Friday Weigh-in Stats and a Fruitylicious Snack

Kiwi and Grahams

It’s FRIDAY!!! Yay!! Since it’s Friday, it’s time for me to tell you about my weekly featured snack, my weigh-in, and the winner of my little contest. I love featuring a different snack each week, because it forces me out of my own snack rut. This week’s snack is no major feat of cooking or engineering, but it IS a simple and yummy combo!

I’ve always loved fruity/creamy pies in graham cracker crusts. Lemon ice box, key lime… that sort of thing. Graham crackers are fun, and remind me of being a kid. My mom used to decorate cakes, and there was often leftover frosting in the fridge. Cake frosting might taste better to me on a graham cracker than it does on a cake! Now, I like the Honey Maid low-fat grahams and eat them sometimes with a bit of peanut butter or dipped in applesauce. Frosting has kind of left the picture, but you never know. I just might decide to come up with a Sweetie Pie version of frosting and grahams one of these days!

I got some kiwi fruit in my box of produce last week. While I really like kiwi, I tend to prefer it with something else rather than on its own– like in a fruit salad or on top of a pie.  I decided to slice up my kiwi and arrange it on top of my graham crackers the other day, and I’ve had the same snack everyday since then. It reminds me of one of my beloved pies. In fact, all that is missing is a little dollop of pudding. Hmm…. Two grahams plus one small kiwi adds up to 2.5 points of snacking goodness. I highly recommend it!

Speaking of snacks, you may recall that last Friday, I celebrated my 50th post, and I decided to have a little giveaway. The winner would receive a couple of previously featured Friday snacks. Well, the person who will be receiving a box of snacky snacks is:  Junghwa Chung with an e-mail submission (#36 for random number generator purposes). Congratulations!!! I appreciate everyone who entered and who gave me a shout out. Thanks for helping me celebrate!!!

Now, for the rest of the Friday business.  

Points Stats

Daily Points Target: 22

Weekly Points Remaining: 0/35

Activity Points Remaining: 29/30

 I ate less points this week than last week, and I think that it was partly due to my efforts to consider whether I was really hungry when reaching for a snack. Hooray for progress in listening to my body!

Workout Schedule

Friday: off

Saturday: 65 minutes of cardio combo (elliptical, running and walking with incline on the treadmill, jump rope intervals and stairmaster) with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

Sunday: 45 minutes of strength training,35 minutes of cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Monday: off

Tuesday:  45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Wednesday:  60 minutes of kickboxing

Thursday: 65 minutes of cardio combo with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

 I followed the same schedule as last week, but, according to my heart rate monitor, I burned more calories. I think I was trying not to push it too hard last week because of my cold, and this week I was so happy to be feeling better that I kicked some serious behind! In case you are curious, one activity point is equal to 100 calories burned.

I ate well within my points and earned my usual target (30) points for exercise. Plus, I did a better job of tuning in to my body’s signals when deciding what and whether to eat. I am VERY happy with my non-scale progress this week. As for the scale, last week I hit a new low number, 155.8, and was excited about being in the 150s. Everytime I’ve dipped into the 150s, there has been some sort of holiday or vacation that has made it a one week affair. This week, I weighed in at 157, which is a 1.2 pound gain. However, I’m in the 150s for two consecutive weeks for the first time ever!! Maybe I’m done with the 160s. Sometimes you just need to know that it’s possible. I’m also not unhappy with the choices I made this week, so I have no regrets. Fluctuations happen. I do hope that my weight fluctuates in the other direction next week, but I guess we will just have to wait and see.

As I’ve mentioned, I’m trying hard to pay more attention to whether or not I’m hungry and to what I really want to eat. What I’ve realized is that I was using my daily points as if they were a dollar burning a hole in my pocket. I was trying to eat the most little things I could–because 6 little things seems like bigger bang for my buck than 1 big thing– but, as a result, I wasn’t always eating what I wanted. I was totally the kid at the candy store who preferred a whole bag of five cent Tootsie Rolls to one Milky Way bar. I think I’ve been nickeling and dime-ing my way through the day, when sometimes I really want something that might cost me a quarter but leave me SATISFIED! What a revelation! I hope I’m on my way to a style of eating that doesn’t have “plan” or “system” or “program” attached to it. I feel like I’m on the path, and that I will get there if I just keep listening to what my body has to tell me.

I’ll leave you with a “before” picture today. I was in London visiting a very good friend of mine in 2005. We were having coffee at Covent Garden and she snapped this photo of me “mugging” with my mug. I really think it is valuable to look at my old pictures from time to time to remember just how far I’ve come. I was around 280 pounds here… nearly 125 pounds more than I weigh now. The knowledge that I’ve made it this far, gives me every certainty that I can continue onward to greater health and smaller pants.  🙂

cropped-nicole-at-covent-garden

I hope you have the best weekend ever!!! Our weather is supposed to be warm, and I’m really hoping to take a long ride on the Mount Vernon Trail. I haven’t ridden since last fall, so I expect it to be tough. That’s fine with me! I do like a challenge!!

13 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

13 responses to “Friday Weigh-in Stats and a Fruitylicious Snack

  1. Wow… you really know how to leave us at the edge of our seats waiting for the WI drum roll! Congrats on starting your new relationship with the 150s. So glad it’s not a one-week stand!

    Great looking snack–I love kiwi. The Biggest Loser cookbook gave my the idea of slapping some Cool Whip in between a couple of graham squares and freezing them for a low-cal ice cream sandwich-style treat. So good!

  2. Erin

    I love the look of that snack! I love simple things in a new combo. Its the best.
    You have a great attitude about your weight and eating, which is so inspiring! Good luck with everything and you are doing amazingly!

  3. HAPPY FRIDAY! Oh yes, couldn’t agree with you more!
    And that snack is deliciously colorful! I want, I want! =D

  4. kiwi plus graham — yum!!

    you HAVE come a long way — and the weight loss just represents a huge change toward a healthier lifestyle. great job!! it’s so rewarding to see your hard work paying off.

    enjoy your riding this weekend!

  5. KensingtonMom

    Congrats on the weigh-in stats! Two weeks in a row in the 150s is wonderful!!!

  6. I have been working out for about 5 years and just love it. Keep up the great work! 🙂

  7. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Looks like you have done a great job with improving your health lately..wow!

    Hopefully we can both figure out this whole pumpkin oats thing!

  8. WOW!!!!! You are seriously an inspiration!! I have my WW story on my site too… I’m hoping that some day I can get to where you are! I’m amazed at the weeks when I earn 15 APs, let alone 30?! WOW!

  9. Congrats on being in the 150’s! Yay. I never thought to eat kiwi with graham crackers – something else for me to try.

  10. Tina- Mmm… Frozen Cool Whip!

    Thanks for the encouragement everyone! I feel like every pound I lose now is like icing on the cake! I’m so grateful for where I am now. 🙂

  11. mmmm love that kiwi treat!

  12. I hope I’m on my way to a style of eating that doesn’t have “plan” or “system” or “program” attached to it. – Sounds like you are totally on this path to me! Keep listening to your body – you’ll get there. I’m working on this myself.

    I used to work in Convent Garden on a student work visa. Ahh, memories – thanks for that. 🙂

    Here is a great recipe for a possible graham cracker spread, one I’ve been meaning to try myself:
    Raw Key Lime Pie Filling
    1 Avocado, 1/4 cup of Coconut Oil, 1 tbls of Lime Juice, 1 tbls of Agave. Blend…enjoy.

Leave a Reply

