Back In The Groove… Sort of

Hi! Wow, I’m so glad that Monday is almost over. Mondays are always tough, but it is especially hard to go back to work after a particularly nice weekend. I guess we need the week days in order to really appreciate the weekend. Based on my breakfast, I wasn’t completely ready to get back in the routine groove just yet!

Picnicky BrekkieIf my breakfast is any indication, I was more inclined to pretend I was on a picnic. πŸ™‚ I had the last piece of bran bread from the freezer with some White Chocolate Wonderful PB, a piece of Trader Joe’s Apricot Amaretto English Cheese, and some grapes. I had a skim milk/almond milk tea latte along with it. I wasn’t sure if this would keep me full until lunch, but that bran bread has some sticking power! I was ready for lunch when it came along, but I wasn’t gnawing on my desk with hunger. It’s always best to avoid getting to the point where the office furniture starts to look tasty.

When lunchtime rolled around, I had the makings for the same lunch I made yesterday. I’m really enjoying this combo!

Lunchitty LunchYesterday, I chopped up four chipotle chicken sausages from Trader Joe’s and browned them in a skillet. Then, I fixed three little bowls, each with a sausage and a serving of my succotash (I ate the other sausage…). This morning, I only had to toss some of my beautiful farmer’s market lettuce and a bit of feta into a big container and grab a little bowl of my sausage and succotash combo to reheat and toss on top at lunch time.

There is so much flavor in the topping and the cheese, that I don’t need any dressing at all. Plus, this is nice delicate lettuce that gets a little bit wilted when I put the toppings on. It’s so good!Β I remember getting the spring lettuce out of the garden and topping it with hot bacon grease as a kid. This reminds me of that, but, um, it’s a little better for you. πŸ™‚ It’ll be in the lunch bag again tomorrow! For dessert, I had a few things:

Lunch DessertI was excited to try the Brown Cow Boysenberry yogurt. It was good, but nothing remarkable– not like the Wallaby Dulce de Leche yogurt I tried on Saturday. I’ve got to get some more of that stuff. Oh my! I had some Zoe’s cinnamon raisin granola with the yogurt, and I also nibbled on part of a Theo’s cherry and almond dark chocolate bar. YUM! I didn’t go looking for a snack until some time later. Then, of course, it was time for some Blue Ridge Dairy Greek yogurt. It seems like I have to have it at least once a day!

Snacky SnackI had some of the pomegranate honey jelly I got at the farmer’s market in my yogurt, and a chocolate vitatop on the side. The vitatop actually ended up in the yogurt, but I was too busy scoffing my snack to snap a photo. It was good, and quite filling! I was at work a bit later than usual, and I needed a little bite of something else to keep me from getting crazy hungry before I got home and made dinner. I had a few little vanilla wafers with some Bee’s Knees PB. I think I probably have about 8 jars of nut butter open right now. That’s normal, right? πŸ™‚ Β 

Little NibblesIsn’t my paper towel china lovely? It’s a pattern I like to call “ridges.” It’s very sophisticated! Ha! These little nibbles hit the spot, and kept me from getting hangry before I could make this:

Din DinIf you are a pierogi purist, my apologies. This was my freezer dish of the day, and I just sort of put some things together that I like. I sauteed a bag of spinach, and tossed it with some Mrs. T’s cheddar potato mini-pierogies that have been in my frozen jungle for awhile now and some Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce. I topped it with a bit of Greek yogurt and some freshly ground pepper. I usually like these frozen pillows of goodness baked in the oven and nicely crisped up, but I was too hungry for that, so I just gave them a quick boil and treated them like ravioli. This dish was gooood!!

As much as I enjoyed my dinner, I could hardly wait to get to dessert. My shortbread baking friend, BDK, has been in the kitchen again. This time he made some very pretty Easter egg cookies. I love sprinkles so much! He brought a couple by this morning, and I was so excited!!

Shortbread Stylings of BDKThe eggs got a little bit cracked on the trip home, but I still wanted to show them to you. The other day, I asked if you preferred the combo of “milk and cookies” or the combo of Β “cake and ice cream.” Someone said that “cookies and ice cream” was their favorite. I certainly can’t scoff at the combo, and that’s what I enjoyed this evening:

YUM!The cookies are so good– no surprise there! I can’t wait to eat the rest. πŸ™‚ Thanks again, BDK! I’m almost done with this ice cream too. I really wish Edy’s slow churned ice creams were available in smaller containers. I like the ice cream, but I hate having to buy it in a huge quantity. It takes me forever to eat it. Edy, if you are reading this, I’d like some smaller options!!Β 

I had one more little snack before I headed to the gym:

A Ray of Honey SunshineI had a tiny sized bowl of Kashi honey sunshine with a bit of almond milk. I just needed a little crunch. I scorched 800 calories in the gym this evening, and I’m about to celebrate with a bit of popcorn and… sleep. It’s been a long day.

I seem to snack on cereals like the honey sunshine quite a bit, but I never really eat it for breakfast. Do you have a favorite “snacking” cereal? I’m always looking for something new to try, and I’d love to hear your suggestions!

Wish me an unburned bag of microwave popcorn! I’ll wish you a happy Tuesday. Ciao for now!

20 Comments

Filed under Bread, Cookies, cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Soy, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

20 responses to “Back In The Groove… Sort of

  1. I love Mrs. T’s perogies — much to my 100% Polish boyfriend whose parents are Polish immigrants. His mom makes handmade perogies, but secretly I love the cheddar and potato ones!! hehe πŸ˜›

    My absolute favorite cereal is Golden Grahams – kidish, I know. My healthy favorite is Trader Joe’s macadamia crunch one, but I forget the exact name.

  2. I meant to say much to my boyfriend’s dismay… whoops.

  3. Erin

    Breakfast looks very appealing, and I have to say, I have a special place for frozen periogies. Surprisingly amazing! πŸ™‚
    And I love snacking cereal…especially those PB Puffins, but I eat them too fast!

  4. Another day of good eats!

    Almost any nugget shaped cereal is good for snacking–I Trader Joe’s High Fiber Os. When I first did WW, I my typical dessert with a bowl of cereal and skim milk. Fewer calories, usually less sugar and the added bonus of calcium!

    So, I have a question… how many hours do you normally sleep each night? I notice some of your blogs are posted long after I’ve started snoring, and I wonder how you fit everything in, especially as adequate sleep is a factor in weight loss success.

  5. I’ll have to try that Wallaby yogurt next. Sounds good. I don’t think we have a Trader Joe’s around here but there are several Whole Foods markets.

    As usual, your food looks totally yum.

  6. I have used use Kashi Honey Almond dry cereal for munchies. I only eat dry cereal in summer. It is not as filling to me as hot cereal or other breakfast items. If I am not too hungry, I simply have a fruit selection.

    WM had a nice selection of 1 pt yougurt on sale 2/$1. I don’t usually buy their products as they are overpriced. I avoid most frozen packaged dinner–no taste, too much salt.

    NitWit1 (Carol)

  7. Addendum – Morocco
    If you ever go, be sure to take a swing through the desert. You have to cross the High Atlas mountain range, but of all the touring, I remember it the most. I missed Marrakech an Casablanca, but toured Rabat, Tangier, Fez and there is a marvelous Roman ruins called Volubilis near Meknes.

  8. Glad you had a good Monday! Those are always hard after good weekends πŸ™‚

    I wish I could find local greek yogurt – yours looks amazing.

  9. *blush* I like cocoa pebbles πŸ™‚ though right now, I am pretty hooked on Trader Joe’s crunch.

  10. Glad you go through the monday.
    Mmmm delicious! Cereal is my love!

  11. Your picnic breakfast looks so good – bread, cheese, and fruit!! Hey, Mrs. T’s is pretty good πŸ™‚

    Snacking cereal – PB Puffins!

  12. Looks like a nice transition of eats to get you through Monday πŸ™‚ Having cheese at breakfast is so decadent, and you deserve it! 800 calories, wow!

  13. gina (fitnessista)

    my friend is polish and always raves about pierogies– i never tried them though!
    ok where did you find the vitatops?? i’ve been looking for them everywhere!
    have a great day!

    • Gina- I got tired of trying to track them down, and I started ordering huge shipments from the Vitalicious on-line site. Part of the reason my freezer is so full is that there are a couple of huge bags of vitatops in there! πŸ™‚ There is often some kind of on-line discount going on, and, when there is some kind of sale, I think it’s actually cheaper to order a bunch on-line and put them in the freezer than it is to buy them at the store. Plus, I can choose from ALL the flavors and not just the few they have at my local store.

      I heart vitatops!

  14. i love love love Honeycomb and Peanut Butter Puffins. also Coccoa Puffs.. YUM!!!

  15. cleanveggiex3

    i so agree- monday is one of the worst days.
    holy moly – cookie and ice cream! AMAZING!

  16. Oh wow, apparently I am not the only one who don’t like monday. Once wednesday approaching, I feel happy, because friday seem very near.
    Your egg shape cookies look really cute.
    Cheers,
    elra

  17. I’m mesmerized by the homemade shortbread your friend made. It is by far my most favorite cookie, if baked correctly. Luckily, I don’t like the store bought ones because I wouldn’t be able to control myself around them. The last time I permitted myself to eat them was around Christmas, but maybe I should make an exception for all holidays.

  18. Remember Honey Bunches of O’s? That used to be my fave cereal but I don’t think they make it anymore. 😦

    I’m impressed by your collection of lunch containers. Wherever did you find the itty bitty container that holds your granola? Those are perfect!

    • Amy- I have a crazy amount of Gladware! You should see the scary cabinet! I’m pretty sure I found those at my local CVS pharmacy. I need to buy some more. They’re good for so many things, and they are perfect for packing salad dressing!

      I do remember Honey Bunches of O’s. YUM!

Leave a Reply

