Sweet Sufferin’ Soybean Succotash

Hi and I hope you’re having a great weekend! Mine got off to a very wet, damp and chilly start, but at least the bad weather didn’t keep me from visiting the farmer’s market. I asked one of the vendors whether we needed the rain, and I felt a bit better about my soggy shoes when he said “yes.” If it means great apples in the fall, I guess I can soak up some rain drops. ๐Ÿ™‚ The market is really starting to come to life as winter loses its hold and spring takes over in full force. Just look at the flowers for sale today:

Bountiful BlossomsI was interested in finding some lettuce or other greens, and I stopped by the Endless Summer Harvest booth:

Gorgeous GreensThere were so many great choices, and I decided on a little bag of salad mix. I also restocked my Blue Ridge Farm Greek yogurt and smoked mozzarella, and got some chicken breasts from the EcoFriendly folks, a couple of sweet potatoes and a little bunch of arugula (that I had for dinner) from another farmer, some Chipotle Pepper Cheddar from a very nice man at Fields of Grace, and some pretty pink lady apples from the Toigo Orchards. It was worth getting out in the rain! I love apples with the leaves still on top. ๐Ÿ™‚

My HaulBefore I headed out, I made a quick breakfast. I think that the holiday spirit put me in the mood for something special. I made a couple of pancakes, using my very favorite sweet potato pancake mix from Bruce’s, and had a quick scrambled egg beater and a few grapes on the side. I also made a latte and fixed it up in the very cool mug I got from Laura. It’s so pink and cheerful! I love it! It went to the market with me, and I was glad to have something warm to sip in the chilly morning rain.

BrekkieAfter I got back from the market, I decided it was time for today’s freezer clean-out project. My freezer is looking so much better after just a couple of weeks of really trying to use up the things inside. I’ve had a bag of frozen, shelled edamame that I bought months ago with succotash in mind. I also had some of Trader Joe’s awesome super sweet organic frozen corn, and a jar of roasted red and yellow peppers from Trader Joe’s in the pantry. Succotash was on!

Succotash!

Sweet Sufferin’ Soybean Succotash

Ingredients:

1 tsp. olive oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 clove of garlic, chopped

6 Tbsp. of roasted red peppers (or the red, yellow and orange combo I had in my jar)

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/4-1/2 tsp. ground black pepper (I used 1/2 but I like the heat along with the sweet corn)

16 ounce bag of frozen, shelled edamame (soybeans)

2 cups of frozen corn, rinsed

3 Tbsp. water

Directions:

Prepare the frozen edamame according to package directions. Mine involved boiling the edamame for five minutes and then draining it.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet and then saute the onion and garlic for three minutes over medium/medium high heat. Add the salt, pepper and roasted peppers. Saute for two additional minutes.

Add the edamame, corn and water to the skillet and saute for 3-5 minutes or until the corn is heated through and the water has evaporated. Easy!ย 

This makes a good sized batch. I divided mine into 12 side servings, but I may double them up and have them as a main course for lunch this week. I think that there is enough protein in there to keep me full for awhile. If you are not a soy eater, you could always use the traditional lima beans. I just love the combo of corn and beans together, and the bright colors make me happy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunchy is ServedI had some succotash on the side with my last leftover burger from the other night and a little Country Bob’s sauce. YUM! Then, I made a teeny bit more room in the freezer by eating my last blueberry muffin along with a little glass of almond milk. I love those muffins!ย 

The Last Muffin My sweet tooth was still not satisfied so I had one of these:

Easter TreatstersOn Thursday, I mentioned that I was unable to find any Cadbury Creme Eggsย on my Facebook page. Every place I tried in my neighborhood was sold out! I really look forward to having a couple of these each year, and I was bummed that I couldn’t find one. I was on a genuine Easter egg hunt, and my basket was empty. One of my co-workers noticed my Facebook comment, and told me that she would bring me one of hers on Friday. Yay!!! She brought it by on Friday morning, and I set it aside to enjoy after lunch. When I returned to my office after lunch I found, not one, but three little eggs on my desk!!! The Easter bunny had smiled on me. Well, actually, another co-worker had read my comment and very sweetly fixed me up. I have such awesome co-workers,… and awesome candy. Tanks, Eastah bunnies! ๐Ÿ™‚

Later this afternoon, I had a pink lady with some Mighty Maple peanut butter on top. Mighty Maple is absolutely my favorite PB&Co peanut butter, and I love it best on crispy apples!

Mmmmm....Before I went to the gym, I decided that I needed a bowl of Greek yogurt with some berry jam and a bit of Zoe’s granola to fuel my workout. I also just think it’s tasty. ๐Ÿ™‚

Bowl of GoodnessAfter I got back from the gym, I was hungry… again. I’ve been hungry a lot this week. I’m not sure if it is because of last Sunday’s super calorie burning trek, but I’ve wanted to eat everything under the sun. I decided to try out the Wallaby Dulce de Leche yogurt that I had in the fridge. This is another yogurt that I wanted to try forever, but didn’t buy because it would be a little higher in points than my usual. I love Dulche de Leche, and the slightly burnt caramelly flavor was amazing in this yogurt. Wow. SO good!!

Oh my!After that, I hopped in the shower, and when I got out, it was time for dinner.ย I love potatoes and greens together, and I decided to saute a chicken sausage with my little bunch of arugula and use it to top a quick baked potato. I tossed a little feta and some chipotle Tabasco on top and, ta dah– a quick dinner that involved the greens and potato combo.ย 

Din DinMy dinner was really satisfying so I decided to just have a little nibble of something sweet before I went to finish up my grocery shopping. I had a slice of bran bread from the freezer topped with some PB2 and jam.

Little NibbleThe PB2 is growing on me. I’ve decided that I can’t really taste it mixed into my oatmeal, and I think the flavor is pretty lackluster when it’s just mixed with water. If you mix it directly into the jam or jelly however, it’s quite good! I’m certainly going to experiment with it some more, but, for now, I’m enjoying it mixed with my jam. It’s kind of magical, actually. You keep mixing this dried powder and, all of a sudden, you have peanut butter. Fun!

After I got home from the grocery store, I ate a Chex Turtle Bar. I didn’t take a photo, but I did enjoy the bar. I’d heard that these were good, and it really was delicious. It was also much more dense and chewy than some other cereal bars I’ve tried. I’m not sad that I have five more in the box. So, in case you can’t tell, I’ve had a pretty laid back day. That was fine with me! I really like days when I don’t have a schedule to keep. Now, I have a DVD to watch and I’m going to read some more of my new Alice Waters cookbook and sip on some bee pollen tea. Yes, I still have a couple of lazy Saturday hours left, and I plan to make the most of them!ย 

I’m making something special to take to Easter dinner at a friend’s house tomorrow, and I’m really excited! I can’t wait to tell you about it. For now, I’ll leave you with a photo of my aunt’s cat, Cricket, making friends with a neighbor’s bunny. Apparently, they got along pretty well. They look so much alike, they could be cousins! Ciao for now, friends. See you tomorrow!ย 

Do you have special Sunday plans this weekend?

cricket-and-her-bunny-friend

17 Comments

Filed under Beans, Bread, cooking, D.C., diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Recipes, Soy, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Washington, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

17 responses to “Sweet Sufferin’ Soybean Succotash

  1. Oh my gosh, what a delicious and wonderful day! I don’t mind the rain, as long as I have an umbrella, or someone else has one. Hahah.

    But mmmmm delicious!

  2. WOW, I wish our little farmer’s markets were as diverse as yours! Our major selctions are from Wal-Mart unless we make an excursion to Springfield, Mo. I don’t plan to visit there until July when I attend a Tamron workshop at Lawrence Photo.

    Easter after services we will eat with our best friends.

    Happy Easter. NitWit1 (Carol)

  3. I haven’t been to the farmer’s market in so long. Need to make plans.

    I need to try those blueberry muffins. They look so good.

  4. Great pics! Everything looks delicious! I love succatash, I’ll have to make it now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We’re just going to my boyfriends’ parents’ house with all of his family – like a usual Sunday, but this week is Easter. I’m making a cute surprise that’ll be on my blog tomorrow, though!

  5. I always love your photos of the farmers market!!

    I also love days when I don’t have to keep a schedule. Yesterday, we were on a tight schedule all day long and while we were still able to have a little fun, I am glad that today we can just hang out!

  6. i love it when the markets start to “pop”!

    cadbury cream eggs are my favorite candy! i found a good sale one easter and bought 60 of them and had one a day for the next 2 months … and lost 5 pounds, haha! there’s something to be said for permission to indulge ๐Ÿ™‚ i have had a hard time finding them this year, too. the caramel and pb ones are everywhere, but they’re not the same. i need the ones with cream and the little yellow center!

  7. I can’t wait until my Farmer’s Market is in full gear!

    PB2 mixed with jam!? That’s a new one and I like it! I need to bite the bullet and order a jar (or four) asap!

  8. O how sweet that cat and the bunny! They do look very similar indeed…:) Love it.

  9. maggieapril

    What a great haul at the farmers market! I have never cared for lima beans, so I have to tell you, the edamame succotash is genius.

  10. It looks like you have a great farmers market, I love seeing your purchases! My hub has to have a Cadbury egg every year too, for me it’s a Reese’s pb egg.

  11. I love farmers markets. Looks like a good one.

    Bunny and kitty! OMG!

    That din looked great. Total yum.

  12. I love going to the farmer’s market. So much fun! I also love cleaning my freezer although sometimes it is easier said than done. Adorable picture at the end by the way!! Hope you are having a great day!

  13. Erin

    That sounds like a perfect day. I love relaxing days like that. And farmer’s markets!
    I’m glad had an Easter bunny visit too ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy your Easter!

  14. Ohh I’m loving all of this food! I always pass the dulce de leche wallaby yogurt but can never figure out what I’d be able to mix it with for a snack!!! I’ll have to try it though, since you seemed to love it!

  15. Pingback: My Experimental Grits « Just Sweet Enough

  16. Pingback: Happy Tax Day? « Just Sweet Enough

  17. Pingback: Wacky Taco Wednesday « Just Sweet Enough

Leave a Reply

