My Saturday Cookie Experiment

 

Chocolate Chip Oat Bran Cookies

Happy weekend! I’m so excited that the weather is warm. I have the door to my balcony open as I’m typing, and it is so nice to air things out a bit. I started my day off with a bonus class with my trainer that involved 30 minutes of cardio and core intervals. I was pretty pooped after the class, but it was too nice not to get outside so I followed it up with a 30 minute run. I crushed over 700 calories today, got some fresh air and had a good time doing it!!

To celebrate my great workout and replenish a few of those tiny little calories, I decided to make a batch of cookies. I’ve been sort of obsessed with oat bran lately, and, of course, I wanted to see if I could incorporate it into a cookie. There was a recipe for an oat bran raisin cookie on the side of my oat bran box, but I wanted chocolate chips! I also wanted about one fourth of the number of cookies that the recipe would make, as usual, so I pared the recipe down and made a few other changes based on my goal of making a dozen one point cookies. It may seem weird to start with a points goal and work backwards when creating a recipe, but it works pretty well for me most of the time. 

The cookies that I made are good. I will say that they are pretty small, and have a definite oat bran nuttiness to them. Having said that, I enjoyed the two that I ate. I got that nice baked goods experience but with a little more fiber and a little less fat. Plus, did I mention… there was chocolate! I liked these enough to go ahead and post the recipe ( I wouldn’t want to steer you wrong…), but stay tuned! I’m going to be trying some variations on this theme. I’ll keep you updated. For now, this is my recipe:

Chocolate Cutie

Bittersweet Chocolate Oat Bran Cookies

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp. butter

3 1/2 Tbsp. brown sugar, packed

1 Tbsp. egg beaters

2 Tbsp. skim milk

1/8 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

60 grams of oat bran (this is about 1/3 cup plus 2 1/2 Tbsp.)

1 tsp. baking powder

1 pinch of salt

25 grams of Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips (about 27 chips)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream the butter and brown sugar in the mixer at medium speed. Add the egg beaters, milk and vanilla extract and beat until well combined. 

Combine the dry ingredients (flour, oat bran, baking powder and salt) in a small bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix well. The dough will be stiff and somewhat dry. 

Incorporate the chocolate chips. Divide the dough into 12 portions and place on a baking sheet. 

Bake for five minutes. Remove from the oven, and press the tops of each cookie down with the back of a fork. This will flatten the cookies while spreading the chocolate around on top. Return the cookies to the oven and bake for an additional five minutes. Cool the finished cookies on a wire rack.

This makes 12 unofficial 1 point cookies.

The dough was definitely more stiff and dry than most cookie batters I’ve made, but it was sticky enough.

BatterThe balls of dough looked like this on the way into the oven:

Ready for the Oven The finished product:

Done!

As I mentioned, this was a bit of an experiment. I wasn’t planning to flatten the cookies out halfway through, but they weren’t spreading out much so I decided to go for it. I didn’t realize that the added bonus would be the way the chocolate spread around on the top. This seems perfect to me since there aren’t a ton of chocolate chips in these cookies. This made a little bit of chocolate go a longer way, and I think the cookies look prettier with their chocolatey tops. 

Rack 'em up!

I’m having a couple of friends over for lunch tomorrow, and I’m happy that they are the kind of friends who won’t turn up their noses at my healthy cookies! After that, I have a bowling birthday party to attend followed by another workout with my trainer. Tomorrow has potential to be a very busy day. Today has been pretty lazy, aside from my workout, so that seems like a pretty good balance. I like to have some time to myself on the weekends, but, of course, I like to have some time with my friends too!

I’m planning to make a yummy vegetarian friendly soup for my friends, and I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow. I’m concocting the recipe in my head right this second. Have a great Saturday night, and a great Sunday too. 🙂

Oh, and the lovely Abbie is having an amazing giveaway to celebrate her new site at Foods That Fit. Definitely check it out!! This is an awesome giveaway, and I always love to read what Abbie has to say.

10 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cookies, diet, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

10 responses to “My Saturday Cookie Experiment

  1. I love the addition of the chocolate drizzle. 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, chocolate gooey-goodness! Love it.

  3. foodsthatfit

    That is a great way to use oat bran and I bet it gives the cookies a nutty and chewy taste! Thank you for the sweet note on this post!

    You had a great workout! Enjoy your evening and the rest of your weekend!

    I can’t wait to hear about the vegetarian soup you are planning on making!

  4. ooh those cookies look so good! i bet the oat bran IS delicious.

    great job on the workout, and enjoy your fun day tomorrow!

  5. LOVELY cookies!!
    I do actually have a recipe somewhere for similar cookies, but they were 2-for-1 point… I’ll dig it out for you!

  6. OMG! Oat bran cookies. I’m dyin ovah here!

  7. I love oat bran! Hot for breakfast w/1 pt of brown sugar is the best…OK now I’m hungry 🙂 working hard on WW this week using all my points evenly through the day is not easy. I tend to ‘save them for later’ and have some leftover. Oh well I will keep working on it. I have lost 50 so far and maintained for 1 and half years. Time to kick it up a notch. Way to go on becoming a fp on foodbuzz! Laura

  8. These look delicious! I’ve only used wheat bran in cooking but should get some oat bran to try out soon.

  9. Pingback: Creamy Cauliflower and Cannellini Soup « Just Sweet Enough

  10. Thanks, y’all!

    Mara- that would be awesome!!

    Laura- it sounds like you are doing great!! Best wishes for an awesome ww week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

