Cooking for the Week: Black Bean and Corn Salad

Beautiful Red Bell

I like to make a big batch of something on Sundays that I can have for lunch throughout the week. With the cold weather, I’ve been making a lot of soup. Yesterday, however, I was inspired by a pretty red bell pepper at Trader Joe’s. I decided that, instead of having soup in my lunch bag this week, I was in the mood for a salad that I haven’t made in quite some time.

Ingredients

The recipe for this Black Bean and Corn Salad is in the Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2001 cookbook, but I can’t seem to find it on-line. Since I can’t provide a link, I have copied the recipe below:

Cooking Light Black Bean and Corn Salad

from Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2001, p. 321

Ingredients:

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup cider vinegar

2 Tbsp brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp fresh lime juice

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp salt

1 garlic clove, minced

1 cup fresh or frozen whole-kernel corn, thawed

1 cup chopped red bell pepper

3/4 cup chopped onion

1/3 cup minced fresh cilantro

1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

Bring first 7 ingredients to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat, and simmer 2 minutes or until sugar dissolves. Combine vinegar mixture, corn, and remaining ingredients in a large bowl; cover and chill. Yield: 8 servings (serving size: 1/2 cup).

Unofficial Points info: I put all of the ingredients into the recipe builder and it gave me the following results: 8 servings are 1 point each, 6 servings are 1 point each, 4 servings are 2 points each. I’m probably going to divide mine into 6 servings for a point each. 

Black Bean and Corn Salad

I’ve heard it said many times that we should try to eat the rainbow, and this salad is definitely a colorful dish! I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve made this recipe, and that is a pretty good sign that, for me at least, it is a keeper. I’ve made it to take to potlucks and picnics since it is free of mayo and other ingredients that might become questionable in warmer weather. I like to take some for lunch with a chunk of cheddar cheese and some light tostitos or whole grain crackers. It is also great for dinner with grilled chicken, pork tenderloin or flanksteak. It is incredibly quick to make, with only a bit of chopping and a short simmer time on the stove, and I think the whole thing took me less than 15 minutes from start to finish. I should also tell you that I always use frozen corn, and find that it works quite well. I just put a cup of the frozen corn in a small colander and rinse it off under some cold water. Even if the corn isn’t completely thawed when it gets mixed in, it will continue to thaw out while the salad is chilling in the fridge.

I’m never really happy about the prospect of returning to work after the weekend, but knowing that I have something colorful and tasty waiting to go into my lunch bag on Monday helps a little. I hope you have a great week!

snacky salad

9 Comments

Filed under diet, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

9 responses to “Cooking for the Week: Black Bean and Corn Salad

  1. Anna Humphries

    I am loving your blog please don’t stop I check it at least 2 time each day. You are a great cook and you have lost so much weight and look so good keep it up. Anna

  2. Anna,
    Thank you so much! I’m so happy that you’re enjoying it. I’m having a lot of fun putting it together each day (and a lot of fun taking silly pictures of my lunch too!!). It is really nice to know that you are reading it. ( :

    Hope you are staying warm. I see snow flurries out my window!

  3. That salad looks really good! I love all of the ingredients, except for the cilantro. I know, I’m weird, what can I say?

    So, what is the serving size if you have 6 servings? It looks like a little over a cup in that bowl, right? I’m thinking about making this salad over the weekend. 1-2 points for a salad like that is great!

  4. Bella,
    According to the recipe, each serving should be 1/2 of a cup if you divide it into 8, so it should be 2/3 of a cup divided into 6. I think the portion size is pretty good considering the low number of points!

    I don’t think you are weird at all! I didn’t like cilantro very much the first few times I had it either. I guess it has grown on me. I’ll bet this salad would taste great with parsley or chopped green onions in place of the cilantro if you like those things better.

    Let me know if you try it!

  5. I am going to try this recipe, I love black beans and peppers. I think I will have to double the recipe because the guys I know will take more than the normal serving! Cute blog! Thanks for stopping by dorazsays. Appreciate your comments! Happy 2009!

  6. Happy 2009 to you too, and thanks for popping over to my blog! I hope you will give this recipe a try. It is definitely one of my favorites. 🙂

  7. carolynwantstoshrink

    I am SOOOO going to be making this. Thanks so much. Will report back 🙂 Sending your warmth from Perth, Australia

  8. Definitely report back if you do make the recipe. I’d love to know what you think!

    I’m really enjoying the salad in my lunches this week. It is kind of a summery sort of food, and I can at least pretend that it is summer, right? 🙂

    For now, I’m soaking up the Australian warmth, and feeling happy that you stopped by!

  9. This is one of my old favorites and always a hit at parties. I couldn’t find my own copy and was so glad to find it on the web, thank you! I’m bring this to a super bowl party along with guacamole taquero (recipe on epicurious), which is made with tomatillos which not only lighten up the calories, but also keep it from getting brown. Yummy, healthy food!!
    –Melissa

Leave a Reply

