A Few of My Favorite Things…

Apple Oat BranI just got back from the gym, and decided to write a quick post about a few of my favorite eats from today. I’m enjoying plenty of leftovers, so today’s kitchen time was minimal. I did start the day off with a little bit of cooking, as usual. I’d never eaten oat bran for breakfast until recently, and I’m so happy to have learned about it from some of my awesome fellow bloggers. Now, I can’t get enough of the stuff! This morning’s bowl had a chopped up granny smith apple, some pumpkin pie spice, honey and chopped cinnamon almonds. I love getting a serving of fruit in at the beginning of the day, and this is the perfect way to use up an apple that’s a little bit past its prime.

My oat bran breakfast held me over until lunch, as always! It really sticks with me better than a lot of other breakfast options. Lunch was leftover Creamy Cauliflower and Cannellini Soup along with some of last night’s Dillicious Golden Beet and Red Onion Salad. I had considered having the salad in a pita, but, when I grabbed a pita from the bag this morning, I realized that they had gotten sort of dried out. I guess they are destined to become bread crumbs. I decided to just have some Wasa light rye crisps along with my soup and salad, and I was so happy with the combo! The crunch of the crisps along with the smooth texture of the beets made for a great combination. I have one bowl of soup and a bit of salad left, and I’m planning for tomorrow’s lunch to be a repeat performance of today’s!

Wasa and Salad

I ended the day with a new little treat that I found recently at Whole Foods. I love granola, but hate the dent it often makes in my daily points. I came across this Galaxy Granola in the Vanilla Almond Munch flavor the other day, and I’m so glad that I did! I can have half a serving, 1/4 cup, for only one point. Plus, it has big chunks of almonds and a lovely vanilla flavor. As a bonus, the bag is cute! A 1/2 cup serving has 165 calories, 2 grams of fat and 6 grams of fiber. It has 6 grams of protein as well. I think those are pretty awesome stats! I also bought some of Galaxy Granola’s little snack sized bags of granola type nuggets with hemp and flaxseeds, called Meteorbites (clever), but I ate them before I thought to snap a photo. They were really good too, and I’m going to have to pick up some more the next time I’m at Whole Foods. If you should happen to find this at your local store, I’d encourage you to give it a try. It’s pretty basic so you could easily mix all sorts of things with it to tailor it to your taste. 

Galaxy GranolaI added a few 60% Cacao bittersweet Ghirardelli chips, and happily nibbled away after my time in the gym. Yum! This is a keeper!!

Granola and Chips

When I get home tomorrow night, my weekly box of produce should be waiting at the door. Since I shared part of my “big batch” with my friends at our little Sunday lunch, I may need to make something tomorrow evening. We’ll see. For now, I’m headed to bed. I’m still having trouble falling asleep. It seems like the older I get the more I notice when the time changes. I’m going to brew up some chamomile, fluff up my pillows and hope for the best. Do you have a bedtime ritual or can you fall asleep at the drop of a hat? I have trouble sleeping on airplanes, in cars and on buses, which makes long distance travel a bit of a bear, but I usually fall asleep pretty easily in my own comfy bed after a cup of tea and a little bit of reading. I’m hoping that will be the case tonight! 

Before I go, CONTESTS!! There have been so many great giveaways lately! Tonight I have two that I want to mention:

Check out Heather’s blog for news of an amazing and coconuttylicious giveaway. This is seriously a mother lode of coconut goodness!

Missy is also having an awesome and granolariffic giveaway. You can find those details here.

Catch y’all later!! G’night! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under diet, Food, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

6 responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things…

  1. I actually fall asleep pretty easily if I avoid alot of bright lights before bed or get home really late. I feel very lucky that I fall asleep so easily.

  2. Mmm, all your leftover look so good, and isn’t oat bran the most amazing breakfast. I am totally obsessed with it and have to have it at least once if not twice a day!

    That Galaxy Granola is good, but the one store that sold it in Nashville recently closed. 😦 However, I’ve been loving on some Zoe’s! Have you tried this granola? The nutritional stats are impressive as far as granola goes, and I just got an email from them saying they have just set up an online store and offering discounts. Yay!

    Thanks for the link love, and I hope you got to sleep okay last night.

    • Beadie- Light definitely bothers me while trying to fall asleep. I had a crazy bright alarm clock once, and it spent its life with a scarf tossed over it! I’m glad you can snooze without trouble!!

      Heather– I haven’t tried Zoe’s, but I’m definitely going to check out their on-line store. I LOVE granola!! Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Maybe I should go about with an evening routine so that I can fall asleep easily.

    Aside from that though, I WANT THAT GRANOLA! It looks too delicious!

  4. M

    Thanks to you, I now LOVE oat bran. 🙂 I had never even tried it before.
    I’m adding that granola to my Whole Foods shooping list too.
    The time chnage has thrown me for a loop too, but lately I’ve been working out so hard in the mornings thatI’m pretty spent by bedtime. Hope you sleep tight. 🙂

  5. I love your “after gym” snack ideas. I’m always starving after a workout, and my Kashi Go Lean cereal isn’t quite cutting it before bed. Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

