Friday Weigh-in, My Weekly Snack Idea, A Celebratory Contest and a BSI Reminder!

Laughing Cow Light Wedges and Wasa Crisps

Some title, right? I have a lot to tell you today! Make sure you check out my fun little announcement at the end of this post. First– the weekly snack. This week’s featured snack is one that I enjoy quite often: Laughing Cow Light wedges and Light Rye Wasa Crisps. My friends and I love Laughing Cow wedges so much that we have nicknamed them. One wedge, or one “moo ha ha” as we call it, is 1 Weight Watcher point. Two “moo ha has” will cost you 1.5 points. Don’t ask me why. I do enjoy WW math, and I’m not complaining!! “Moo ha has” are wedges of soft and spreadable cheesy goodness that go well with a host of things. They also come in a fun package! 

Today’s suggestion involves smearing some yummy “moo ha has” on some Light Rye Wasa Crisps. Again with the interesting WW math: a serving (2 crisps) is 1 point. A serving and a half (3 crisps)… is also 1 point. I like to have 3 crisps and 2 “moo ha has” for a lovely crispy and cheesy afternoon snack. If I don’t have an extra point to spare for the crisps, I eat my “moo ha has” on celery or grape tomatoes. 

Laughing Cow light wedges come in three different flavors: Light Swiss Original, Light Garlic and Herb, and Light French Onion. I love all three! You can see two types in the photo along with the crisps and my fun little piece of Laughing Cow paraphernalia. I spent some time in Portugal back in September, and I had the pleasure of grocery shopping while I was there. It’s always so much fun to check out grocery stores when I’m traveling! The supermarket where we bought our beach grub had a few little freebies for us. One of those items was a cute little insulated bag featuring my favorite cow with the Portuguese words for “the cow that laughed” (according to my free translator.) I knew that the bag was meant for me! 

I know that Laughing Cow wedges are pretty widely available since my mother is able to find them in my little hometown. I bought some Wasa crisps while I was home for the holidays, which makes me think that those aren’t too hard to find either. I’ve also had crisps of the same sort made by Ryvita and Kavli, and I enjoy them all pretty much equally. If you can’t find one brand, perhaps you can find another. Just make sure to check the points as all varieties are not created equal.

Ok, now on to the Friday business of telling you how my week went on Weight Watchers. First, my points stats:

Points Stats

Daily Points Target: 22

Weekly Points Remaining: 0/35

Activity Points Remaining: 24.5/27

I ate my weekly points, as usual, and had most of my activity points left at the end of the week. I think that’s pretty good and pretty typical.

Workout Schedule

Friday: off

Saturday: 65 minutes of cardio combo (elliptical, running and walking with incline on the treadmill, jump rope intervals and stairmaster) with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

Sunday: 45 minutes of strength training,35 minutes of cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Monday: off

Tuesday:  45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Wednesday:  60 minutes of kickboxing

Thursday: 65 minutes of cardio combo with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

Once again, this was a pretty typical week. Because I was sick for most of the week, I didn’t earn as many activity points as I sometimes do, but I was in the ballpark. Too bad you don’t get points for napping or blowing your nose! If you are wondering why I keep mentioning how “typical” the week was– keep reading.

Over the last couple of weeks, I have mentioned how stubborn the scale has been, and lamented the fact that I’ve been hovering around the same number for so long. I’ve been trying to rethink the way that I decide what to eat (or not to eat) during the course of a day, and I’m trying to decide how many more pounds I really want to lose. I have been thinking things through a lot, and I think I’m making some good progress. I don’t know if my body just decided it was time to let go or if it was responding to the positive changes occurring in my mindset. I also don’t discount the fact that I was fighting a cold. What I do know is that, following a pretty typical week, I had a very atypical week on the scale. Last week, I weighed in at 160.4. This week, I weighed in at 155.8 with a 4.6 pound loss!! Whatever the reason, I am, understandably, excited! This is a brand new number that I’ve never seen before. I also haven’t had such a large loss in quite some time. Will it stick? Time will tell. For now, I’m claiming it and doing a little happy dance!!

In other news, I’ve realized that this is my 50th post!!! I feel like I just started doing this yesterday! How is that possible? I’m having so much fun that time (and posts) are flying by. I decided that a little contest (my first ever) was in order to celebrate my 50th. Since this is a Friday snack post, I thought it only appropriate that I give the winner a couple of snacks featured in previous Friday snack posts. The winner of my little contest will receive a bag of Lesser Evil Black and White Kettlecorn and a bag of Gerbs pumpkin seeds in your choice of mild, spicy or lightly salted. 

Lesser Evil Black and White Kettle Corn

Pumpkin SeedsHow to Enter:

There are several ways to enter, but I’m sorry to say that this is only open to U.S. residents.

  1. You may enter by commenting on this blog post and answering the following question: When are you most likely to experience a snack attack?
  2. If you have a blog, you can earn a second entry by linking back to this post in your blog.
  3. If you do not have a blog, you can earn a second entry by sending an e-mail to melodylawgirl@yahoo.com with “50th Post Snack Giveaway” in the subject line.

On Friday, March 6th, I will randomly choose a winner. That’s right– a whole week (well…almost) to enter and to spread the word! All entries must be in by Thursday, March 5th at 11:59 PM EST. These snacks are yummy ones, and I hope you will be the winner!! Thanks for celebrating with me! 

In other important contest news, here is your BSI reminder!! BSI entries need to be in to me by midnight on Sunday, March 1st. This week’s featured ingredient is the lovely black bean. I hope you can find some time in your weekend to come up with an awesome creation!!

Alright, now it’s time to get on with the business of the weekend! I hope you will be having fun in your kitchen cooking up something good (with black beans, of course). I have some weekend kitchen plans of my own, and I can’t wait to share them with you over the next couple of days. Happy weekend!

35 Comments

Filed under BSI, diet, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

35 responses to “Friday Weigh-in, My Weekly Snack Idea, A Celebratory Contest and a BSI Reminder!

  1. Congrats on your 50th post! I always miss my milestones and realize it a few posts later!

    Around 3-4 pm I almost always need something to eat.

  2. foodsthatfit

    First of all, congrats on the loss this week! 4.6 pounds shows some major hard work on your part. I know you have been frustrated with the scale not moving, but today’s weigh-in shows that eventually it will pay off, maybe just not as soon as you’d like! Second, yea for 50 posts! I really enjoy reading your blog and hearing about your progess! I love Laughing Cow cheese as well and often use it to make a fake-out version of alfredo sauce! Just add one laughing cow wedge, a splash of milk or Fat Free half and half, salt and pepper and microwave or cook on stoptop stirring frequently! Lastly, I find I am most likely to experience a snack attack when I am tired! It all goes out the window then!

  3. 50th post AND a weight loss that leaves you comfortably in the 150s? That’s fantastic!

    When do I get a snack attack? When I’m tired, stressed or irritated.

  4. M

    Yea, Sweetie! That is a fantastic loss! You certainly have worked for it. Enjoy!

    50th post parrrrrrrty….throws confetti!! 🙂

    I think I’m most likely to experience a snack attack in the late afternoon or if I’m really tired. Lately, I have so many great ideas from you I get by just fine! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Contest! « Downsized!

  6. Erin

    Congrats on the amazing weight loss. I so love your blog! I’m so happy I found it.

  7. ***50th POST PARTY!!!***

    Great weight loss this week! I hope I have something similar tomorrow a.m…
    I’ll be sending you my BSI recipe in a minute!

  8. Brandi

    congrats on the 50th post and the 4+ lb loss!!!

    Most likely to have snack attack: in the afternoon. I don’t know what it is!

  9. Rachel

    Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Thanks, y’all!! I’ve been smiling all day. 😉

  11. Oh wow, delicious! GO laughing cow!
    And when am I likely to have a snack attack? In the afternoon. Or in the evening. Those are the hardcore times.

  12. i linked to your contest as well.

  13. Laura E

    Congratulations on your 50th post, you’re doing awesome! I don’t have a blog, but would love to be entered into your contest. I sent you an email for an extra entry! Thanks for the opportunity 🙂

    I’m most likely to have a snack attack in the evening after supper. When I think I need something sweet, I can definitely overdue it just because it tastes good.

  14. Congrats on the loss this week – that’s awesome! Love Laughing Cow cheese so much. I’m filling up on it today as I’m going dairy free for the month of March. 🙂

    I always get major snack attacks in between lunch and dinner.

    Thanks for the giveaway and enjoy your weekend.

  15. WOW! Your workout schedule is insane! I’m so jealous. 🙂

    A BIG congrats on that weight loss. That’s totally awesome.

    So, to enter the contest: When do I have a snack attack?
    In the car after a hike. I always have to carry some goodies in the car. I’m also bad about sressful situations or when I’m tired. I just usually toss a couple of Fiber One bars in my purse for a “just in case.”

    I’ll be linking to you from my blog for an official second entry in the contest. I need all the help I can get. Must have kettle corn! 😉

  16. yay, congrats on the 50th post! i’ll link back to your contest on my next post this afternoon.

    and ahhhhh, awesome job on the weight loss! it’s amazing how things just work out sometimes when you’re not expecting them to.

    snack attacks are most likely to hit me ANY TIME, but especially around 3pm!

  17. Anne

    Congrats on your 50th post, and the loss! My snack attacks usually happen in the afternoon around 2:30-4:30.

  18. Congrats on the weigh in this week. It looks like you earned it. You do quite a week of working out. I so wish I could get so motivated.=(

  19. AnAppleADay

    sounds yummy!

  20. AnAppleADay

    oops forgot to answer your question

    I usually have snack attack mid-morning~

  21. Pingback: Chocolate-covered breakfast « Tales of Expansion

  22. M

    ? for ya, Sweetie.
    I remember you posting something made with fig infused vinegar. It caught my eye at the time, but now I can’t remember what it was. Help?!

    We’re having your recipe for the sugar snap peas with fresh fish tonight. I’ll let you know how it turns out! 🙂

  23. congrats!!
    snack attacks 2-4pm. killer.

  24. KensingtonMom

    Hooray!! What an inspiration. Thank you for sharing all your hard work.

    When do I have snack attacks? Hands down, the answer is late evening, after the kiddos are tucked into bed. It is a terrible battle every night but victory shall be mine.

  25. Those look delicious!

    I am most likely to have a snack attack when I am working; which is during afternoons.

  26. L

    I love laughing cow! I think it’s good on a piece of toast or in alfredo sauce. It doesn’t even taste like “diet” food.

  27. dinainsuburbia

    wow- that’s a GREAT loss!!! congrats!

    hmmm- lets see…. snack attacks… most often snack attacks happen when I’m bored… can really come at ANY time.. mostly mid afternoon when blood sugar dips, but always when I don’t have much to do…

  28. Lynne

    Congrats on the loss and on 50 posts! 🙂

    I don’t have one particular time of day that snacks call to me. Rather, whenever I am bored, I want to munch. That reminds me, I need to pick up some gum at the store. It can help postpone me sticking food in my mouth.

  29. Pingback: Attack of the Stomach Bug « Life is yumbo

  30. Pingback: Spicy Chicks to Liven Up a Tuesday « Just Sweet Enough

  31. I almost always have a snack attack in the mid to late afternoon. Around 3-4 pm.

  32. Pingback: Sunny Basil Orange Salad « Just Sweet Enough

  33. What a great prize! Def right after work before my workout (around 4 pm)!

Leave a Reply

