe I could write an ode to salmon and how I love thee…

  14. I’ve never tried grits before…are they kind of like oatmeal? 🙂
    My favorite post-gym snack is plain yogurt. I read in Women’s Fitness a while ago that it is the best “recovery” snack because of its balance of protein and carbs, and it always settles my stomach without spoiling my next meal!

  15. The omelette looks so good!

    And I really like the yogurt, granola, apple snack!

Leave a Reply

