A Little More Light

Night SkyAs I was leaving work last night, I couldn’t help trying to capture these trees against the sky with my camera. Why was I so excited? Well, it was around 6:00 and it was not completely pitch dark!!! I’ve been excited this week to have a few warmer days, although I know that the cold is headed back in our direction. This morning, there was a faint whiff of spring in the air. It was heavenly.

Winter is always tough, but I have a new reason to look forward to spring. Over the past few years, as I’ve looked for ways to make my workout schedule more interesting, I’ve done a lot of walking, running and cycling on trails near my apartment. When it is cold… and when I leave work in the dark…  well… I end up slogging away in the gym night after night. I don’t do the same thing each time: working out with my trainer twice a week, kickboxing once a week and working out on the cardio machines the rest of the time. There is some variety, but there is nothing like being outside getting some fresh air, checking out the changing scenery as I walk, run or bike past it, and just feeling like I really LIVE in my neighborhood rather than simply using it as home base. 

The last couple of nights, I’ve taken advantage of the break from the freezing temperatures to walk to a metro station that is about 20 minutes away from the one closest to my office. Just being out without needing to wear my gloves has improved my mood. I also figure a few extra steps a day can’t hurt.

This morning, while walking from the metro to my office building, I took a deep breath and assured myself that spring always comes and this year would be no exception. Each day it is a little bit closer, and my gym incarceration is closer to being over. I just wanted to share my excitement!

4 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

4 responses to “A Little More Light

  1. I hear you! We are having a short break from the COLD this week and it ROCKS! 🙂

  2. I’m so thankful for a brief reprieve! Thanks for the comment, and for stopping by. I checked out your blog too. What fun! I’ll definitely be visiting again soon!!

  3. yes, spring is going to come again!! i can’t believe how light it was when you were leaving last night.

  4. I’m so ready! I miss my flip flops terribly!!!

Leave a Reply

