Cabbage “Nests” Primavera and a Vanilla Oikos Review

Beautiful BloomsToday has been such an amazing day!! The sky was blue, the sun was shining, people were strolling, and it was just nice to be out and about. I snapped the picture up above while standing in front of Whole Foods. I love when things start to bloom!

I’m on day three of my “pointless” week, and I’m feeling so good about it. Thanks again for all of the comments the past few days. They were much appreciated! I looked at the store in a whole new way today. I bought the peanut butter puffins instead of the lower point cinnamon ones. I bought some cashew butter for the first time ever. I got another Larabar. I’m looking forward to working these formerly forbidden foods into my menu this week. It’s nice being out of the rut!

Among the new things I picked up at Whole Foods today was a container of vanilla Oikos. I was excited to find both the vanilla and the blueberry, the two flavors I hadn’t tried. I used the remaining two coupons sent to me by Kristina at Stonyfield Farm. Thanks again!

Vanilla OikosI tried the honey flavor last week, and I liked it but found it to be quite sweet. The vanilla still had a nice creamy and smooth texture, but it wasn’t nearly as sweet as the honey flavor. I think I might have liked the vanilla better. The honey was good, but it definitely had more honey in it than I usually put into a bowl of Greek yogurt if I’m sweetening it myself. I thought that the vanilla flavor was nice, and it went well with my blueberries and my Zoe’s Cranberry and Currant granola. I finally got some Zoe’s granola after hearing so much about it, and wow– it’s good stuff! I would definitely buy this yogurt again. It’s yummy, and it’s nice that it’s organic too. 

After I got home with all of my exciting purchases, I repotted a few plants, popped my new basil plant into a big pot, and started thinking through my BSI entry for this week’s cabbage contest hosted by Christina at Dinner at Christina’s. I had a basic idea, but I hadn’t worked out all the details. Feeling inspired by springtime, I decided to turn my cabbage into little birds’ nests and top the nests with some tasty Italian tidbits. Sorry the picture is so dark. Oops! Here’s what I came up with:

Cabbage "Nests" PrimaveraCabbage “Nests” Primavera

Ingredients:

The “Nests”:

1/2 medium sized head of cabbage, cored and very thinly sliced

1/4 cup egg beaters or one egg, beaten well

2 Tbsp. parmesan cheese

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

1/4 tsp. salt

nonstick cooking spray

The Toppings:

2 links of Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage

12 grape tomatoes, halved

1 portabella mushroom, cubed

cooking spray

2 ounces of smoked or plain mozzarella, finely chopped or grated

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Spray a baking sheet generously with nonstick cooking spray.

Place the thinly sliced cabbage into a medium sized bowl. By the way, I just used a knife to slice my cabbage rather than dragging out any fancier shredding type gadgets. Mix the parmesan, egg beaters, salt and pepper in a small bowl and then pour the mixture over the cabbage. Using tongs, mix the cabbage around until it is all coated in the egg beater mixture. Divide the cabbage mixture into four mounds or “nests” on the baking sheet.

Scatter the halved grape tomatoes around on the baking sheet in between the “nests,” with the cut sides facing up. Sprinkle them with a bit of salt.

Spray the tomatoes and cabbage mounds with cooking spray, and roast the tray of veggies in the oven for 20 minutes. Remove the cabbage nests and tomatoes from the oven, and heat the oven to broil.

While the cabbage nests are roasting, prepare the toppings. I was in the mood for Italian (hence the “primavera”), and wanted to use some of the smoked mozzarella I bought yesterday at the farmer’s market! So good!

Break up the Italian sausage while browning it in a skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray. When the sausage is browned, add the cubed mushroom to the pan and continue to cook until the mushroom cubes reduce in size. This will probably take five additional minutes. 

Top each little nest with 1/4 of the sausage and mushroom mixture, six tomato halves and 1/2 ounce of mozzarella– more, of course, if you are feeling cheesier! 

Pop it under the broiler until the cheese has melted and browned to suit you. 

A scattering of fresh basil would be a great addition after broiling. I just wasn’t ready to snip my new plant yet. 🙂

This makes four servings.

Here’s what it looked like before it went into the oven:

BeforeHere is the after picture:

dscn0704

Finally, here it is with the toppings ready to go under the broiler:

Broil Me!I transferred it to a little skillet because I was only eating one this evening. I think they should reheat with no problem. I layered the nests in a container with little slices of waxed paper to keep them separated, and I’m planning to broil up a fresh one tomorrow night for dinner with some of my leftover topping mixture. 

I wasn’t sure if this was going to be a good recipe or… a big mess. I’m happy to say, that it was good! Hey– it involves roasting vegetables, and I almost always love roasted veg! The cabbage nests are a bit like a cabbage fritter? latke? pancake? Well, whatever you call it, the cabbage gets a nice sweet flavor, and the egg and cheese really bind it together nicely. This could be topped with a wide variety of things, and I can’t wait to experiment. I’m thinking that goat cheese would be amazing. Actually, I’d be pretty happy eating it without any topping at all. I love cabbage!

Now, I need to get caught up on some blog reading and get things ready for tomorrow. I hope that everyone has a very good week, and plenty of sunshine wherever you are! I think it’s going to be a great week. 🙂

23 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

23 responses to “Cabbage “Nests” Primavera and a Vanilla Oikos Review

  1. Oh my gosh, everything lokks amazing!!

  2. Gorgeous use of the BSI!!

    Thanks for you comments on my blog, I really appreciate such positive feedback!

  3. Wow the primavera looks so colorful and delicious!

  4. great BSI recipe!

    good job on the “pointless” week so far 🙂

  5. That is such a good recipe and indeed one you can expand on endlessly… I think I’m gonna go for the goatcheese option! I just love roasted vegetables as well and the goatcheese… o, it makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

  6. Erin

    Those are so cute! You are so creative, I would love to recreate those.
    I also wanted to say your new outlook on food sounds great! Its easy to get in a rut and its awesome you’re stepping out of it!

  7. Shoot! I just realized my BSI recipe is really similar to yours (down to the addition of sausage and my calling it latke-like!)…only I added flour into my cabbage mixture. I promise I didn’t read your recipe before making mine…and yours looks better, anyway. 🙂 Good luck!

  8. i love your cabbage nests … and i’m so jealous that the cherry trees by you are in bloom already!

  9. Gorgeous photo of the cherry blossoms! 🙂

  10. Congrats on the BSI win! Looks great!

  11. HEY! Congrats on the giveaway from Lucky Tate Buds. That’s awesome. 🙂

  12. Thanks! I’m so excited about the winning this week’s BSI and the giveaway– both excellent surprises!

    This started out at as a typical Monday, but the blog love has perked me right up!

  13. AmyJoGo

    Found you through Jason’s blog. I also added cashew butter to my diet recently and have to say that I like it so much more than peanut butter. I love to mix a teaspoon of cashew butter with a teaspoon of pear butter and use it as a fruit dip for my apples. I promise, you will be hooked. And although it’s relatively up there as points go, it’s filling and satisfying so I don’t stress it.

    I’m loving your recipe ideas. 🙂

    ~amy

  14. Pingback: Monday Food-day « Just Sweet Enough

  15. Amy- Thanks for stopping by! The cashew butter really is soooo good! I’m glad you are enjoying the recipe ideas. Cashew butter and pear butter fruit dip sounds like a pretty good recipe to me! 🙂

  16. Sam

    Hi Nicole – I just wanted to tell you how much I love your cabbage nests recipe. I made them the last night and am now addicted. I can’t wait to have the leftovers for tonights dinner. Thanks so much for all the great food ideas 🙂 Love your blog!
    Sam

  17. Pingback: Springtime Market Potato Salad and a Quick Weekend Recap « Just Sweet Enough

  18. I saw these on Christina’s blog and have been wanting to make them for a long time. Tonight was the night! I topped it with marinara and sausages and it was heavenly. I am stuffed, but am already looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

