Monday Food-day

Sweet Sweet Grits

I started my day off with a sweet bowl of grits. I love grits, and I love for my grits to be sweet. Some people question my southernness when I mention this, but, I can assure you that I am from the south. Applying rules of logic, I think that means that any way I choose to eat my grits is a “southern way.” ๐Ÿ™‚ This morning’s grits had 1/2 Tbsp. of maple syrup, 1/2 Tbsp. of mighty maple peanut butter, 1/2 Tbsp. of cashew butter and 1/2 of a banana all sprinkled with cinnamon. YUM! I’m loving the cashew butter. I also had a combo of cherry and chocolate tea with So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage and a bit of sugar free Raspberry Torani syrup.

As I’m adjusting to this “pointless” week and the switch to counting calories, I think my eats are definitely changing a bit. Don’t get me wrong. The idea isn’t that I’m going crazy or eating all of my calories in the form of chocolate– not “all,” anyway. I just feel like the seams have been let out of a very tight pair of pants. There’s more room to breathe.

The way I’ve eaten since Friday is very similar, generally, to the way I always eat. That was my intention. The number of calories I’m shooting for each day is still geared to allow me to lose a few pounds so I haven’t come into a sudden calorie windfall either. The difference has been subtle, with the addition of a few lovely treats. Some of these treats are decadent, like the one I had this evening. Others are healthy foods that were a bit “pointier” than other similar options. I thought I’d do a food journal post today to give you an idea of how things are going, and to help me out as well.ย 

The grits held me over pretty well until lunch, but I started snacking on some orange slices around 11:30. Half of the orange had gotten a little mushy, so I just ate the good half. No reason to waste the good part! I finished up my orange slices alongside my bowl of bulgur chili. Yep. I’m still eating my chili. Some of it went into the freezer, and I’ve been happy to have it this week.

Lunch

For lunch dessert, I had this little container of maple Wallaby yogurt and half a serving of Zoe’s Cranberries and Currants granola. Isn’t the wallaby cute?

Tasty Wallaby

The yogurt is not something I’d let myself buy previously because it was a bit higher in fat and calories (a tiny tiny bit) than some other options. I had a tendency to pick the lowest point yogurt, the lowest point cereal, the lowest point… whatever. This yogurt was so good. I liked the creamier texture, and the maple flavor went well with my granola. This is one of those little treats that is healthy, and I found it to be incredibly satisfying.

I waited until I started getting hungry to start in on my snacks. First, I had some peanut butter Puffins. That’s another item that, as I mentioned earlier, I haven’t bought before. The reason? The cinnamon puffins were a better choice as far as points go. The difference in the nutritional information between the two types is pretty minimal. I’ll just say that I know why people happily post and comment on photos of these puffins. YUM! I’ve been missing out!

PB Puffins!! Finally!Later on, I had a little container of Banilla yogurt (love it!) with some blueberries. I do love my yogurt and mix-ins.

Banilla and BerriesI was in the mood for a warm chocolate cup of comfort so I had a cup of cocoa around 5:30.

Hot CocoaI also had an apple with some peanut butter this afternoon as well as a fun size Snicker’s bar. I forgot to take pictures, but I’m sure you can imagine what they looked like. ๐Ÿ™‚ I sometimes wonder if it would be better to eat a bigger lunch rather than snacking so much, but I like the snacks. They break up the monotony of the afternoon quite nicely. I never really get full, but I never really get hungry. Eating a bigger lunch might not be a bad experiment at some point. My snack schedule isn’t the best for the “eat when hungry” rule either, but that’s a challenge that I’ll save for another week.

For dinner, I topped another of my little cabbage nests with the same ingredients as last night, but used an ounce of mozzarella instead of a half ounce. I love my smoked mozzarella. Thanks, farmers! The cabbage nest reheated quite well, by the way. I know what I’m doing with the remaining half of the head of cabbage after the last two little nests are gone– making more!!

Thanks, by the way, to Christina for hosting this week’s BSI. That reminds me: She’s hosting a fun giveaway, so check it out! I was so honored that she chose my dish as one of the BSI winners this week. I am also just so happy that the BSI contest got me to thinking and led me to come up with a new way to enjoy a wonderful veggie! Hooray for blogspiration!

Cabbage "Nest" Primavera Day 2After that, and this would be worth a post of its own, I had my big treat of the day. I bought a number of things at Whole Foods yesterday that I’ve seen and wanted to try for the longest time. One of those things was Berkshire Bark’s Pretzelogical. One half of this bar is a serving, and a serving has 230 calories. A serving also has more satisfying chocolate, caramel and salty pretzel than anything I’ve ever eaten in my life. Instead of eating five things to satisfy my sweet tooth. This one little bar took care of it. I literally looked forward to it all day! Having met my nutritional goals for the day and stayed within my calorie goal, I ate it guilt free. I love that I was able to enjoy this in a reasonable way. It was so good!!

Pretzelogical

So, Sweetie Pie, what have you learned so far now that you’ve made it to day four of your “pointless” week? Well, I’ve learned several things. A few of these things are due to a different tracking mechanism. After logging my food choices in a tracker that keeps track of things like protein, calcium, fat and fiber, I’ve realized that I have probably not been getting the recommended daily amount of fat in my diet, and that I have most certainly been getting a LOT more than the daily recommendation for fiber. I’m not sure that’s a bad thing, but I’m not sure it’s good either. I wasn’t diligent about eating the WW recommended servings of oil each day, which would have helped with the fat. As for the fiber, well, high fiber foods tend to be lower in points. I also really like a lot of them. What I do know is that I’ve been more satisfied over the last few days after adjusting my diet to try to fit into the daily recommendations. Is it the additional fat? Perhaps. On the plus side, I think I’ve been getting enough protein, which is something I’d been sort of keeping track of for awhile anyway.ย 

I’ve also had a positive experience with a food that seemed outlandish– the pretzel bar. I have the same concerns as before about eating healthy foods that will keep me full. I know that if I just ate the chocolate all day, I would undoubtedly be starving and probably end up with a headache. Instead, my daily food consumption is geared to keeping me full while meeting certain nutrition goals. Today, I met those goals and fit this in too.ย I managed to balance treats with my healthy eats before, but they weren’t usually treats of this magnitude. I think I was afraid that I’d be starving if I spent a lot of points on something like this. It might have worked. I can’t be sure. All I know is that it worked fine today!ย 

I can’t wait to see what else I learn this week. The other thing I’m trying to do is to remember that I don’t have to lose this week. I’m having the most trouble with that. I can’t switch those gears so quickly, but I feel a sense of satisfaction knowing that what I’m eating represents a healthy balance. The rest will remain to be seen. Stay tuned.ย 

Now, I’m headed to bed. I had trouble sleeping last night, and I’m hoping to catch up a bit tonight. I’m a little behind on my reading and commenting too, but hoping to get caught up over the next few evenings. I love reading what other bloggers are up to, and I hate to miss out on all the fun and great ideas.

Good night to you all, and have a great Tuesday!

15 Comments

Filed under diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

15 responses to “Monday Food-day

  1. You like the yokids? I have a coupon for it but haven’t used it up yet! I will def be purchasing it this weekend ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I’ve been eating the Yokids for a long time, and I do really like it. The Banilla is my favorite, which is weird since I’ve never been a fan of artificial banana. They aren’t too sweet, and, in addition to the great taste, I started buying them because I liked their smaller size– 4 oz. instead of the usual 6 oz. Let me know what you think if you try them!

  2. Erin

    I like your food journal posts, and I love hearing about your switch in thinking this week. I think it is so fabulous you are trying new foods and experimenting. I know whaty ou mean about choosing the lower cal choice out of habit. Its just been in the last few months that I’ve started realizing what I actually like!

  3. I’ve thought about going from pointless to calories lately. I do WW for the accountability. I know how to lose weight: burn the calories you eat. Create a deficit! It has always worked in the past. Maybe I’ll be brave an djoin you in a couple of weeks for a “pointless” week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yum. I want some Berkshire Bark!

  5. OH that Berkshire Bark sounds so good!

    I am really loving your blog, it’s so nice seeing what other people eat in glorious colour ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. That maple yogurt sounds so good! I like that you don’t always go for the lowest fat/point option. Sometimes when I go for super low cal it ends up being wasted food because it’s not satisfying.

  7. great meals and choices, and great post! I am loving reading about your pointless week and how it’s going.

    that pretzel bar thing looks amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. maggieapril

    You only ate 1/2 that killer looking pretzel bar?! Makes my mouth water just looking at it!!

    I’ve always wanted to try the peanut butter puffins but they are not available nearby. Will have to road trip to a Whole Foods.

  9. Meg

    Hi Sweetie Pie!!
    I think it’s so fabulous that you have switched gears and are going ‘pointless’. It actually put a smile on my face to see that you bought that yogurt and the PB puffins because you wanted them when before you wouldn’t have because they were slightly higher in points!

    I used to eat fat-free yogurt all the time, but once I had low-fat and saw the difference in taste and quality I knew I’d never go back. I’m currently planning a switch to full-fat yogurt, but haven’t taken the plunge yet!

  10. that bar looks delicious.

    ..but it could use a little peanut butter. ;]

  11. The bark looks so good, I definitely stared at the photo for a few minutes! I am glad you are enjoying your “pointless” week!

  12. Great delicious eats. i have never tried grits before!

  13. What a great post! It was so interesting!

Leave a Reply

