Naked Lasagna?

Portobellos

I didn’t have a lot of time to make dinner this evening, but I did have plenty of produce in the fridge from my Merry Produce Wednesday box. While riding the metro home, I started thinking about what I could throw together. Oftentimes, I will make an omelet or a frittata when I’m in a rush, but I needed something even quicker. It occurred to me that a scramble was the answer.

I had a couple of portobello caps that I bought with the intention of making stuffed mushrooms. A week later, they were still sitting around unstuffed, and I needed to use them. In my quest for healthier eating, I’ve gotten in the practice of reading all sorts of articles and books about food and nutrition. I recently read an article that mentioned portobellos as a good source of potassium. I loved portobellos already, but that made me love them even more!

I always have onions in the pantry, and I bought a big bag of arugula this weekend that I’ve been having on sandwiches. I like arugula and spinach because both are good fresh on sandwiches and in salads, but they are versatile enough that they can be cooked as well. I decided that onions+mushrooms+arugula would be a good start. First I chopped up a quarter of a rather large onion and then sautéd it in a bit of cooking spray until the onion was soft. While the onion was cooking, I removed the stems from the mushroom caps and cut the portobellos into cubes. When the onion was nice and translucent, I added the mushrooms to the pan with a good dose of dried thyme, some salt, and some freshly ground pepper.

Onions and MushroomsAfter the mushrooms had shrunk quite a bit and were nice and tender, I added a couple of big handfuls of the arugula.

Enter the ArugulaI continued stirring the veggies around over pretty high heat until the arugula was wilted. At this point, they were ready to be scrambled. 

Nice, Wilty and Ready to Scramble

I put half of the mushroom mixture in a smaller skillet and saved the rest for a scramble or omelet tomorrow. Why chop twice when I can chop once? I added 1/4 cup of egg beaters and the last bits of cottage cheese from my big container (a couple of tablespoons) to the veggies, and then just scrambled it all around until the egg was cooked. I would have added 1/2 cup of egg beaters, but I was down to the last 1/4 of a cup. Time to go to the store! I always keep those on hand because they are such a quick low points value source of protein. I could have added a couple of egg whites, but I decided to just go with it.

Naked Lasagna and PB&P

What I ended up with reminded me of the filling from a vegetable lasagna. Lasagna filling without the noodles… naked lasagna… get it? Ok. It has been a long day. Anyway, it doesn’t look pretty, but it actually tasted quite good. I decided to declare this an evening breakfast meal so I had a piece of high fiber toast with some Better ‘n Peanut Butter and pomegranate seeds on top– one of my favorite combinations. After that, I had one of my leftover muffins from the batch I made yesterday with a glass of skim milk. It was quick. I got some good fruit, vegetables and proteins in the mix, and I was ready to head to the gym.

Tonight’s workout was a strength training workout with my trainer along with 35 minutes of cardio. I have been more sore than usual this week after my workouts, possibly due to a concentrated effort to improve my form. The cause is unclear. What is clear is that soreness sometimes sends a weigh-in in a direction that I do not prefer. I know that the hard work will reflect on the scale eventually, but I really hate when the numbers don’t go the way that I want them to go. Tomorrow morning is my Friday weigh-in, so I guess we will see what happens. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

Leave a Reply

