What I Ate Thursday!

Oat Bran with BerriesThis lovely Thursday morning started off with a great bowl of oat bran. I’ve seen other bloggers use tea in the place of water, and I’ve started doing that myself. Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery, bloggies! That was a great idea. I don’t know who came up with it, but I am glad that the idea made its way into my bowl. Thanks to you, whoever you are! I brewed up some sticky toffee tea that I got in London a couple of years ago to use in making my oat bran. After the oats were cooked, I added 1 Tbsp. of maple syrup, 1 Tbsp. of chopped walnuts, 1/4 package of vanilla whey protein and some blueberries. It was gooooood! I also had more of the tea with a bit of almond milk, but I apparently cut it out of the picture. Oops!

Before I headed off for my lunchtime kickboxing class, I had this Siggi’s orange and ginger with a chopped up date. I’ve been trying to figure out what was missing from this little cup for several weeks now. Today, I nailed it: Dates! This was such a good combination. I’ve always loved dates and orange together. It was so obvious! I don’t ever want to have Siggi sans dates again!

Date with SiggiKickboxing was good, and it seemed challenging enough, but my heart rate monitor told me that I had only burned 350 calories. Huh? It seemed harder than that. Anyone with a heart rate monitor knows that they aren’t infallible, but I checked mine from time to time and it didn’t seem to be doing anything weird. It never told me that my heart had slowed to 10 beats per minute or anything too unbelievable. I used to burn around 700 during a class, but I’ve seen the number drop as my body has adjusted to the new moves. Overall, I don’t want to complain because this is a big sign of progress. I was just a little puzzled by it.

At any rate (excuse the pun), I was hungry when I got home, and I had a huge bowl of food. There is a serving of my bulgur chili in the bowl along with a corn vitatop, an ounce of Cabot 75% reduced fat cheddar, a Tbsp. of 0% Fage and a spoonful of salsa for a little extra kick. This was a cozy bowl of goodness! I love working from home because I can add little embellishments like the salsa and yogurt without having to drag in extra containers. Even so, I may be dragging in some extra gladware tomorrow, because this combo was awesome!

Bulgur ChiliDespite the huge bowl of food, I still needed some dessert. The dessert I had today is going to be featured as my favorite weekly snack tomorrow. I’ve been enjoying it a lot this week. Because I don’t want to spoil my own surprise, here’s a placeholder. Oh, the suspense. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did not eat the glass bird or the rose, by the way.ย 

Secret SnackAs the afternoon wore on, snacktime grew closer. I had another of my favorite yogurt combos today. I’ve probably posted pictures of this particular mix at least four times now. In the bowl: Lemon yogurt, Fiber One and blueberries. Seriously, lemon and blueberry together with a crust like crunch of Fiber One can fool me into thinking I’m having dessert. I love this mix!

Yogurt CombiSince my kickboxing calorie burn was less than I had hoped for, and because I had some spare energy lying in wait, I decided to put my dinner in the oven and head to the gym to burn a few more calories. I never work out twice in the same day, but I was just kind of in the mood. Plus, I hadn’t showered since kickboxing so I was already stinky anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚ My time in the gym was even more intense than usual. Weird! It was a strange sort of workout. I really pushed myself rather than just slogging along as I sometimes do.ย I’m wondering if it is because I knew that it was “bonus,” and that I could stop any time without guilt. Whatever the reason, I felt great!

Before I headed up to the roof (my gym is on the roof…), I had a piece of Nature’s Own Double Fiber bread with Dark Chocolate Dreams PB and sugar free raspberry jam.

Dark Chocolate Dreams and ToastAfter my second workout of the day, I came home to find that my dinner was ready. I’m so excited! I tried the baked tofu that I’ve seen other people raving about. Gliding Calm, this is genius! I used the measurements for the rub provided by Kath. Oh my good gravy. Look at that tofu. It had a crunchy outside, a perfect inside and the flavor was amazing. I’m so glad that I tried it. I’m going to have to try the barbecue sauce method next. I put a little bit of Virginia Gentleman Bourbon Barbecue Sauce on the sandwich thin along with some lettuce. This was good eating! Back in the corner, you see some of the baba ghanouj that I made last night. It just gets better with age. I had it with my bright little veggies. All in all, this was a very enjoyable dinner!

Dinner!

Of course, I needed dessert. I had a peanut butter vita top with a bit of fat free Cool Whip and a sliced red pear. I’m out of my usual strawberries, but at least the pear is red.ย 

Vitatop and Red PearAfter a long bath, I decided that I needed something more. Here’s a problem: I wasn’t really hungry. I’ve eaten several things over the past few days when I haven’t really been hungry. Part of me says that it’s fine because I haven’t exceeded my points for the week. The other part of me says that I should be more concerned with responding to my body with a sense of reason than satisfying a mathematical equation.

The part of me that likes chocolate and peanut butter trumped everybody else. I think I’m ok with that. I’ve had this can of cocoa mix in the cabinet for a bit, and I’d like to use it up along with all of my loose tea. I love using things up. It makes me feel like I didn’t waste my money! I decided to put half a serving of cocoa mix in a bowl of oat bran. I also had a tablespoon full of mighty maple. ย The oat bran turned a lovely chocolate color once I stirred in the cocoa mix. Sorry I didn’t snap another pic! I kept the peanut butter in the spoon and sort of dipped little bits of oat bran into it a little at a time. I feel like I enjoy the peanut butter more when I can see it than I do if it is all blended in. This bowl was the perfect mix of flavors to satisfy my chocolate and peanut butter craving, and now I have a great use for the cocoa mix. Hooray!

Hot Cocoa Peanut Butter Oat BranI really enjoyed doing today’s post. I didn’t start my blog with the plan to keep a daily food journal. I do that elsewhere, although not with photos. After posting pictures of a day’s worth of food a number of times now, I have to say that I really kind of like it! I’ve always loved reading everyone else’s, and I’m thinking about starting to do it twice a week instead of just on Thursdays. I seem to learn a lot about my eating habits when I see my food staring me in the face. If you are a blogger who frequently posts all of your daily eats, I’d be interested to know what you have found to be the most useful part of that exercise! If you don’t blog about it, but you keep a food journal, I’d like to know how that has helped you as well. I’m always so happy to read comments, and I often find them incredibly useful! Thanks to those of you who chime in!

I hope everyone has had a great day. Tomorrow is Friday, and I’m so glad because this week has seemed very long. I always look forward to my Friday’s off from the gym too. I do love working out, but a girl has to have some balance… and time to socialize! Have a good night, kids! I will see you tomorrow with my weigh-in results (I think it is going to be exactly the same again, by the way… hmm… ), and my surprise snack. It isn’t anything exotic, but it is really good!

13 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

13 responses to “What I Ate Thursday!

  1. thanks for the shout out!!!!! I’ll add this post to my tofu page! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Looks like a tasty day!

    I like keeping a visual log of my daily food because I can look at it in a glance and see where I am falling behind. Am I eating too much of the same food? Too much processed food? (yes, usually I am) Then I can make changes.
    I could tell last week that I was in a rut so this week I have started trying new recipes.

    I alos keep a journal to keep track of my intake throughout the day.

  3. Lemon and blueberry were meant for each other ๐Ÿ™‚

    I lose the taste of things like pb and cheese when I mix them in so I often keep them on top. I wonder how much of it is mental since I don’t see it!

  4. Oh my gosh, tofu! Yum, totally loving all your tasty eats!

  5. i need that maple pb!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ great day of eats

  6. maggieapril

    Question: how does the texture of oat bran compare to that of oatmeal? (I think I may be the only blogger in the nation who doesn’t like a big bowl of warm oatmeal for breakfast.)

    I use the WW 3-month journals. If I’m not recording, that means I’m eating too many points and don’t want to look at them on paper. So I do my best to log my food every single day.

  7. hehehe, should I be flattered by our title?:) Well, even if I shouldn’t be, I am ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great eats!

  8. Looks yummy! I am lovin vitatops!

  9. Erin

    I just love your blog! It all looks so good. Awesome job on such a gym filled day and I love the oat bran. I have never thought of tea actually! I love the idea and can’t wait to try it. I’m a total blog imitator. I have no idea what I ate before bloggies came into my life.
    That Dark Chocolate Dream is AMAZING. But now you have me coveting Mighty Maple ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I haven’t been reading your blog long enough to realize you do that every thursday…:) So much fun too! I was actually thinking; wow, she eats quite a lot because that is what you get when you put it all in a row..lol… I do keep a foodjournal on occassion, not on my blog, but on the dietsite I am on (a dutch one) I find that it helps me to keep focused and realize what goes in. And whenever I stop keeping the journal… my diet falls to bits. Probably a very good reason why I should start recording again (haven’t done so in a while!)

  11. I am still pretty new to the blogging world/taking pics of food, but it’s been a blast so far! It definitely makes me stop and thing before I indulge. Love the blog!

  12. I just started a food blog this passed week actually, since I’ve only been at it for barely a week I can’t say it has changed anything in my life yet although I am feeling like this definitely is the start of a journey towards more healthy eating habits. Photographing and posting my daily eats is helping me make healthier food choices and helping me eat more regularly and normal. That said, I still have major struggles with my negative thoughts and they have not diminished at all despite my food blogging. However, this weekend I have managed to avoid eating too much which is a problem I often face during the weekends (my body goes into “craving”-mode during the weekends) but I can’t say yet if that is due to my new food blog or the fact that I’ve got in the back of my mind that I want to weigh myself tomorrow morning (monday) and see results.

Leave a Reply

