Friday 1/30 Weigh-In Stats and Weekly Featured Snack

Almonds and Dates

My featured snack this week involves a pairing of 2 organic medjool dates and 14 grams of cinnamon toasted almonds. If someone asked me to list the sweetest foods I know, dates would be on that list. When I was a kid, we sometimes had date balls at Christmas. Making date balls involved forming chopped dates mixed with some other things into balls and then rolling the balls in powdered sugar. I liked them, but never really noticed the dates very much. The first time I ate one on its own, I have to say that I was shocked! It was like a dense, amber colored, honey like nugget of sugary goodness. Just remember to watch out for the pit in the center! By the way, each date is .5 point.

As for the almonds, I love nuts, but I do my best to be careful with the portion sizes. You’ve probably seen plenty of articles touting the health benefits of different types of nuts, and almonds always come out as superstars. The bag suggests eating an ounce (28g) as a serving, but I’m typically unwilling to spend 3-4 points on a little handful of nuts. I’m not, however, opposed at all to spending 1.5 points for 14 g of these. They go so well with the dates, and they are truly one of the most satisfying treats I can think of. The almonds in the photo are from Trader Joe’s, but you can see that I have cocoa dusted almonds and vanilla bean flavored ones in my stash as well.

My Almond Stash

Ok. Enough procrastinating. It’s time to get on with the stats portion of this post. First, the numbers.

Points Stats

Daily Target:22

Weekly Points Remaining:0/35

Activity Points Remaining:31/31

I ate all of my weekly points this week, but didn’t touch my activity points. That’s the goal I shoot for most weeks, so I’m happy that I managed to stay within that range. I ate out less this week than the last, although I did have a salad from Chop’t on Friday night and sushi with some friends on Sunday evening. Those meals both involved  foods that are pretty basic and easy to plug into the tracker.

How did I earn my 31 activity points?

Workout Schedule

Friday: off

Saturday: 65 minutes of cardio combo (elliptical, running and walking with incline on the treadmill, and stairmaster) with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

Sunday: 60 minutes of kickboxing

Monday: off

Tuesday: 45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Wednesday:  65 minutes of cardio combo with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching

Thursday: 45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

This week’s workout schedule was finally back to normal. My trainer had been out of town the previous week, and I was left to my own devices with regard to last week’s strength training. She was back in full force this week, and she kicked my behind! I’m pretty convinced that I’ve been more sore than usual this week in part due to her attempts to get me to improve my form. As I mentioned yesterday, I know from experience that the more soreness I am experiencing, the more water I’m retaining and, yep, the more I’m going to weigh.

That brings me to the results of this week’s weigh-in. It went much as I suspected. This is my third weigh-in post, and I think that it is only fitting that I show you all three possible outcomes. The first week, I gained .2 pounds. Last week I lost 1.6. This week… I stayed exactly the same. Last week I was at 161.8 and this week I am at 161.8. 

When I first started this process, I would lose consistently every week unless I had gotten off plan somehow. My progress with the number on the scale has gotten slower and slower as I’ve gotten closer to my goal. I try to periodically increase my workout intensity and that sort of thing, but some weeks I just don’t get the results on the scale that I would like. As I’ve mentioned before, during those weeks, I try to look back at my week and see the positive things that I did. I ate well within my points this week (I could have eaten all of those activity points as well and still been on plan), and I earned a respectable number of activity points. Would I take back the workouts that kicked my behind? Absolutely not! Honestly, I’d take a week of staying the same over a week with a gain most any day, and I know that I did what I needed to do this week to take good care of myself and work toward my goal.

When I have a week like this, I just try to remember that my hard work from this week is an investment in a future weigh-in. I’m a firm believer that it will be reflected on the scale eventually.

Now I’m off to the gym and then I’m going to put a big pot of beans on to soak overnight. More on that tomorrow!

 

12 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

12 responses to “Friday 1/30 Weigh-In Stats and Weekly Featured Snack

  1. KensingtonMom

    Great week!!

  2. Thanks. Of course, I would have preferred a loss, but I’ll take a “same” over a gain any day!

    I hope you have a great week too (and a fun weekend)! 🙂

  3. KensingtonMom

    My weigh-in is on Monday. I’m at exactly 22 points for the day and I’m sitting here tempted to eat my 3 exercise points even thought I’m NOT hungry. I think that is my clue to just go to bed and get a good night’s sleep.

  4. I absolutely know what you mean. I’m out of points for the day and wanting to snack. I think my bed is calling me too. Good for you for earning some APs! I’m off to sleep. Hopefully, I will not dream about snacks. 😉

  5. run4change

    As for the almonds, I love nuts, but I do my best to be careful with the portion sizes.

    I feel the exact same way. If they are just sitting around I tend to grab a few everytime I walk by 🙂 Those points add up to be sure. You are doing great and keep up the good work

  6. Thanks, run4change. Everything in moderation, right? 🙂

  7. run4change

    That is the goal anyway 🙂 I just gotta meet that goal. HAHA

  8. run4change, I’d say that you are doing a pretty good job meeting your goals already. 🙂

  9. 4pam

    Sweetie Pie, thanks for dropping in on my blog! I’m not sure I would have found yours otherwise, and I am so glad I did. It is soooo encouraging and real! I look forward to following your journey.

  10. Pam,
    Thanks so much for dropping by mine, and thanks for your encouraging words. I’m new at this, but having fun so far!

    Best of luck to you with your goals! I’ll be cheering for you!!

  11. What a great snack idea!

    I recently found flavored almonds from Blue Diamond that were terrific. I loved the wasabi/soy flavor, but also enjoyed the chili/lime.

    Your attitude is so good. I still get upset if I don’t see at least a pound loss each week, but I have to remind myself, as you said, that this is a slow process. Slow and steady wins the race, right?

    I’m amazed at how many APs you get in a week! I’m very inspired by that.

  12. I’ve tried the wasabi/soy ones you mentioned (and really liked them), but I have not tried the chili/lime. I might need to get some of those. That sounds really really good!!

    Slow and steady definitely is the way to go. I always find that, despite my efforts not to obsess, I get a little bit unhappy when I know I’m doing something that could push me back in the other direction (like my birthday dinner), but I know that I have to enjoy my life or I will start to have negative feelings of deprivation, which can lead to bad things. I’m really trying to improve my ability to strike a good balance between enjoying myself and staying strictly on track. I’m getting better about it, but it really is kind of hard.

    I know that I’m not going to reach a magical number and then be done with the whole process. I’m ok with the fact that I will always have to work to maintain a healthy weight. I think that having that realization makes it necessary to find a way to balance things out in order to be able to live my life and stick with my plan forever. It is hard, but we can do it!

Leave a Reply

