Very Strawberry Almond Butter Snack Bars

Berry LusciousHappy Saturday evening! After last night’s evening out, I’m enjoying a quiet evening at home! I had fun at my friend’s birthday soiree, and, I have to say that the club offered some of the best people watching opportunities I’ve had in a long time. I’m certainly not the fashion police, but, let me just tell you that there were some sights to behold at the K Street Lounge. Wow! Men, is a BMW belt buckle really necessary? It may not send the message you’re hoping to send. 

Since I’m staying in tonight, I decided it was time to come up with my entry for this week’s BSI contest. BSI: Strawberry is being hosted by Laura at Hey What’s For Dinner Mom? I don’t know how I will fare in this week’s contest, but I think I came up with a winner nonetheless. I had several things in mind. First, I needed to use strawberries. That’s not a problem! I love them. Second, I’ve seen some amazing looking homemade almond butters on several websites lately, and I thought it might be fun to find a way to incorporate that as well. While catching up on some blogs this morning, I ran across a recipe for a tahini breakfast bar on Limes and Lycopene. I used the basic idea, but not the same ingredients. Here’s my recipe!

Very Strawberry Almond Butter Snack BarVery Strawberry Almond Butter Snack Bars

Ingredients:

The Goo

1/2 cup chopped dried dates

1/2 cup water

The Honey Berry Almond Butter

1/2 cup raw almonds, toasted

6 strawberries

2 Tbsp. Honey

The Dry Team

3/4 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup teff flour (or whole wheat flour)

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1/3 cup roasted pumpkin seeds (not in the shell)

1/2 cup dried fruit (I used a berry mix that had blueberries, cherries, cranberries and strawberries)

1 ounce dried strawberries

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9×9 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

Date Goo

Place the dates and water in a small pan. Bring to a low simmer. Simmer for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove the pan from the heat and allow the mixture to cool.

Strawberry Honey Almond Butter

Place toasted almonds in a food processor, and process until they become smooth and creamy. It only took about 3 minutes for this small amount in my machine, but it may take longer depending on your equipment. Be patient! It will eventually turn into a butter. After the almonds have become smooth and creamy, blend in the strawberries and honey. Add the cooled date goo and blend well.

The Final Mix

Combine the dry items in a medium sized bowl. Add the almond mixture and stir well making sure all the dry ingredients are incorporated. Press into the 9×9 inch baking dish and bake for 15 minutes. Allow the bars to cool in the pan.

This makes 12 unofficial 3 point bars. 

The date goo isn’t pretty, but it makes good glue!

Date Goo

The almond butter looked so good with the honey and strawberries that it was hard not to abandon the project and go in search of a loaf of bread. Seriously. I’m going to have to mix up a batch of this to eat on its own. Who needs jam when you can blend the berries right in with the nut butter?

dscn2022Here’s what it looks like when date goo marries honey berry almond butter:

Date Goo + ButterOf course, I had to lick the food processor bowl, and I can attest that this would have been awesome on some bread too. Even so, I charged onward and mixed up my dry ingredients.

The Dry TeamI often have dried strawberries on my morning cereal, and when I was thinking of a way to get more berries into this bar, the dried version seemed like the perfect choice. Here’s the kind I used:

Just StrawberriesI love when berries smile! These really bumped up the berry in the bars, and gave them a nice splash of color too! After the dry ingredients were combined well, I added the almond butter goo mixture and stirred it all up.

The MixI pressed it in the pan and then popped it in the oven.

Pressed and ReadyThe bar you saw in the picture at the top of the recipe was consumed warm. After being taunted by the gorgeous ingredients, I was too impatient to let it cool! I can say that is was moist and chewy in its warm state, and I’m sure it would have come out of the pan more nicely if not for the steam coming out of it. Hee hee. I’ll probably check out a cool bar after I finish tonight’s post. 🙂 I must! It’s for science or… something. Anyway, I can say that the strawberry flavor really comes on strong with the mixture of fresh and dried berries. The pumpkin seeds add a nice pop of color and a pleasing little crunch. The nutty goo holds everything together nicely and is sweet, but not toooo sweet. I’m really happy with the way these turned out! I have a feeling that this is another of those basic recipes that I will be making with a number of variations in the days to come. 

I had a nice long workout this morning, and then took a stroll to Whole Foods to pick up a few little items. I used one of the coupons for free Oikos Greek yogurt that I received from the nice folks at Stonyfield Farm. I’m planning to try it tomorrow, and I’ll let you know how it goes. I also picked up a jalapeno pepper. I’m pondering this week’s big batch recipe, and I think that the jalapeno is going to play a role. We’ll see. Tomorrow should be a day full of yumminess! Right now, I hear a cool bar calling my name, and I need to go and silence it with my teeth!! 🙂

I don’t usually make my own bars (although… after this batch…I may start…), but I do enjoy a number of different types that I pick up at the store. What’s your fave? 

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!! 

15 Comments

Filed under Baking, BSI, diet, Food, Recipes, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

15 responses to “Very Strawberry Almond Butter Snack Bars

  1. Oh my gosh, that is so awesome making your own bars! I really want to try it now!!

  2. AnAppleADay

    awesome recipe!

    btw, I’ve received your giveaway prize! thank you so much! my sister and I have enjoyed them very much!!!!!

  3. I saw the chop’t restaurant when I was down there! Small world! We’ve probably seen each other and never known it 🙂

  4. A big wow to you making your own bars!!! Huge $ saver, there!

  5. what gorgeous looking bars!!! It such a great way to make the exact type of bar you want to eat. 🙂
    I don’t quite have a favorite bar yet, though I do have favorite flavors for each different brand of bar!!! hehehehe I still need to find one true love….

  6. Delicious!!!! I love bars. All bars. Well, except the ones that serve alcohol 🙂

  7. I love those dried strawberries! I bet you could leave out the water and process these into semi-raw bars too.

  8. Those look incredible! I love the Just Fruits line. 🙂

  9. ladyc0005

    These look absolutely delicious. I am going to have to try these. I usually by my bars, but these look so much better! Thanks For posting this recipe!
    Cheryl

  10. yum, these looks great! esp since i never actually buy bars (unless i have a hefty coupon) and am always on the browl for new recipes. yum and thanks!!

  11. Wow, those bars look tasty! I definitely will be trying them out in the future!

  12. Those bars certainly look very tasty! I’ve never tried making my own bars, but since we don’t really have very good ones around here… I might have to try!

  13. YUMMMMMM these bars look seriously incredible. I’m a huge fan of making my own bars and know Josh and I would love these! Great work

  14. Thanks, y’all! I have eaten a few of these now, and I’m sold. I may start making these (or some variation on the theme) on a regular basis. It’s so nice to know exactly what’s in them and, as lucky taste buds mentioned, I can put whatever I want in there. Yum!!

  15. These look so chewy, almost like Larabars?! I’m looking forward to making a spin-off of these this weekend; thanks for the great base recipe.

Leave a Reply

