Getting Back To Normal

Mr. Lincoln

Well, the big event has come and gone, and the crowds of tourists were noticeably smaller on my metro ride this morning. DC is in the process of getting back to normal. After my four day weekend and a lot of fun events, I had to go back to work today and try to get back into my normal routine too. I am planning to tell you how I fared with my attempts to stick to my healthy eating plan while enjoying the festivities when I check in on Friday, but, for now, I’ll just say that, unless someone ties me up tomorrow and force feeds me donuts, I should have a few WW points to spare at the end of the week. Yay!!

My refrigerator is sort of an interesting place right now. I have bits and pieces of leftover fruit, vegetables and cheese from the entertaining that I did over the weekend. Because I’m still a little bit behind on sleep, I wasn’t in the mood to do any interesting cooking today. I had a bowl of my rice pudding for breakfast using rice I had sitting in the fridge, took a boring sandwich for lunch, and decided that, given my laziness and the random little items in the fridge, this was the perfect evening for a salad dinner.

Salad DayI cooked a chicken breast sprinkled with some garlic and herb seasoning on my indoor grill. Some day I will write an ode to my Cuisinart Griddler. It is one of my favorite kitchen gadgets! Anyway, I cut up the chicken, and then I tossed three ounces of it in a bowl (I’m saving the rest for lunch tomorrow) with some Boston butter lettuce, leftover bits of pineapple and pomegranate, the rest of the feta from the spanikopita and frittata (that feta served me well!), and the lone leftover piece of turkey bacon from yesterday’s brunch. I then dressed it all up with a mixture of coarse grainy mustard and balsamic vinegar. I love the mix of the tangy cheese, the sweet fruit and the spicy mustard. This was a quick, easy and filling dinner, and it helped me to clean some things out of the fridge.

The other thing I’ve been enjoying in large quantities today is nice steamy tea. My office was unbearably cold when I got in this morning. The rumor has been that they turn off the heat while the office is closed. Well, we just had a four day weekend. Oh, and did I mention that it has been in the 20s or below the last few days? It was cold. The space heater brigade was blazing away at full force. Fuses were blowing (I saw the electrician twice today– once when my fuse blew and later when the same thing happened to my neighbor), and people, myself included, were sitting around wearing scarves and drinking hot beverages. That got me to thinking that I haven’t mentioned tea yet. That is inexcusable! I love to enjoy a nice cup at least once a day. I never feel the need to add anything to mine, so it is a guilt free treat, and it is so very satisfying!  I kind of think of it as flavored water deluxe.  I have lots of favorites, but today, my drink of choice was Yogi Tea’s Tahitian Vanilla Hazelnut.

Yogi Tahitian Vanilla HazelnutTea is another one of those unexpected treats that I have found since changing my eating habits. I have always been a fan of sweet tea AKA “The House Wine of the South” (I mean, aside from the calories, what’s not to love!!!), but I didn’t really start drinking hot brewed teas until I was well out of college. There are so many different kinds available that I’m able to feed my craving for variety without feeding my body extra calories. I love it white, green, black, red, fruity, spicy, herbal, caffeinated, decaffeinated… I just love it. I love the smell, the taste, the pretty teapots and teacups, the way it turns the water different colors, and I love that the hot mug can serve to warm my nose and my fingers. It was just the thing I needed today to get me through the process of getting back to normal and to improve my chances of survival in the arctic land called “My Office.” If you are already a hot tea drinker, I’d love to hear about your favorite kinds. If you aren’t a hot tea drinker, think about giving it a try. At the very least, it will warm your fingertips, which could be an added bonus if you try it on a cold day. If you become as enamored as I have, you might even find a new unexpected and completely guilt free treat!

One more thing: It is Merry Produce Wednesday. I got some really nice squash in the box today, and I’m planning to show you my favorite way to prepare them tomorrow. Now that I’ve made some room in the fridge… it is time to fill it up again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

Leave a Reply

