“Big Batch” Bulgur Chili and an Oikos Review

JalapenoI told you that I had a pepper to use today! I’m in a spicy mood!

How is it possible that the weekend is almost over already? It just started! It has been a rainy and gloomy weekend, which has discouraged me from sticking my nose out the door very much. It’s more fun to just hang out in my kitchen where umbrellas aren’t usually necessary.

Today, I tried to sleep late, but was not successful. I did enjoy some quality time in my warm bed with my current book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. Hunger finally roused me from my comfy spot, and I had one of my Very Strawberry Almond Butter Snack Bars, some yogurt with Fiber One and a cup of cherry and blueberry tea mixed with So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk. I saw the coconut milk yesterday, and decided to give it a try after hearing it mentioned around here in blogland. I liked it! It was definitely creamier than my usual almond milk, and it made for a nice tea latte. At only 50 calories and 5 grams of fat per serving, I think I’ll be enjoying it in my tea in the days to come. 

Brekkie

After breakfast, I decided to get busy preparing lunch. Think about food much, Sweetie Pie? NO! Not at all! I was reading Mara’s blog the other day, and she mentioned some chili made with bulgur. I love bulgur, and I love chili. The concept had been bouncing around in my head all week, and I decided to see what I had in the fridge/pantry and come up with my own version. Chili is such a perfect big batch food for me to take in my lunches! This recipe is super easy, and super good. Here’s my recipe:

A Pot Full of Love

“Big Batch” Bulgur Chili

Ingredients:

1 tsp. olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

1 medium carrot, thinly sliced

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and crushed or thinly sliced

2 red bell peppers, chopped (other colors would be fine, but I love the sweet reds)

1 medium sized jalapeno, seeds removed and finely chopped

2 1/2 tsp. chili powder

1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1 1/2 tsp. salt

28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes

Water to fill the 28 ounce tomato can

1 10 ounce can of Ro-tel

1 15 ounce can of fat free refried beans (I used Trader Joe’s fat free refried black beans with jalapeno)

1 15 ounce can of dark kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup of canned pumpkin

1 cup of uncooked bulgur (I used the Hodgson Mill bulgur with soy for an extra punch of protein)

Directions:

Heat oil in a large pot. Add the onion, carrot and garlic and saute for 7 minutes. Add the bell pepper and jalapeno and saute for 5 more minutes. Stir in the chili powder, cumin and salt. Add the can of crushed tomatoes, and then fill the can with water. Add the water and the remaining ingredients to the pot. Stir well. Make sure that your refried beans get broken up. I only mention it because mine were trying their best to maintain the can shape. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

This makes 8 unofficial 3 point servings.

I had a bowl for lunch, and was so struck by the creamy and hearty texture. You can’t taste the pumpkin, of course, but it definitely  contributes to the thick and rib sticking consistency of the chili. I didn’t miss my usual ground beef at all. My lunch bag is going to be a happy place this week!

Bowl of YumI love plain bulgur, which would work fine in this recipe, but I’m such a fan of Hodgson Mill’s Bulgur Wheat with Soy. It has a slightly chewy texture that I really like, and it’s a good way to get a bit of a protein punch. Each 1/4 cup of the dry stuff packs 10 grams! 

Hodgson MillI love it for breakfast with honey and almonds or with stir fried veggies. I’m such a fan!

Later in the afternoon, I decided to try one of the Oikos yogurts I picked up yesterday using a coupon provided by Kristina at Stonyfield Farm. I usually just buy plain Greek yogurt, and add my own sweetener, but I couldn’t resist trying the little cup of Oikos with honey.

Oikos with Honey

It had that thick and creamy texture that I love with the added bonus of sweet honey.  There was a lot of honey, but, as you know, I’m not one to complain about sweet things! 

Oikos with Honey

Of course, I like Greek yogurt because it’s yummy, but also because it’s such a good source of protein. I’ve really been trying to focus on getting more protein into my diet, since I’m a regular at strength training, and so I’ve been paying more attention to the amount of protein in certain foods. This little cup packed 13 grams of protein along with 120 calories and 0 grams of fat! I will also add that it is 2 points according to the Weight Watchers calculator. It was good to the last drop!

Good to the last drop!

I usually buy plain Greek yogurt and add my own sweetener, but I think that the convenience factor of this little cup might cause a few of these to land in my cart each week. I believe in being prepared, and that often means having things that I can grab in a hurry. I’m hoping to find the blueberry flavor at my local store the next time I go. They didn’t have any yesterday, but I’m on the hunt! If I find one, I’ll be sure to tell you all about it!

For now, here’s a link to the page describing the Oikos line, and here is a link to get printable coupons for Stonyfield Farm products. I’ve enjoyed the YoKids yogurts for quite some time now. They aren’t made with fake sweetener, and they come in fun flavors like Banilla. Thanks, Kristina, for the chance to try a different Greek yogurt than my usual!

I’ve got a loaf of bread baking in the oven that I will tell you all about tomorrow. It smells so good. I’ll never be able to wait for it to cool! 🙂 Luckily, I have class with my trainer so I’ll probably take it out of the oven and then run off for some cardio and strength training. I know it is best to do cardio after the strength training, but man is it tough to run when your legs feel like jelly. Still, I look forward to these little torture sessions! 

I’m going to put away the laundry and inhale the baking bread smell. Have a great evening and a fabulous week!!!

22 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

22 responses to ““Big Batch” Bulgur Chili and an Oikos Review

  1. WHOOOAAAA so delicious, and jammed packed with flavour!!!

  2. Looks good! Inspiring me to get cooking!

  3. That bulgur chili of yours looks SO good. Can’t wait to try it.

    Okay, and my new favorite way of eating yogurt is this: well, first of all, I found a sugar-free brand called “Nancy’s” which is also local to me here in Oregon. She sometimes adds honey but that’s it. I love it and add pistachios and dried, apple juice-sweetened cranberries. Oh my gosh it’s pure dessert. Filling. Such a great snack when I want to get my sweet tooth on but don’t want to blow my sugar-free diet!

    It is EXTREMELY tough to find sugarless dried cranberries. The ONLY place I have found them is in a tiny little co-op here.

  4. Isn’t bulgur chili amazing?!?! I still have a bunch of my batch in the freezer, and you’ve just reminded me how great it is… I might thaw it out for this week!

  5. So glad you posted this review of Oikos. I just bought five containers with some coupons I had, and I wasn’t sure… Thanks!

  6. Whoa. I love so delicious products. I didn’t know they had milk. That is worth a trip to the store!!

  7. Erin

    Just catching up on your blog and the chili looks fantastic and I am definitely planning to try those bars! Yum!!

  8. Amy

    We had brunch today at a place called Huckleberry’s and they had a chili on the menu that featured sweet potatoes. It was intriguing since I have never heard of that before, but I am guessing it must be similar to your use of pumpkin in this recipe? I couldn’t resist the garden scramble this morning. I thought I was going to have to go back to try the chili later, but now I can try this recipe at home instead! There is no doubt it’s much better for me…and better tasting, obviously!

  9. Thanks for the recipe, it looks delicious! I will need to try that sometime too along with your snack bars!

  10. That chili looks amazing, I’m going to have to try the bulgur wheat w/soy. Glad that you enjoyed the Oikos!! Hopefully you will be able to find the blueberry soon 🙂

    Take care,
    Kristina

  11. Oh my gosh, there is truly nothing better than the smell of fresh baked bread. The only time my husband ever says our kitchen smells good is when I make it. Otherwise, he throwing windows open due to my broccoli or garlic stink. 🙂

    Love love love Greek yogurt and its protein punch. So thick, creamy, and delicious.

    Your bulgur chili looks delicious, and I’m so excited that you found the coconut milk beverage and like it. So good!

  12. thanks for the comment on my blog!! the bowl was AMAZING!! the curry sauce totally made it!!

    and that chili looks really, really gooood too!!

  13. Awww congrats on your win! I just saw! 🙂

    Also, I’m going to be making your cauliflower soup for dinner tonight. I’ll probably post it tomorrow, though – just because all the BSI hype being the new host!

  14. Yummy chili! I haven’t tried Bulgur yet. I searched for that size Oikos all weekend so I could use my coupons with no luck! I have one more stop to try- hopefully it will be there! Great review. Cannot wait to read about your bread.

  15. The chili looks great! I have to be on the lookout for the Hodgson’s bulgur. I love their whole wheat couscous. I’m not a big fan of the Oikos honey yogurt because of the jelly-like texture of the honey bottom. I prefer the Fage one that keeps the pure honey in a cup on the side.

  16. Pingback: Monday Food-day « Just Sweet Enough

  17. Pingback: Cookbooks, lizzies and boonie pepper notes. « Food Near Snellville

  18. Pingback: Soup Weather « Just Sweet Enough

  19. Tj

    I saw your Bulgar Chili on Marisa’s Trim the Fat blog and I made it the other day! LOVED IT! Thanks! 🙂

  20. I made the chili tonight for dinner and loved it. What a great recipe! I loved the addition of the pumpkin and the hearty thickness of it. Thanks!
    http://randomlynne.blogspot.com/2009/10/lazy-sunday.html

  21. This recipe was great! I can’ t wait to make it again.

Leave a Reply

