Looks Aren’t Everything… for example…

Baba GhanoujBaba Ghanouj. It isn’t pretty, but it is very tasty. I made a batch this evening, and realized that it isn’t the most photogenic food. Like many things, looks aren’t everything!

I hope everyone made it through humpday. We saw the sun today for the first time in several days, and it perked me right up! All the gloomy days just make the sun seem sunnier! I had a good day at work, and then came home to the rest of my egg salad from last night’s batch. I’m going to have to make some more. I forgot how much I like it! I also came home to an eggplant:

EggplantI’ve had plans for this eggplant for several days now, and I finally got the chance to turn him into Baba Ghanouj. If you are a fan of hummus, I think that you might really dig this dish too. There are about a zillion baba ghanouj recipes around, but the recipe I use is based on a recipe from Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon by Claudia Roden

Eggplant and Tahini Dip “Baba Ghanouj”

based on the recipe in Arabesque, p. 248, by Claudia Roden

Ingredients:

1 eggplant

1 1/2 Tbsp. of tahini (Sesame Paste)

Juice of 1 lemon

1/2 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt

1 garlic clove, crushed

1/4 tsp. salt

 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

chopped parsley

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Prick the skin of the eggplant four or five times with a fork, and place the eggplant on a baking sheet. Roast it in the oven for 45-55 minutes, depending on the size of the eggplant. It should look shriveled and be soft. Remove the eggplant from the oven and allow it to cool. When it has cooled, remove the skin and place the flesh of the eggplant into a strainer or sieve. When removing the skin, I just sort of tear the skin apart and scrape the flesh off of the skin with the side of a fork or knife. Press out as much liquid as possible, and then use a spoon to chop/mash/pulverize the eggplant while it is still in the sieve, allowing the juices to continue to escape.

In a bowl, beat the tahini and the lemon juice. I just used a fork for this. It may take a minute for it to really turn into a nice paste. After it becomes a smooth paste, beat in the yogurt. Add the mashed eggplant, the garlic and the salt and beat it vigorously with the fork. Adjust the salt and garlic to taste. I like a lot of garlic so I used 2 cloves instead of one.

Ms. Roden suggests spreading this onto a flat serving dish, drizzling it with the olive oil and topping it with a sprinkle of parsley. I’ve certainly had it that way when dining out, and I’d do that if I had guests. Since it is just me (and since most of it was going in the fridge for later), I mixed it all together in another piece of my retro pyrex that is made for fridge storage. I went ahead and mixed in the olive oil after snapping the photo too. Oh, and I didn’t have any parsley, but I’m not going to lose any sleep over that. 🙂 If I happen to go to the store tomorrow, I might pick some up because it is kind of nice on top, but it isn’t necessary. 

This makes 6 unofficial 1 point servings.

You’ve seen the eggplant before roasting. Here’s the after:

Eggplant AfterI also wanted to show you a photo of the eggplant being mashed in the sieve. It was really pretty bland looking so I posed my little chef smurf nearby to add a little hit of smurfy color:

Smurfy SmashHe tasted the final product and thought it was quite good. I have to agree with him! I have some yummy veggies that are going to go very well with this tomorrow. Tomorrow is a food diary day, so expect to see a delicious pile of this glop! 

Now, I’m up past my bedtime so I need to make some tea and head to bed with my book. I have a little bit of a cough, and I think that peppermint tea may really hit the spot. Good night, kids!

11 Comments

Filed under Cookbook Review, diet, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

11 responses to “Looks Aren’t Everything… for example…

  1. I love that stuff. Yum. And the smurf is too cute. 🙂
    Thanks for posting the recipe. I usually get some at an amazing restaurant across from NASA called Mediterraneo. Oh it’s so good.

    About how much is a serving? Tell me a cup.

  2. Awwwwh, totally love the little smurft!!

  3. Maybe the addition of parsley would have made the dish a little more photogenic…:) Some foods just don’t want to look good whatever you do, but taste lovely! And this is a perfect example of that… but it’s quite heavy in fat or not? I would love to try this but am thinking a bit of my – not so successful – diet right now.

  4. I’ve had my little smurf since the fourth grade, and I think he’s my little lucky kitchen charm. 🙂 Smurfs and Muppets in the same week– I must be in a goofy mood!

    Kelly- A serving is probably between 1/4 and 1/3 of a cup. I wish it was more, but it is still not bad!

    Simone- The parsley would definitely have spruced things up… a bit. LOL! As far as the fat goes, I’ve tried making this with no olive oil, as I often reduce or leave it out of recipes completely, but I really think it is important to the taste and texture. The olive oil and tahini are the only fats, since I’ve opted for the nonfat yogurt, and the Tbsp. of olive oil only adds about 2.5 grams of fat per serving.

    I think the thing to do would be to taste it with no olive oil, and then add a little at a time until it tastes the way you like it. There’s certainly no reason for a whole Tbsp. if you could be happy with less. I also know that the olive oil has good fat, and I feel like I could use more of that in my diet anyway. I wouldn’t use less tahini as this is already a more conservative recipe than others I’ve seen, and it really gives it that nutty flavor!

    So, it might be an excellent choice for your diet (it is for mine…). Plus, I’ll bet you could make it pretty. Your photos are so gorgeous!

  5. yum 🙂 I love the Smurf Chef!

  6. I wish I liked eggplant 😦

    Lovin the Smurf!

  7. I have never even tried eggplant to be honest, lol I need to widen my food intake.. I am workin on it 🙂

  8. I love hummus and I love eggplant so I think I should try this out. It sounds really good. Oh and I agree, bland food like that is tough to photograph but color helps.

  9. mmmm, yet another thing i always always mean to make but always forget about whenever i have an eggplant. thanks for the reminder!

    the little smurfy is so cute 🙂

  10. I’ve only ever eaten store-bought baba ghanouj or the stuff you get in restaurants, but I’ve always had a soft spot for it. I remember during college, I would go through phases where all I’d have was baba ghanouj with toasted pita bread .. YUMMM! So thks for sharing this recipe .. now I can make it at home & it’ll probably be healthier. Give Chef Smurf a little pat on the head from me!

  11. Pingback: Pretzelogically Delicious and My Opinions on Some New Eats « Just Sweet Enough

Leave a Reply

