Pineapplicious Freezer Rescue

Good evening bloggies!! This week seems to be crawling along at a snail’s pace. I’m wondering if Friday will ever get here… and it’s only Tuesday. 😦 I didn’t take photos of all of my eats today, but I did want to show you this morning’s breakfast cookie:

Brekkie Cookie

I used some of the nut butter I made last night, along with oats, Jay Robb’s vanilla whey powder, unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and a bit of cinnamon and ginger in the cookie. Then, I topped it with a little bit of the honey pomegranate jelly I bought at the farmer’s market this weekend and some berries. This was my tastiest brekkie cookie yet. I’m making another one tonight to have in the morning, but I’m out of berries so it just won’t be the same. I’m sure I’ll be able to find a little somethin’ somethin’ to go on top, but I will miss my morning berries!

I just got back from working out with my trainer. I kind of overdid it with my 10+ mile jaunt to see the cherry blossoms on Sunday. I would have been fine if I had just walked, but I started off running and kept going longer than I should have given the amount of running I have NOT been doing during the cold months. I’ve been quite sore the last couple of days (including shin splints… hooray), but I sometimes just don’t know when to quit. I felt wimpy this evening in class, and I had to use lighter weights than usual for several of the movements. Ugh! I think that I need to try to do a better job of allowing my body to rest. Sometimes I just keep pushing myself to keep up with my workout schedule and then I have a night like tonight. It was NOT fun. I know that recovery between workouts is important, but I sometimes just don’t do what’s best. Have you ever worked out even though you knew you should probably rest? Did it catch up with you eventually? Oh well. Live and learn, I guess.

Found FruitsI made another little quick “clean out the freezer” project this evening, and I thought I’d tell you about it. Using up the things I have on hand is sort of like finding change in between the couch cushions. I’m having a lot of fun with it too! Some time back, I chopped up a pineapple, but I realized that I might not be able to eat it all before it started to get a little… less than fresh. I tossed some in the freezer thinking that I’d use it in smoothies. I tried that a few times, but I just didn’t really love it. As a result, the bag of pineapple pieces and their juice was still hanging out in the freezer. I remembered a pineapple pie that my dad used to really like, and I decided that I’d bake up the pineapple pieces with a bit of brown sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, ginger and salt and create something akin to a pie filling. Here’s the before:

Before the Bake

Here’s the after:

Mmmmm....I love the shiny jelly goo on the spoon. I had to sneak a little taste, and it was soooo yummy! What am I going to do with this pineapplicious goo? I love adding jam or jelly to my Greek yogurt and, I figure that this will be even better! It would also be great with graham crackers and a bit of whipped cream. Too bad I just ate my last graham cracker! I’ll try it out on my yogurt tomorrow and give you a report. It might also find it’s way on to a certain breakfast item…  

I have to say that it smelled amazing while it was in the oven. I’m also just happy that yet another random baggie of nutritious possibilities has been rescued from the jungle!

I think I’m going to go and soak in a hot bath for a bit before I head to bed. I know my muscles will appreciate it. Before I go:

Katie has an amazing and chocolatey giveaway going on HERE.

There is a Fage giveaway over at the Hungry Yogini’s site, but don’t enter. I want to win!!

Check out the cool Danskin giveaway at N Her Shoes!

Have a great night, and an awesome humpday! Ciao for now!

13 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Pineapple, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

13 responses to “Pineapplicious Freezer Rescue

  1. Enjoy your bath!! That’s the BEST!

  2. Baking pineapple pieces? What an awesome idea! Super delicious!

  3. Oh, that cookie looks good.

  4. Mmm, I love adding jelly to yogurt too! You can add any flavor you want to spice it up.

    This doesn’t really fall into the “exercise” category, but when we first got our Wii I could NOT get enough of it. We would play it for hours every night, so competitively. I started to get really sore, but wanted to win, so just ignored it. By the end of the week I had to take a day off of work (which I NEVER do) I was so sore and literally could not move!!!

  5. O, I have so had my share of injuries, just because I didn’t listen to my body!! Shinsplints, achilles tendinitis and all sorts of other nasty stuff…:) It always seems to me that my heart and lungs improve their stamina much faster then my muscles. It doesn’t get better, getting older either! But I have learned to listen now.. You should too!! It’s really important to take a rest as well, because before you know it; you’re stuck with a chronic injury and that is NOT so much fun!!

  6. Thanks for the shout-out! I entered you agai 🙂

    And ohmygoodness, I love the new word you made up! (I love adding -licious onto words; it makes them sound so fun!)

  7. EnglishGarden

    I happened to have picked up a pineapple at the grocery store just yesterday. It is so cold here, baked anything sounds wonderlicious or maybe warmalicious?

  8. that pineapple looks great!

    rest days are important! it’s so easy to just workout because you “feel like you should”, but rest days are just as important as activity days.

  9. gina (fitnessista)

    so glad you’re liking the breakfast cookies 😀

  10. I’d never have thought of baking it … cool notion. I already know that brown sugar is fairy dust, but adding a hint of ginger … DIVINE! It’s gotta be good with yogurt … even better with vanilla ice-creeeeeeeeeam 🙂

  11. Kate

    Take advantage of those rest days! We need them once and a while–Glad I found your blog:D

  12. Hi there girlie! YOU give awesome advice (thanks for the dizzy/dehydration suggestions!) It makes a lot of sense actually, so I wanted to thank you.

    OMGOSH I totally just cut up a whole pineapple yesterday, but unlike you…i’m usually able to finish it all before it goes bad. I definitely love that frozen pineapple idea and the goo you made looks AWESOME!!! I will be sure to try that with the frozen pineapples i buy! Thanks girl!

  13. What a great idea to make pineapple pie filling!

Leave a Reply

