Molasses Cookie Oatmeal

A History of the World in 6 GlassesMolasses seems to be my theme this week. After making molasses crinkle cookies yesterday, and vowing to try molasses in my morning oats (which I did), I came across molasses in my book this morning on the metro. Commuting is never fun, but I don’t mind it as much when I’m reading an interesting book. A friend let me borrow this one, and it has been entertaining me during my time on the metro. As it says conveniently on the back cover, this book “presents an original, well-documented vision of world history, telling the story of humanity from the Stone Age to the twenty-first century through the lens of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola.”

I’ve made it through beer and wine, and this morning I was in the section on spirits. Lo and behold… molasses was mentioned a number of times. In particular, it was mentioned as an “otherwise worthless leftover from sugar making” that could be used to make rum. Awesome! I’d never given much thought to the role of molasses in the history of the world. I just thought it was tasty on my biscuits. I love when fun facts from my reading overlap with my breakfast! Speaking of breakfast…. I did make a bowl of molasses cookie oats this morning, and I will be making more tomorrow. They were yummy!!! Here’s how I made them:

First, I put 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger and 1/4 tsp ground cloves in the bottom of my bowl along with a pinch of salt.

Bowl of SpicesThen I added 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats (2 points) and 1 cup of water and gave it a good stir. I zapped it in the micro for 3 minutes. I stirred it up and then added 1 Tbsp of molasses (which is 1 point) and 1 tsp of turbinado sugar (0 points):

Yummy OatsAfter I stirred it all together, it was basically the same color as my cookie dough from yesterday:

Molasses Cookie OatmealI have to say that it tasted very much like a molasses cookie, but had the added benefit of being a bit more substantial than one of my cookies. If I only had a cookie for breakfast, I would be a very unpleasant person by the time lunch rolled around. I don’t know how people survive on a donut or a danish. I need some substance! I did get a little hungry before time for lunch so I think I may need to turn this into peanut butter molasses cookie oatmeal or have a few almonds as a side dish in order to get a bit of protein in the mix, but it was definitely a satisfying breakfast. It’s also good to know that I can satisfy a molasses cookie craving with something healthier!! I’m really looking forward to tomorrow’s bowl!

Do you have a favorite oatmeal concoction? Peanut butter? Pumpkin? I’d love to hear about it. I’m always looking for something new to add to mine!

14 Comments

Filed under diet, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

14 responses to “Molasses Cookie Oatmeal

  1. Today I made oatmeal with a little light butter and honey. I know it sounds strange, but I always add a bit of butter in my oatmeal – I grew up eating it that way, and it just doesn’t taste the same without it. Luckily, the light butter is lower than some margarines, so I don’t feel bad about using it.

    This molasses oatmeal sounds good. I’ve only used molasses a few times in the past (when making molasses crinkles), so I’m anxious to get some and try this. It just seems like the perfect thing for a cold winter morning.

    1 question – what’s turbinado sugar?

  2. I love butter and honey in almost anything. I know what you mean about childhood tastes sticking with you. That’s why I think my grits need to be sweet instead of buttered and peppery!

    Sugar in the Raw (brown packets at Starbucks) is the most common brand of Turbinado sugar around here. It is refined, but not as much as white sugar so some of the molasses-y quality stays in. I keep some around because I like it on the tops of cookies and muffins.

    I’m eating molasses cookie oats with a little bit of peanut butter right this very second!! I love them! 🙂

  3. That sounds good! I just like regular ole banana oats with PB.

  4. yum!! my parents used to make me molasses oatmeal all the time growing up, and it’s still one of my favorite add-ins. i like to do it “gingerbread” style!

  5. What a great and healthy idea. Each of those spices are supposed to provide us with great health benefits and it’s so much better than buying the “instant flavored oatmeals” they try to serve us. I’ll have to give this a try. I haven’t had molasses in ages!

  6. Nice to see you today, ladybeams!

    This morning I came across the Molasses Act in my book. I’m passing my own Molasses Act and declaring it to be eaten year round at my apartment… not just during the holidays!

    I also read this quote by John Adams: “I know not why we should blush to confess that molasses was an essential ingredient in American independence. Many great events have proceeded from much smaller causes.”

    It is not only nutritious relative to many other sweeteners, it is apparently patriotic too! Wow! I’m learning so much this week. 😉

  7. foodsthatfit

    Your oats look fabulous! My favorite mix is chocolate and almond butter mixed in my oats!

  8. I’m a molasses nut and really like it in oatmeal, though I’m also a fan of savory oatmeal with pepperoni and a little sprinkle of parmesan. You should try a drizzle of molasses over strawberries. It has a similar effect as balsamic vinegar with strawberries and really contrasts well with their sweetness.

  9. Maggie, I’ve never tried my oatmeal in a savory version, but have to say that your suggestion sounds quite yummy!

    I also love the idea of molasses and strawberries. I’ve been a fan of balsamic and berries for awhile now (often with a little fresh basil mixed in), and this sounds like a good variation. Thanks for the suggestion!

  10. M

    SO many great ideas! I love it.
    Thanks everyone. 🙂

  11. Vani

    AHH YUM! I love molasses cookies! And I love molasses on oatmeal! good call on the spices 🙂

  12. Thanks, Vani! I’ve been having molasses cookie oat bran as an evening “post-dessert-dessert,” and I’m totally hooked!

    Glad you stopped by!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

