Friday Stats and a Favorite Snack

Yogurt and Fiber One

Well, it is Friday again and time for me to give you the rundown on my week, my weigh-in and one of my favorite snacks.

This is not a revolutionary new snack idea or product find. This is simply one of my favorites and something that I eat on an almost daily basis. In case the picture doesn’t speak for itself, the bowl pictured above contains 6 ounces of flavored low-fat yogurt topped with 1/2 cup of Fiber One cereal. It’s hard to eat yogurt without feeling somewhat virtuous, and I have some just about every day as one way of meeting my daily dairy requirements. I like yogurt. I enjoy eating it. However, I prefer mine with a little bit of a crunch. If you have been a follower of the Weight Watchers plan for very long, you probably know that a serving of Fiber One cereal is zero points. That’s right– zero. Sometimes I snack on it alone if I’m looking for something sweet and slightly crunchy. Most of the time, however, I like to have it with my yogurt. The cereal does look funny– like rabbit food or tiny twigs– but what it lacks in looks it makes up for in taste, texture and fibery goodness. If you haven’t tried it with your yogurt, think about it. Crunchy yummy zero point goodness doesn’t come along very often!

OK! Now let me tell you about my week. I knew that this was going to be a challenging week because there were a lot of social activities and special events on my calendar. I used some of my best tricks and kept my focus and I was able to finish the week in pretty good shape as far as points go.

Points Stats:

Daily Target: 22 points

Weekly Points Remaining: 0/35

Activity Points Remaining: 21/36

As you can see, I earned a pretty decent number of activity points this week– 36. If I hadn’t been working out and trying to rack up some points, I would have exceeded my weekly points allowance by quite a bit. Banking plenty of activity points was a major part of my strategy for being able to enjoy the fun events this week without finding myself with a points deficit at the end of it all. I also cooked at home for friends several times (as opposed to dining out), which made it much easier to have healthier food, count points accurately, and use my measuring gadgets.  Plus, it was a lot of fun!! I kept the festive caloric beverages to a minimum, drank plenty of water, and I didn’t blow off entire days just because part of the day was going to involve a bit of an indulgence. 

Workout Schedule:

Friday: 60 minutes of kickboxing

Saturday: 65 minutes of cardio combo (elliptical, running and walking with incline on the treadmill, jump rope and stairmaster) with 10 minutes of core exercise and stretching. Bonus 30 minutes of brisk walking to and from the bachelorette party on Saturday evening

Sunday: Same 65 minute workout as Saturday plus 10 minutes of core exercises and stretching

Monday: 30 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes of cardio combo, 10 minutes of stretching

Tuesday:total of approximately 10 miles of brisk walking to and from the inauguration, and well over an hour of standing around in the freezing cold with occasional bouts of hopping up and down in an effort to feel my feet. That has to count for something! ( : 

Wednesday: Day off!!

Thursday: 45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

All of the activity points really saved my points tally this week. What impact did it have on my weigh-in? Well, last week the scale had gone up by .2 and told me that I weighed 163.4. Today, the grand total is… drum roll please… 161.8. I lost a total of 1.6 pounds this week, and I am very happy that I was able to enjoy myself while staying on course. I am also happy that I’m making progress with getting back to my pre-holiday weight of 159.6. I’m hoping to lose some “new” pounds soon, and I’m geared up to have another good week!

Now, that I have all of that out of the way, here’s a happy bonus tea picture for Friday. I’m apparently obsessed with taking photos of tea. It is pretty, but it is also truly one of my favorite little treats. I decided to save all of my coffee for the office, and I enjoyed a cup of tea while getting ready for work this morning. Today’s choice is Fruit Ambrosia tea by Allegro. Now, I love just about anything with the word “ambrosia” in the title, and this tea doesn’t disappoint. The wrapper describes it has having a syrupy body and a fresh fruit finish. I think that describes it pretty well. This tea is big on flavor!! I also think the color is beautiful, which makes me enjoy it on a whole other level. Speaking of enjoying things, I hope you enjoy the weekend!!

Allegro Fruit Ambrosia

8 Comments

Filed under diet, Fitness, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

8 responses to “Friday Stats and a Favorite Snack

  1. KensingtonMom

    What a great week for you! Your exercise totals are very inspiring. I love the squash pictures as well and will be trying that out myself. Love the blog — it is quickly becoming one of my favorite things to check on the net.

  2. Thanks so much for your encouragement, KensingtonMom! It is so nice to know that I have an audience. Have a great weekend!

  3. Your posts are inspiration…I feel myself slipping a bit, getting lazy about planning my food choices. I’m glad I have your blog to look at to remind me what motivated looks like!

  4. Thanks, momo-mama. It is hard, isn’t it!? I think I do a pretty good job of staying within my points, but sometimes I can find myself in a bit of a rut where I eat the same things over and over again. I’m hoping to try to break up the monotony a bit, and this blog seems to be helping me to do that. Thanks for your visit!!

  5. Mmmm. I love crunchy yogurt. I use homemade granola.

  6. Yum! I’ll bet that’s awesome! What do you put in your granola?

  7. My sisters in law make it so I’m not exactly sure other than oats baked together with corn syrup.

  8. Aren’t you the lucky duck?! How nice that your sisters in law keep you supplied with homemade granola. I’m having lemon yogurt today with blueberries and fiber one. I’m sure it will be yummy, but I’m still jealous of your crunchy yogurt topper! Perhaps I need to start reading some granola recipes…

Leave a Reply

