Before and Current Photos Courtesy of the DMV

Samples

As far as I’m concerned, going to the DMV rates right up there with taking a trip to the dentist, and I HATE going to the dentist. My birthday will be here in a couple of weeks, and my license was set to expire on that day. As if that wasn’t reason enough to suck it up and go, I’ve also gotten some quizzical looks from people checking my i.d. lately. Although sometimes it could come in handy, I don’t typically wish to be mistaken for someone other than myself. Every fiber of my being wanted to stay in my nice warm bed this morning and procrastinate getting a new license for a few more days, but reason won out. I decided to just get up and get it done. I will say this from the outset: I have only encountered nice and helpful people at the Arlington DMV, and I think they do a fairly efficient job of moving people through and taking care of business. It just so happens that there are a lot of people living in this area, and a lot of them, like me, try to do the DMV thing on a Saturday morning.

I came to the party prepared. I had a big bottle of water, snacks, the last 175 pages of Anna Karenina, lip gloss, a utility bill (just in case I needed to prove that I live where I live…) and my renewal form. I was all set to hunker down for a long wait– or to go for a short hike.

I got a sense of how things were going to go when I had to start the adventure by standing in a line OUTSIDE of the building. There was a security guard blocking the entrance and controlling the flow of people. When I made it into the lobby and got to hang out by the big board of sample license plates (pictured above) for about 10 minutes (check out the Parrothead one… I did… several times…), I was excited to be making progress. Eventually, I got into the actual DMV, and got to stand in the line where you get to take a number. A031You may be thinking that A031 seems good. A– it is the first letter in the alphabet. The number 31– it isn’t that big. Well, I should tell you that they call out a mix of letters A-F with numbers up to 500 per letter in some sort of order that is neither alphabetical nor numerical. I think I got called at some point after D476. There are 20 customer service windows accompanied by this very calm and somewhat creepy voice that calls out numbers and tells you which window is ready to provide you with service. Again, I think it is fairly efficient, but it still involved about an hour and a half of waiting in lines, filling out forms, and listening to that voice before I was out the door with my new license. It is certainly a different experience than going to the DMV in my Arkansas hometown where your number might be 4, you can tell who has the number before yours because they were there first, it is likely that you will run into someone that you know, and there are a couple of people at desks who don’t have the benefit of fancy windows, digital signs or creepy automated voices. There is much more suspense at the good old Arlington DMV and much more time spent waiting your turn. 

Arlington DMV

So, why am I making you suffer through my trip to the DMV along with me? Have I lulled you to sleep yet? I’m talking about it because, when A031 was called, I had a victorious little weight loss moment. I got my last license in the summer of 2004. My renewal form included the number that I reported as my weight at that time, and I must have been feeling quite generous because I’m pretty sure I spotted myself a good 30 pounds. It was taken before I started my second attempt at losing weight so I was about 130 pounds heavier than I am today. This time, I was very proud to give my real digits! I was also happy to get a new picture, even though I think my hair looks kind of weird. Here is a before photo and a current photo courtesy of the DMV:

2004January 2009Now, I’m pretty sure that the chair was closer to the camera in the old picture, but I still think there is a pretty noticeable difference. I’m also not sure why I look so shiny, why I’m sporting a fuschia glow, or why I have a crooked face. Do I look that way normally? If so, please don’t tell me. Crazy picture aside, I’m just glad to have a new license that is good until 2017. If you are one of my friends with an awareness of my bad parallel parking skills, thanks for not sending any anonymous letters to the DMV. I do appreciate it. I have no idea what the next 8 years will bring, but I’m pretty sure that I will need to do some driving during that time. 

I accomplished quite a few tasks today. I had my DMV adventure, went to the gym, got a haircut (bad timing… I know… should have gotten the haircut first!), and ended the day with a trip to Trader Joe’s. I bought the ingredients to make one of my favorite black bean salads from an old Cooking Light recipe, and I’m planning to tell you all about it tomorrow. Right now, I plan to enjoy my cup of tea and try to finish my book. Kind of boring? Well, last weekend was pretty busy, and I’m just happy to have a quiet Saturday to get caught up on errands and have some time to relax. It couldn’t be more perfect. I hope you are having a perfect weekend too!

Bigelow Vanilla Caramel Tea-- one of the coziest teas I know!

Bigelow Vanilla Caramel Tea-- one of the coziest teas I know!

8 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

8 responses to “Before and Current Photos Courtesy of the DMV

  1. That tea looks good. I’m going to look for it.

  2. WOW! That’s a big difference in pictures 🙂 GO you!

    I’m hoping that when I renew in October, I’ll be able to tell a drastic difference as well – great idea to post them both!!

    I also have to agree – that tea look really good.

    (And thanks for visiting us at Loserville 🙂 )

  3. Thanks! I thought it might be kind of a fun way to show progress. I bet you’ll have a similar experience in October!

    As for the tea, it certainly tastes awesome, but the fragrance is probably my favorite part. I do love the scent of vanilla!

    I enjoyed my visit to Loserville, and I’ll be coming back again soon. Take care!

  4. momof2wants2loselots

    OMG! Wow, what a transformation! That is an amazing feat, you should be so proud of yourself. You are a beautiful woman – before and after, as I said on WW, you are a true inspiration to me! Thanks for sharing and congratulations on your your amazing accomplishments!

  5. Mom of 2- Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m glad that you are seeing your own success, and just know that I am rooting for you!

  6. Angela

    You are such a beautiful woman, it is hard to say that one of these photos is better than the other. But many congratulations are in order for the amazing health milestones you have already reached. I’m subscribing to your blog as we speak! (type) Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Angela, Thanks so much! What a nice thing to say, and you have no idea how much I appreciate it. It is tough for me not to think of one photo as being “better” than the other, and to remember that I’ve been the same person all along. I think, with time, that mindset is improving. This blog is helping me with that.

    I’m glad you stopped by, and I hope to see you here again soon!

  8. I had a similar experience when I had to get a new license when I moved to Massachusetts last year. I got my old NY license when I was 22 and fresh out of college. My new one was 4 years and about 100 pounds later 🙂 I may have to do the comparison.

Leave a Reply

