Zucchini and Cookies

Zucchini

Happy Thursday! The weekend’s almost here. I just hope the weather improves. It’s been gloomy and cloudy with drizzle all day today. It’s not warm either. The cherry blossom festival is about to get under way, and I just hope the little blossoms manage to stay warm.

Oat Bran!I had another day of tasty “pointless” eats, and I made a zucchini dish for dinner tonight that I’m going to tell you about. It was good, and a great way to use up the zucchini that came in my last Merry Produce Wednesday box. This morning, I started off with a bowl of oat bran. I’d just been missing it too much to have regular oats for another day! I added 1/3 a pack of Jay Robb’s strawberry whey protein powder, 1/2 Tbsp. of maple syrup, half of a banana that I smushed up, and some cinnamon and nutmeg. I tossed some strawberries on top with 1/2 Tbsp. of Dark Chocolate Dreams. It was gooood! 

Blue Ridge Dairy GoodnessBefore kickboxing, I had a bowl of Greek yogurt. I’ve been waiting to finish up some Fage before trying out the nonfat Greek yogurt I bought on Saturday at the farmer’s market. The Blue Ridge Dairy folks have kept me well fed this week with the smoked mozzarella. This yogurt? Oh my gosh. It was so good. In fact, I think it was the best Greek yogurt I’ve had! The add-ins were pretty awesome too. I added 1/2 Tbsp. of orange and fig spread along with some chopped vanilla almonds. It was the best thing I ate all day!

Cabbage Nest Primavera... againAfter kickboxing, I was starving! I woke up hungry this morning and that continued into the afternoon. I had my last Cabbage “Nest” Primavera along with a few Brussels sprouts. I’m made sure to get a good singe on my cabbage since the burnt bits were so tasty when it happened accidentally yesterday.

Lunch DessertAfter that, I enjoyed a slice of my cottage cheese bread with some Mighty Maple PB and half of a Cookiehead Belgian Chocolate Chunk cookie. Yes, this is another thing I hadn’t tried because it wasn’t very points friendly. You can tell that it is made with whole wheat because it has a nice soft texture and a nutty flavor. I really liked it, and I will definitely be trying the other flavors available at my store!

dscn2257Eventually, I decided it was time for a snack so I had a little strawberry Yokids with some Zoe’s granola mixed in. YUM!

Cashew and Pear CrazinessWhen snack time rolled around again, I decided to have a variation on the apple and PB theme. I had a pear and some cashew butter sprinkled with a ton of cinnamon. WOW! I’m living on the edge. 🙂 It was a really nice combo. Red pears are so pretty!

Din Din

By dinnertime, I was seriously hungry again! My body has adjusted to the new eating framework, and there are some noticeable changes. I seem to be hungrier, but yet more satisfied. I will talk more about that in tomorrow’s post. Just know that when dinner time rolled around, I was ready! I had a Gardenburger Chik’n Grill patty on some Nature’s Own Double Fiber bread with a little light mayo and some pickles. On the side, I had some grape tomatoes and some Spiced Zucchini with Bulgur. 

Spiced Zucchini with BulgurMy recipe for the zucchini dish was loosely based on this one from an old Gourmet magazine. I ran across the page I had torn out the other day while I was cleaning out a folder of random magazine pages. I have a habit of tearing out pages that interest me and then losing them due to the lack of any sort of organizational system whatsoever. I was glad to find this one. My version is actually quite a bit different, but I wanted to mention the original because it would be good too. Here’s mine:

Spiced Zucchini with Bulgur

Ingredients:

3 cups of boiling water

3/4 cup of bulgur

1 tsp. salt, divided

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 cup onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, crushed or sliced

1 1/2 pounds of zucchini, cubed

3/4 tsp. ground coriander

1/4 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp. chili powder

 1/4 tsp. black pepper

2 Tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary

Juice of half of a lemon

Directions:
Place bulgur and 1/2 tsp. salt in a medium sized microwave safe bowl. Pour the boiling water over the bulgur, cover and let it sit for three minutes. Then, place in the microwave, uncovered, for 6 minutes. Remove from the microwave and give it a stir. Return to the microwave for two minutes at a time, stirring it at each two minute interval. It took about ten minutes for mine to absorb most of the water, but the time could vary. Just continue microwaving until the water is absorbed and the bulgur is tender.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large skillet and add the onion and 1/4 tsp. of salt, sauteeing for one minute. Add the garlic and saute for one minute. Add the zucchini and the remaining 1/4 tsp. of salt. Saute the zucchini, stirring gently, for about 6 minutes or until the zucchini is tender.

Add the remaining ingredients except for the lemon juice. Continue to cook the mixture for two more minutes. Remove from heat. Stir the zucchini mixture into the bulgur, being gentle so as to avoid mashing the zucchini. Add the lemon juice and give it another gentle stir. 

This makes 8 side servings, but two servings could make a nice lunch.

It was creamy and kind of reminded me of risotto! I used rosemary because I have some growing in a pot, and it is need of some serious trimming. You’ll be seeing a lot of rosemary until I get my plant under control. I used a whole tablespoon of olive oil because I’m trying to make sure and get enough healthy fat into my diet each day. You could certainly use less or just use cooking spray. I will say that this dish had a much richer texture than I expected, and I have to attribute it to the olive oil. It felt decadent! Yum! Fat!!

DessertAfter dinner, I had the other half of my cookie and a cup of fat free Nestle’s cocoa. After that, I decided to try the chocolate orange Jocalat Bar from Larabar. I didn’t take a picture. I also didn’t eat much of the bar. I’m now faced with a dilemma. I did not like the way this bar tasted AT ALL! I love chocolate and orange together, and I expected to love this. Instead, I thought it had a weird and unpleasant taste. I’m not sure what the deal is, but, as I try not to waste calories on things I don’t like, I now have most of a bar to dispose of. I don’t think that giving a half eaten ancient larabar to trick or treaters in October is appropriate, but that’s the only idea I’ve come up with so far. What do you think I should do with it? I’m also curious if anyone else has tried this bar. Maybe mine is defective? Well, at any rate, I’m going to be looking for another little treat this evening, and I’ll be putting this little number in a ziploc baggie where it will await its fate.

Today was day seven of my “pointless” eating week. Tomorrow I’ll let you know how it went and what I’m planning as I move forward. It has been a good week, and I’ve done more food journal posts than usual to sort of let you see what was on the menu. It’s a lot of work! I don’t think I’d like doing it everyday, but it is fun to look back and see what I’ve eaten.

I have some major cleaning to do this evening, and I need to get to it. If you are reading this, please leave a comment and let me know what on earth I should do with this bar?!? I’m hoping you have an idea that is better than mine!

Have a great Friday and an amazing weekend!

18 Comments

Filed under Cookies, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

18 responses to “Zucchini and Cookies

  1. Ooh the zucchini dish sounds great! Bulgur rocks!

  2. Look at all of those yummy dishes!!! I love zucchini and the combo of that with the bulgar looks delicious and filling! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. Great looking zucchini dish! I love your Moulin Rouge coaster in your first picture… i have a collection of vintage wine posters in the same family as that art! LOVE IT!

  4. M

    Oh, you cracked me up with the Halloween idea! LOL. I’m not even sure the birds will eat it when all of this rain stops. 🙂
    I just got an order from Amazon.com….my Hogsden Mill Bulgur. YEA! Recipes to follow this weekend.
    Thanks again for your all your food journal posts this week. I love trying all your ideas. 🙂
    Have a good night.

  5. Oh my gosh, super delicious eats! That cookie looks yum!

  6. i can’t wait to see your pointless week recap!

    everything looks great today – i love bulgur, so I’m always happy to see new recipes!

    As for the Larabar….maybe add it into oatmeal? make cookies with it? eat it along with some real chocolate to cut the weirdness?

    is there anyone at work you could give the rest to?

  7. Erin

    I am loving your blog lately! Those oats are after my heart 🙂 Seriously, we have twin breakfasts. Not to mention that everything you ate looks delicious. Can you please come cook for me?
    I’ve never tried any of those bars actually but would assume I’d like them too.
    I’m not sure what to do with it. Maybe it could find a better fate used for baking or some such thing?

  8. I’m sure you will be real populair if you keep the bar for Halloween..:) Honestly I have no idea what bar you are talking about since we don’t have them here, so can’t help you there! I love your zucchini recipe and will bookmark it as I happen to love zucchini and this seems perfect!

  9. maggieapril

    Never eat a calorie that doesn’t taste good is my motto! I vote throw that bar away.

    It’s interesting to see that you are hungrier. I find that when I have a huge off-program dinner, I tend to wake up hungry. Wonder if that comes from more fat and sugar.

    Hoping to see, in this week’s round-up post, your daily calories and how/if you took extra activity calories into the mix.

    Have a great weekend!
    maggieapril at http://tastenotwaist.com/

  10. Ha! You crack me up. But seriously, Larabars are expensive. I wouldn’t want to toss one after one bite either. I would try mixing it in oats or chopping it up on top of yogurt. Maybe if it’s paired with some more of that yummy looking orange fig spread, it will compliment the flavors.
    And, when all else fails, see if you can pass it off to a colleague or feed it to the birds!

  11. Rachel

    Ok, here’s an uncreative idea. Throw it away if it tastes bad. You do a fantastic job of using all of your leftovers. You don’t have to feel bad if every now and then you throw out half of weird tasting snack. I know. It’s very “un-green” of me to make that suggestion. But that’s my opinion.

  12. I usually compost the foods I don’t like but if that isn’t an option, I would also throw it away or give it to someone else. Putting it into your body when you don’t want it or like it is just as wasteful. Live and learn!

  13. Like your idea with the zucchini and bulgar. I’ll have to get creative with my veg…some days it’s hard to eat ‘just plain old veg’ – even my favorites!

    About the bar…I like what the others have said about mixing it with your oat bran, add some orange marmalade and choc. chips. I’ve never tried a larabar, but if it’s organic and tastes yuck maybe you could use it as compost for the cute potted plants you have in your foodie pics?

  14. I just realized you had cashew butter and pears with spices. That’s almost like cashew butter/pear butter fruit dip. Kinda sorta. There’s just something about that combination that I love. That gives me a recipe idea for something similar to an apple brown betty…pear brown betty with cashew sauce? hmmm…

  15. Hey girl! I love your blog and your comments on my blog ! Your comments always make me smile! Sounds like you have an awesome night planned! Email me or comment to me and let me know how it goes (itzyskitchen at gmail dot com!!). Can’t wait to hear what you order!

    Love your pear with PB and cinnamon! I try to switch up my apple every once in a while too, but I always go back to it!

    I don’t like the jocalat bars at all….something about chocolate and date taste together just doesn’t work for me…

  16. EnglishGarden

    My junior high students will eat anything. 🙂
    Well, probably not the Spiced Zucchini with Bulgur. Too healthy you know.

  17. I have actually never tried bulgur before, the zucchini recipe sounds delicious!

  18. Jill Gendron

    Love zucchini. I lost my recipe for Zucchini Cookies (without choc. chips). Can anyone help?

Leave a Reply

