Friday Weigh-in Stats and Tasty Snacks

I do my weekly weigh-ins on Friday mornings, and I thought Fridays would be a good time for me to report on my numbers, my exercise schedule for the week and share some fun ideas for snacks.

First, I want to tell you about an interactive little snack that I found yesterday at my local Safeway. I’d heard the buzz on-line that Ready Pac had a line of new snacks like this one, but I hadn’t actually seen them in stores yet. I was excited to try one, and I got the Apple, Granola and Cinnamon Dip Snack Pac.

Ready Pac Apple, Granola and Cinnamon Dip Snack Pac

I enjoy eating apples naked and unadorned, but this is a fun and delicious alternative if you are in the mood to dress the fruit up a bit. I like to play with my food so things involving dips are perfect, and the granola added a nice sweet crunch. The portion size was great– there was the perfect amount of dip and granola, and I ran out of apples, dip and granola at the same time. As a bonus, it was only slightly more “pointy” than a plain apple.

Snack Pac

Now, on to the stats. Since I do the weight watchers on-line program, I weigh in at home. I have a scale that I like, and I try hard to keep my weigh-in time the same each week. The scale doesn’t always reward me for the work I’ve done during the week, but I’ve found other ways to gauge progress, like setting exercise goals, in addition to THE NUMBER. Another way is to simply look at the positive things I’ve done during the week. Before I tell you how I fared on the scale, let me tell you about the week. 

If you aren’t on Weight Watchers, I want you to know that I’m very happy you are reading my blog. I also want to apologize because I’m about to talk about points– but only for a second.

Stats:

Daily target: 22 points

Weekly Points remaining at the end of the week: 33.5

Activity Points: 28 earned this week and 28 eaten

I don’t tell you about everything I eat, but you should know that if I exceed the number of points I’m allowed to eat, I’ll fess up to it. I’m like that.  You should also know that I use a heart rate monitor to track the number of calories I’ve burned, and I check it against the ww activity calculator from time to time to be sure it is in line. I think that I used to overestimate activity points, so, when one of my very good weight watchin’ friends told me how much she loved her heart rate monitor, I decided to get one of my own. It has been such a great addition to my workouts!

My workout schedule is usually the same from week to week, but some scheduling changes with my trainer and kickboxing made this week a bit unusual. I almost always take Fridays off, and often take off Wednesdays as well. I usually kickbox on Sundays. This week is weird because I decided to workout today and took yesterday off instead. I’ve had a fair amount of muscle soreness this week, possibly as a result of the changes in my strength training schedule, and I think my body is probably happy with the two consecutive days of rest. However, I don’t think that it helped THE NUMBER. Hopefully, next week will be back to normal. I’ve set a goal in the new year to add 5 extra minutes of cardio to my cardio workouts with the idea that I will have an extra 25 or 30 minutes worth of cardio under my belt at the end of the week without any extra trips to the gym. I met that goal this week, and I’m happy with that accomplishment.

Last Week’s Work-outs:

Friday: off

Saturday: 65 minutes of cardio combo (combination of running on the treadmill, walking at an incline, ellipticals and stairmaster) 15 minutes core and stretching

Sunday: 45 minutes of strength training and 35 minutes of cardio combo with 5 minutes of stretching

Monday: 65 minutes of cardio combo and 15 minutes of core exercises and stretching

Tuesday: 45 minutes of strength training, 35 minutes of cardio combo, 5 minutes of stretching

Wednesday: off

Thursday: off 

 Ok, so that’s what I did this week. I ate within my points, and, while my workout schedule was a bit wonky, I still earned 28 activity points. Before I left for my holiday vacation, I was at 159.6. Last week I was at 163.2. This week… I am at… 163.4. Yes, I had a gain for my very first Friday weigh-in post. Although, I will say– I don’t beat myself up too hard for a gain of .2. A loss is still better, but I’m ok with that. It is probably appropriate that I had a small gain, because that is kind of how this process works. I know that I did what I needed to do this week, I met a new goal, and I will chalk this week up as an investment in next week.

Have a happy Friday! I am.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

2 responses to “Friday Weigh-in Stats and Tasty Snacks

  1. I just stumbled across your blog and thought I would say hello…

    I am currently doing the WW Core Plan. I just started it on Tuesday and was really into it in the past (45lbs ago). Anyhow, it’s nice to read a post about something that is on my mind!

  2. Hi, momo-mama! Very nice to meet you. I just checked out your blog, and I will definitely be checking it out more in the future. I’m so glad you stopped by!

    I’ve never tried Core, but I know a few people who swear by it. I’m kind of afraid I might be bad at the “stopping when you are full” thing. Good for you for getting started again. I hope it all goes well for you!

Leave a Reply

