Peanut Butter and Pomegranates

English Muffin, Pomegranate, Peanut ButterI promised you a prettier picture today, and I can’t think of a food that is much prettier than glistening pomegranate seeds!

I haven’t always been a breakfast eater. I remember a time when I could care less if I had breakfast or not, and when I considered toaster strudels, donuts and sugary cereals to be good choices when I did eat breakfast. If I happened to be at my grandparents’ house at breakfast time, I wouldn’t miss the sausage and biscuits, but, in general, breakfast wasn’t really my thing.

I’ve become devoted to breakfast since changing my eating habits. Breakfast is a good time to set the tone for the rest of my day, and I can have the satisfaction of knowing that I had a healthy meal no matter what comes next. To provide an easy framework for myself, I’ve set a goal that I can handle even in my bleary eyed and grumpy morning state: Get a serving of fruit/veggies or a serving of dairy for breakfast each day. If possible, have a serving of both! I also try to keep my breakfasts around five ww points– give or take a point. Today I have a latte made with a cup of skim milk, a little bit of chocolate sugar free Torani syrup and a couple of shots of espresso made in my little stove top espresso maker. Since I live in an apartment with limited space, I don’t have room for a huge fancy machine, and, truth is, I really like the espresso that I make with my cute little pot:

Stovetop Espresso MakerServing of dairy: Check! I’ve already met my daily breakfast goal. Today, however, I’m feeling like a breakfast super star. I removed the seeds from a pomegranate yesterday, and we sprinkled pomegranate seeds over our pancakes and had some in our champagne (floating them in champagne is a very pretty and tasty use… wish I’d taken a picture!) I’ve mentioned that pomegranates are one of the unexpected treats I’ve discovered in my quest for healthier eating, and I am always looking for new things to do with them. Today’s use of pomegranate seeds is one of my favorites. I toasted an English muffin (I like the Thomas Light Multi-grain variety), divided  1 Tablespoon of reduced fat peanut butter between the halves, and then topped them with pomegranate seeds. I weighed the seeds on my food scale so that I can accurately enter them in my food tracker. I like to use the seeds in place of jam or jelly, and the peanut butter makes a nice sticky surface so they don’t go rolling all over the place.

PB&P and a LatteServing of fruit/veggies: Check! I’m doubly successful today! Woo hoo! I set my daily breakfast goal because I was trying to make sure that my diet included the recommended number of servings of these important foods, and I’ve learned that starting off with a healthy breakfast puts me in the right mindset and places me firmly on the path to meeting that goal. I’ve noticed, however, that there is a much more practical reason to include dairy and produce in my morning meal– these kinds of breakfasts keep me full longer! If you are a pop-tart or donut breakfast eater, I’d encourage you to try my kind of breakfast instead. I’m no expert, keep that in mind, but I am an expert on my own experience. I think I have set a pretty reasonable daily breakfast goal for myself, and I like that it is an easy goal that I can keep for the rest of my life. Does that mean that I never have a donut or never enjoy a pop-tart? Definitely not! I love donuts!! I’d be sad if I knew that there were no donuts in my future!! Have I mentioned my sweet tooth?? If I can fit a donut (toasted coconut donuts from Dunkin Donuts are my favorite!)  into my daily points, I might enjoy one after I’ve eaten all of the healthy things I’m supposed to have during the day. Hmmm…. I think they call foods like that “dessert,” and I think that makes more sense than calling them “breakfast.”

I’m glad I bought an extra pomegranate. I know what I’ll be having for breakfast this week!

Pomegranates

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

9 responses to “Peanut Butter and Pomegranates

  1. Kelly

    Wow…that sounds sooo good! I’ll have to try that. I am a peanut-butter addict, so I’m always looking for new and interesting combinations, but peanut butter and bread is always a good place to start! Still, I never would have though of adding pomegranate.
    What’s the best way to get the seeds out of a pomegranate?

  2. I agree with you completely! I think it is hard to go wrong with peanut butter and bread. I’m a bit of an addict myself. ( :

    When I bought my first pomegranate a couple of years ago, I wasn’t sure how to get the seeds out either. I did a bit of googling and tried a couple of different methods (the underwater method and the technique I had seen on the food channel that involves banging the seeds out…), and I think the water method works the best. Here’s a link that explains it:
    http://ucce.ucdavis.edu/datastore/datastoreview/showpage.cfm?usernumber=54&surveynumber=289

    Removing the seeds under water is definitely safer for my clothing and my countertops. It is also easier to get rid of the little pieces of membrane since they float to the top.

  3. EnglishGarden

    I did not know I could love a food that was not chocolate so much. It is wonderful.

  4. I’m glad you like it! I do love a pb&j, but a pb&p might be my favorite!

  5. M

    I just recently found your blog and I just love it!
    We’re neighbors, we live in Fairfax Cty. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the fresh ideas!

  6. Thanks so much, M! I’m always happy to meet a neighbor, and I’m glad you are enjoying my blog. I’m having lots of fun with it. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Naked Lasagna? « Just Sweet Enough

  8. I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten a pomegranate before. I think I may have once when I was young, because my grandma had a pomegranate tree. I always thought of them as too much work, but that water method looks like a good one. I just may have to give them a second chance

  9. Oh my gosh! I’d love to have a pomegranate tree. I somehow don’t think I’d be successful trying to grow one in a pot on a balcony in northern Virginia, so I guess I’m doomed… for now. Maybe some day!!! I’m so jealous.

    It is a bit of work, but I find that it seems easier each time I do it. I have to enjoy them now because they always seem to disappear for awhile when spring rolls around. The “no pomegranate season” makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

