Inauguration Day

White HouseI was on the national mall today for the inauguration with some friends of mine. What an exciting day!  It involved a 10 mile trek (5 there and 5 back), so I got some exercise in without having to go the gym. I also think I probably burned some bonus calories by hopping up and down trying to stay warm. It was quite cold for a girl from Arkansas! I’m pretty pooped and just ready to crawl into my warm bed, but I thought I’d post a few pictures of the crowd. 

View from the Mount Vernon TrailWe walked along the Mount Vernon Trail to the Memorial Bridge. This is a shot of the monuments from the trail. I’d also like to point out that the Potomac is frozen. BRRRRR!!!

The LincolnWe crossed the Memorial Bridge and walked to the Lincoln Memorial. There was quite a crowd on the steps.

View of WWII Memorial and the Washington Monument from the LincolnThis was the view up the mall from the Lincoln. The reflecting pool… also frozen. I’ll say it again: BRRRR!!!

The Washington MonumentI think I took this one while walking. Sorry that I didn’t get the tip top of the monument. Oops! We ended up hanging out beside the Washington Monument in the middle of a very excited crowd.

Inauguration

[Sorry about the late edition of a new photo. This picture of me was taken by a very good friend of mine, and I find it quite amusing. I love it because it speaks volumes about the weather situation– yet another unforgettable aspect of an amazing day. Hopefully, he will not mind that I added it to this post.] All in all, it was a good day. Now, I’m off to bed!

2 Comments

Filed under Weight Loss Success Story

2 responses to “Inauguration Day

  1. I was there also! In fact, I recognize seeing some of the people in your photos, so we must have been near eachother during the inauguration! Nice photos! 🙂

  2. That’s so cool! It’s funny– I’ve talked to several people now who were all standing somewhere on the north side of the Washington Monument. We keep joking about how surprised we are that we didn’t just bump into each other. Ha! So many people in such a small space. It was such an awesome day. I hope you managed to stay reasonably warm. I was the one hopping up and down a lot…

Leave a Reply

