Humpday Hamburgers

I’m so happy to be almost over the hump. How about you? My day started off in a fabulous fashion. I had an AMAZING breakfast! What better way to start the day. I made a brekkie cookie with some of the nut butter I made a couple of days ago, oats, vanilla whey Jay Robb, unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, cinnamon and ginger– the usual, but then…

Tropical Pineapple Right Side Up Breakfast Cookie…I topped it with some of the pineapple “pie filling” that I made last night and a little bit of coconut. I also dressed it in a festive lei. 🙂 I had a couple of bites and thought, “hmm… this tastes familiar…” and then I figured it out. What did it taste like: Pineapple upside down cake!! I think I’m in love with this combo, which I call the “Tropical Pineapple Right Side Up Breakfast Cookie.” It deserves a long and illustrious title! It’s on the menu for tomorrow, and probably the day after that! So good!

Around mid-morning, I couldn’t resist the Easter treatster I’d brought for the afternoon:

Easter TreatsterI couldn’t resist having a bit of Easter candy goodness, and Russell Stover hooked me up! Luckily, since a girl can’t live on sugar alone (if I could…), lunch wasn’t far behind.

LunchyI had the last serving of my Spring Cleaning Sausage and Spinach Soup, a little package of pretzel thins that WW sent along with an order of smoothie mix months ago, a little piece of Apricot Raisin Amaretto English cheese from Trader Joe’s and a bowl of Greek yogurt with more of my pineapple topping. Since my office is such a difficult place to take nice photos, and since a pop of color helps a tiny bit, I decided to invite my red Swingline stapler to be in the picture. If you’ve seen the movie, “Office Space,” you know the joke. My brother gave me this stapler as a stocking stuffer a few years back, and it makes me smile when I see it sitting on my desk. 

Pineapple YogurtThe pineapple was great in my yogurt, but it was amazing on the breakfast cookie. I’m going to save the rest for the cookies and find something else to toss in my yogurt. Given my jam collection, it shouldn’t be hard! A few bites in, I realized that I was missing my granola. I forgot to pack it today, but I had a Kellogg’s bar in my desk. These little 90 calorie bars taste great, but they don’t do anything for hunger. I think they are much more useful as a garnish!

Granola GarnishThis was a bigger lunch than I usually have, and I was actually stuffed! I didn’t need a snack until quite sometime later. I played with my food a bit at snacktime. I hope you won’t mind! 🙂

Milk Dudley'sI’m calling these fruit critters “Milk Dudleys.” I decided to have an apple with some PB&Co. Bee’s Knees PB. I also had a tiny box with four Milk Duds that I had stashed away back at Halloween. The desk drawer could use a bit of a clean out too, and I decided that they would be a good addition. I love milk duds. If you try to eat them too quickly, your teeth get totally stuck together. They are made to be savored! My snack hit the spot, and held me until I got home.

That brings me to the Humpday Hamburgers that inspired the name of this post. I’d taken a package of 96/4 ground beef out of the freezer jungle to thaw, and wanted to turn it into burgers. Since the meat is so lean, the burgers have to be handled with care as they don’t have a lot of sticky fat to hold them together. I sauteed some onion, carrot and garlic, which I mixed in to the beef with some of the Country Bob’s sauce that I won from Lucky Taste Buds. The veggies and sauce added a little moisture and a punch of flavor. Then, I heated up my Cuisinart Griddler (love this machine!!!), and sprayed it well with cooking spray. I gently placed my little burgers on the “grill”, and was so happy that they held together well!

Humpday HamburgersOn the side, I had a couple of other things straight from the freezer. I’ve had this enormous Alexia fry bag in the freezer for quite some time with just a few fries floating around inside. You can see my blender in the background, which should give you a little context. The bag itself is enormous! I decided to just cook up everything left in the bag while the oven was hot.

Old BagThese are good, by the way, but I hope to never invest in such a large bag again. It seemed like a good idea at the time. I’ll be having some fries as leftovers over the next few days. I’m sure they won’t be as good when they aren’t fresh from the oven, but I think I will still enjoy them. I also steamed up a bag of Steamfresh brocco/cauli/carrot mix to add a bit of color to my plate (and my diet). I don’t eat red meat that often, and, when I do, it is super satisfying. Although, I will say that my house now smells a bit like a greasy spoon! 

Ice Cream and "Cake"For dessert, I had some ice cream and “cake.” I like the vitatop and Edy’s slow churned cookies and cream combo. My favorite part is when the ice cream sort of melts and gets absorbed by the muffin. Oh my. I was here by myself, and I didn’t feel the tiniest bit bad about licking the bowl clean. 🙂 I also had a little piece of dark chocolate, but he didn’t want his picture taken. I obliged. 

My freezer clean out project has turned into a bit of a freezer/pantry/desk drawer stash clean out. Do you have any spring cleaning projects underway?

I don’t traditionally “spring clean,” but I do think that the change in seasons sort of inspires it naturally. I put away the sweaters and heavy clothes, and dig out the warm weather wear, which often leads to a closet clean out. I clean out the pots on my balcony and ready them for a new warm weather “crop” of flowers and herbs. I kind of think that my kitchen clean out project is a way to get ready for warm weather foods. I don’t do my best when it comes to eating seasonally, but I definitely eat differently in the warm weather months than I do during the months of dark and cold. I crave lighter cooler foods, and different things, like berries, are screaming for attention at the market. I’m more than happy to answer their call, and I’m going to have my kitchen in good shape so that I can do that hospitably.

Now, I need to do a bit of “cleaning,” which is different, in my opinion, than “cleaning out.” Laundry– here I come! I guess I’d better get to it. 

Before I sign off, I want to mention a nutty giveaway:

Sarah is hosting a pistachiolicious giveaway HERE.

Ciao for now!

18 Comments

Filed under Cookies, cooking, diet, Fitness, Food, Pineapple, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

18 responses to “Humpday Hamburgers

  1. Oh wow, such scrumptious eats! Milk duds! Yum yum yum!
    And those fries, I have seen those before, but never thought to purchase them, now I just might! =D

  2. Erin

    I love your cute snack and that breakfast cookie looks awesome!
    The pineapple looks perfect.

  3. Love the Milk Dudleys!!

  4. haha, i love your lei’d breakfast. and i love your food fun — way to keep things interesting! milk dudleys, so cute.

    and you are certainly doing amazing things with your rescued pineapple. freezer surprises are the best 🙂

  5. maggieapril

    Just saying “hi”. Wanted you to know I’m still reading and enjoying your posts even if I don’t always have time to comment!

  6. I recently started a bookcase and CD cabinet clean-out, inspired by needing to replace my overcrowded and falling apart bookcases and my goal of reading more than 2 dozen books in 2009. (It’s easier to do that when you can actually find them.)

    Now… if I could just bring myself to cleaning out my spare closet and getting rid of craft supplies I haven’t used since 2006. :{

  7. Hey girl! Love the Jay Robb in the breakfast cookie- he makes the BEST protein powders! That pineapple filling looks just incredible- I like that it has so many uses!!! I am def buying myself a little easter treat this weekend. Now I just have to decide what I want!! No real spring cleaning projects. Since we just moved into our house- it is mostly clean! I will be focusing on planting lots of flowers though 🙂

  8. Spring cleaning projects… hm… where to start? I have so many things I want to get done that it’s almost too much. Which is always a danger as that might mean we won’t start on it at all! Kitchen is first though, second is wardrobe!

  9. “I think I’m in love with this combo, which I call the “Tropical Pineapple Right Side Up Breakfast Cookie.” It deserves a long and illustrious title!”
    -Oh, I love the title of your breakfast cookie! Sounds so appetizing and scrumptious!

    Your dessert looks so yummy!

    I also find that I crave lighter foods, like fruits and salads, when the weather gets warmer!

  10. i think to make some of that pineapple. it just looks so good!

    LOVE the stapler and the milk dudleys – so cute! Office Space is one of my favorites

  11. sarahdbelle

    Those milk dudleys are adorable! And that breakfast cookie is gorgeous- very tropical. I don’t typically spring clean, but I probably should ; )
    Take care!
    Sarah

  12. gina (fitnessista)

    so glad you’re liking the bfast cookies 😉

  13. the apple with peanut butter and milk duds must have been such a divine combo! looks so cute 🙂

  14. cleanveggiex3

    girlie your eats are GREAT!!
    love the vita muffin top 😀

  15. burgers!!!!! now im craving a burger! and i wanted to try those alexia fries.. maybe i should grab them..

    i am currently cleaning everything. is that a bad thing to admit??

  16. love your ice cream and ‘cake,’ I do the same thing!!

  17. I like me some Milk dudleys!

  18. For spring cleaning, I’m tackling the yard first. In California, the roses have already started blooming and will need to be deadheaded soon. The house is always in disarray so I’ve given up on “indoor” spring cleaning. I just focus on the outdoors for now.

Leave a Reply

