Just Sweet Enough “Baked” Apple for One

Cute Little Granny

This evening I made one of my favorite quick fruit desserts, and I thought I’d share it with you. I try to post recipes that use “real” food as much as possible. I don’t avoid artificial sweeteners, and I have some sugar free Torani syrup in my coffee mug each morning. That being said, I do try not to overdo the fake sweets. I’m sure that I could come up with lower point value desserts if I was more willing to use lots of Splenda, but I look for a bit of balance. This recipe uses a little bit of brown sugar and some sugar free syrup so it is a good example of that compromise. 

I also want you to know that I will try not to use too many obscure or harder to find ingredients in the recipes I post on my site. I grew up in a rural part of Arkansas, and I am very aware of how spoiled I am now that I live in a metropolitan area with lots of grocery stores to choose from. There is no Whole Foods in my hometown. There is also no Trader Joe’s anywhere in the close vicinity. When I lived at home, I once ordered arborio rice in the mail. I mention this because I took some Torani syrup home with me this year when I went to visit my family over the holidays, and my mother is now looking for an economical way to replenish the stock. On-line ordering is obviously an option, but it is frustrating when the shipping charges are as much or more than the charges for the product itself. I guess this is all my way of apologizing if you have trouble finding this ingredient where you live. I feel certain that you could substitute some splenda and possibly some fresh lemon juice, but I will admit that I haven’t tried it. If you do, please let me know.

Baked apples are such a cozy food, and I played around with the recipe until I figured out how to make one for only 1 point. According to my calculations, either a small or medium sized apple will still result in a 1 point dessert. As for the rest of the ingredients, aside from the syrup, you will likely already find them living happily in your pantry. Adding cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to oatmeal and little desserts like this one is a good way to use up the spices you might have bought during the holidays. They do get stale eventually, so I like to try to use up what I have an buy fresh ones fairly often. Without further adieu, here’s my recipe:

Just Sweet Enough “Baked” Apple for One

Ingredients:

1 small or medium sized apple (I used a granny smith today, but I’ve made it with galas, fujis, macintoshes, braeburns… I think any kind will work)

1 tsp oats

1 tsp brown or Turbinado sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice

1 tiny pinch of salt

6 spritzes of spray butter

4 tsp sugar free Torani syrup (vanilla, almond, coconut, almond roca, brown sugar cinnamon, white chocolate… any of these would work)

Directions:

Remove the apple core with an apple corer or a melon baller, leaving the very bottom of the apple intact. This helps to keep all of the filling inside and allows it to cook up properly. Just remember not to eat the bottom stem part when you are enjoying your apple.  Put the apple in a small microwave safe bowl. Layer the ingredients inside the apple in this order: Oats, salt, sugar, spice, spray butter, syrup. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Microwave for 4 minutes. Allow to stand for one minute before removing the plastic wrap.

Carefully remove the plastic wrap and allow it to cool for 1-2 minutes. You may need to stir the filling around a bit with your fork depending on the juiciness of your apple. Eat it as is or with a serving of fat free Cool Whip on top. If you have the points, some light vanilla ice cream would be great with it as well.

Unofficial ww points: 1

Confession: I accidentally removed the bottom of the apple so don’t be misled by this photo. Perhaps I will make another apple this evening and replace the picture. Mine turned out ok, but leaving the bottom intact keeps the wet ingredients from running out the bottom and makes the filling cook much more nicely.

Cored AppleMy kitchen isn’t huge so I try to avoid extraneous kitchen gadgets. I don’t have an apple corer, but my melon baller works just fine for that task so I don’t need one!

Filling

Ready to Eat

Of course, you could always throw in a few dried cherries, raisins, nuts or other things like that, and just add the points. As with everything I make, this is my basic plan. I can always check my points situation for the day and decide whether I can “afford” any embellishments. If you try it and add something fun, I’d love to hear about it!


5 Comments

Filed under diet, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

5 responses to “Just Sweet Enough “Baked” Apple for One

  1. Amy

    Brilliant, absolutely brilliant! I am making one right now!

  2. Oooh! I hope you like yours. I’m having one for dessert this evening. I have an apple or two that, well, let’s just say they’ll be better off cooked than eaten out of hand. They are a wee bit wrinkly, but they will be perfect for this.

  3. Pingback: A Day in the Life… « Just Sweet Enough

  4. Lynne

    I just made one and I had to modify the recipe slightly to fit what I had on hand. I used 3 tsp of brown sugar (total) instead of the sugar free syrup and I used 1/2 tsp of butter instead of butter spray. My Baked Apple was 2 points. Overall it was good but a little bitter. I’m wondering if it has too much cinnamon for my taste or if the apple could be at fault? Maybe I need to add more sugar? I think I’ll try it again with less cinnamon first and see if that helps.

  5. Lynne,
    I’ll bet you are right that it is the cinnamon. I bought some back in December that is a bit milder than other cinnamons I’ve had before. I didn’t really think about that when I wrote out the recipe. I think I’ll go back and edit the post based on your comment. Sorry about that! I also appreciate hearing about your 2 point version. It sounds like it would be tasty. Brown sugar plus butter is rarely bad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

