Spicy Chicks to Liven Up a Tuesday

Spicy Lime Chicks

Since last week was a mix of sick days, work at home days and training days followed by a “work-at-home-snowy-Monday,” it felt like I hadn’t been to my office in forever. Well, today it was time to get back to the usual grind. It was kind of hard to get back in the groove, but I usually find that it’s a positive thing when my routine gets a good shake.

I’ve become very regimented with my afternoon snacks. I’m not sure that’s bad, but I’m not sure it’s good either. I usually ration out my points so that I can have snacks at 2:30, 3:30 and 4:30– like clockwork. The thing is, that schedule flies in the face of my efforts to listen to my body and eat when I’m actually hungry. I’ve realized that my snack schedule is basically a way to create little milestones each day to break up the monotony of my afternoon.

Since my schedule has been disrupted anyway, today was a good day to focus on having those afternoon nibbles when I was actually ready for them and not when the clock told me that I was entitled to a snack. It went pretty well, I think. I didn’t really have less snacks than usual, but that isn’t the point. I’m just trying to do a better job of listening, and I think today was a good day in that respect.

Speaking of snacks, I have a quick and easy one for you this evening. I had some chickpeas leftover from Saturday evening’s pasta toss, and I was craving something spicy. I usually roast my chickpeas in the oven, but I was in a bit of a hurry this evening. As a result, I decided to try them on the stovetop. The results were not as crispy and nutty as the oven method, but the flavor was good, I enjoyed snacking on them after I went to the gym and they only took 10 minutes to make. If you want to try the oven method for a crispier chickpea, you will find a recipe from the Weight Watchers site here. I do love them cooked to a crisp in the oven. It just takes a little longer to make them that way. If you find yourself with leftover chickpeas and little time, I’d recommend this quick method that still provides tasty (but less crunchy) results:

Spicy Chicks

Skillet Roasted Spicy Chickpeas

Ingredients:

1 tsp. olive oil

1 cup canned chickpeas– drained, rinsed and patted dry

1/2 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/8 tsp. salt

Juice of 1 lime

Directions:

Heat oil in a skillet over high heat. When oil is hot, add the chickpeas and cook, stirring frequently, for five minutes. Reduce heat to medium high. Sprinkle chickpeas with chili powder, garlic powder and salt. Continue cooking and stirring frequently for 2 minutes. Sprinkle the peas with lime juice and cook and stir for another 3 minutes. Remove from heat and allow them to cool enough that they won’t burn your fingers or your tongue. Eat them like popcorn for a quick and spicy treat.

This makes 4 unofficial 1 point servings.

Chickies

I have to be in for an early meeting tomorrow, so I guess I’d better wrap this up. I’m trying to make myself go to bed at a decent time lately, as I’ve gotten into the bad habit of staying up way too late. I’m going to make some tea and head to bed with Diet Girl’s book in hand. I’m really enjoying it so far. Goodness knows– I can certainly relate! Before I go, I have a BUNCH of awesome contests to mention and a very cool free desktop calendar from one of my favorite blogs that is available to everyone. 

First, I want to remind you about MY CONTEST!!! You can still enter to win some of my favorite snacks in celebration of my 50th post. Just click on this link to check it out. I want to know when you are most likely to have a snack attack!! I’ll be sending a couple of tasty snacks in the winner’s direction to try to help with that situation.

In other news: 

I love the website, Chocolate &  Zucchini, and was so excited to see that there will be a new food related desktop calendar available each month from the site. I downloaded the March calendar, and the picture makes me so happy. I thought I’d pass on the link in case you were interested in getting your own. I’m a sucker for all things French and/or food related, so this is the perfect thing for me!

Check out the gigantic giveaway that Alisa is having at One Frugal Foodie!!

There are amazing bars to be won from Diana at Strawberry Shortstuff!!

Krista is also giving away some awesome stuff over at Krista’s Kravings, so be sure to check that out!

Vani is giving away the chance to get some granola of your own design(totally cool!) at Fit for Free.

That’s all I’ve got. I’m off to bed! G’night!!

12 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

12 responses to “Spicy Chicks to Liven Up a Tuesday

  1. Oh wow, thanks for sharing the recipe. It does look like it is jammed packed with flavor. I’m thinking I might try the oven method. I like crunchy eats! =D

  2. They really are great in the oven. It just takes about an hour, and I needed my snack ASAP!! LOL! 🙂

    I do really like the skillet version, but I may have to make some in the oven this weekend too and get my crisp on!

  3. Oh awesome! You are just the master of cooking, seriously! I am going to try this one this week!

    On another note – I tried out the cauliflower recipe you posted a few weeks back, and it was incredible. Keep up the great blog!!

  4. Thanks so much. You are very sweet!

    I love hearing that someone has tried one of the recipes from my blog. I’m so glad you liked it! I’m supposed to be getting cauliflower in my produce box tomorrow, and I’m thinking of making some more of the curry. I’m a big fan of that recipe myself. 🙂

  5. I love chickpeas, need to remmeber this one!

  6. Those chickpeas look really good. The only way I have really enjoyed them in the past is in hummus. But these would be a great snack to keep around. Thanks for posting. 🙂

  7. I can sympathize about wanting to break up the afternoon.

    Those chickpeas look great! Definitely beats the hour in the oven. 🙂

  8. mmmm roasted chickpeas are so good! thanks for sharing the shortcut stovetop version.

  9. Yum – I’m a bit obsessed with chickpeas lately, but I’ve never made the crispy. Sounds delicious and really simple. Thank you!

  10. I just had some leftovers for a little snack. 🙂 I think I was actually hungry too!

  11. Pingback: Creamy Cauliflower and Cannellini Soup « Just Sweet Enough

Leave a Reply

