My Turnip Epiphany AKA My Turniphany?

Turniphany

It has been Monday all day today, and I’m just happy to be home and happily occupied with making dinner. It ‘s amazing how much cooking usually relaxes me and improves my mood. I’m not making anything particularly challenging or fancy tonight, but I am going to be making a couple of things that I really enjoy eating: Oven Roasted Turnips and Oven Roasted Green Beans.

When I first tried roasting vegetables in the oven, I was so surprised at how much flavor they get from roasting. I started to wonder why I ever ate them any other way. They become much sweeter than I would have thought possible. Thanks to roasting, I was shocked to learn that I liked turnips. I’ve always LOVED turnip greens (cooked with bacon… of course), and I remember being unhappy when my grandmother would occasionally chop up some turnips on top of the greens. I hated the way the boiled turnips tasted. I always thought they were bitter and disgusting.The roasting process transforms them into something that I love and look forward to eating. They caramelize on the outside and get a little bit crispy. Mmmm!

Look! I managed to remove the peel from this one in one big piece. Yes, I do get bored sometimes. Thanks for asking.

All in One Piece!

There were always tons of green beans in the garden, and we used to can a lot to eat over the course of the year. As a kid, I called the ones canned from the garden “real green beans” as opposed to the ones bought from the store, which I guess I must have considered fakes. Green beans were usually cooked with bacon too and often with some small potatoes. I loved them, and wouldn’t have believed anyone who told me that I would one day learn to love them in this healthy way. 

I tend to use the same basic method for roasting green beans and turnips as well as broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, winter squash and tomatoes. I might vary the seasonings that I sprinkle on, and I know that some things like broccoli will brown up more quickly than more dense veggies like the winter squash or tonight’s turnips so I usually adjust the cooking time accordingly. This evening, I will plan to take the green beans out after about 20-25 minutes, and leave the turnips in for about 30-35 minutes. I always check them periodically to see how they are doing. They should get sort of browned, that’s the goal, but they are really hard to mess up. Sorry that I’ve sort of commingled two recipes. Hopefully, I won’t confuse anyone.

Oven Roasted Turnips and Oven Roasted Green Beans

First, I heat the oven to 450 degrees.

Second, I spray two large baking sheets liberally with cooking spray.

Third, I remove the thick purple peel from the turnips, cut the turnips in half and then slice the halves into wedges. Then, I lay the turnips, cut sides down, in a single layer on the baking sheet.

Turnips About to get ROASTED!

Fourth, I wash the green beans and remove the stem ends. I pat them dry with a towel to remove as much water as possible and then spread them out in a single layer on the other baking sheet.

Ready for the Oven

Fifth, I sprinkle the veggies with salt and pepper or a seasoning blend of some sort. Tonight I’m using the McCormick’s garlic and herb grinder for the green beans and some plain salt for the turnips. 

Sixth, I spray the seasoned veggies with the cooking spray and then pop them into the oven.

I check the green beans at 15 minutes, just to be safe, but plan to leave them in for 20-25 minutes. The turnips will take longer, so I’d check them at around the 20 minute mark and plan to leave them in for at least 30. The turnips should look nice and brown on the top, and may be a bit puffy as well. The green beans, well, what can I say? They are going to look browned and sort of shriveled up. Trust me when I tell you that they taste a million times better than they look. 

Roasted Awesomeness

As far as points go, I’m only using cooking spray and zero point veggies so you do the math. If you wanted to use some olive oil or mix olive oil and cooking spray, you could figure out the points pretty easily. I’m having my veggies with a grilled chicken breast this evening, and I’m ready to eat! I hope you will try this method of cooking veggies. It is super easy, and super delicious!

12 Comments

Filed under diet, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

12 responses to “My Turnip Epiphany AKA My Turniphany?

  1. I am totally having turnips for dinner tomorrow.

  2. Lynne

    I’m horrible at roasting anything except sweet potato. I’m going to have to try the turnips and green beans. Never had turnips before!

    When you get the inkling, can you post times and pictures of other roasted vegetables, winter and summer squash, bell peppers, and brussel sprouts in particular? These are the vegetables I’ve ruined trying to roast. So your pictures really help me! Thanks!

  3. Clickmom, I can’t wait to have some leftovers tonight. It’s as if I’ve discovered a totally new food! I hope you enjoy yours!

    Lynne, I can definitely do that. I roast veggies all the time. I’ve never tried roasting Brussels sprouts, but you may have inspired me to give that one a shot!! If you check out an earlier post, https://thisisjustsweetenough.wordpress.com/2009/01/22/gotta-lotta-delicata/
    you can see some winter squash that I roasted. I used delicata squash that day, but any other type (butternut, acorn…) would work the same exact way.

    Thanks to both of you for stopping by!!

  4. run4change

    I love to cook green beans that way. My sister turned me onto it. Great post.

  5. Thanks. Yeah… they remind me ever so slightly of a French Fry type food. I tend to eat them with my fingers. 🙂

  6. I never thought to roast anything other than potatoes or carrots. My husband likes raw turnips sliced with peanut butter. Not bad but not my favorite. I’ll have to try roasting the 3 he has living in the fridge now. I just hope my oven will hold out. It tends not to like cooking over 350 for more than 20 minutes even though it is only slightly over a year old.

  7. I never thought of eating them raw! Hmm… I’m intrigued. I like almost anything with peanut butter. I might have to try that. That’s a bummer about your oven! I’d be in trouble. I give my oven a workout on a pretty regular basis!!

    If you try them, let me know how you like them!

  8. Pingback: Dillicious Golden Beet and Red Onion Salad « Just Sweet Enough

  9. dmiklojcik

    I just found some green turnips at the market. They look great, but I have no idea what to do with them. I tasted a bit raw and they seem to be a lot more flavorful than the turnips I’m used to. I believe they are asian in origin, any ideas?

    • Hmm… I’m no expert on asian turnips (but I’m sure I’d love them!!), so I’m not sure what to suggest. If you liked the taste raw, you could always treat them like cabbage or jicama and make them into a slaw. If it were me… I’d probably roast them! That’s often the answer in my book!

  10. Pingback: Weekend Recap « Just Sweet Enough

  11. A pal encoraged me to read this page, brill post, fanstatic read… keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

