Let’s Get This Party Started

I decided to honor the new year by starting a new blog. I’ve never blogged before, so please bear with me as I learn the ropes. As I explain on the “About Sweetie Pie” page, I used to weigh a whole lot more than I do now– more than twice as much, in fact. I even posted some pictures to illustrate the point. I spent most of my life in a body that was too big to let me really live the life I wanted. Now that I’m within sight of goal and living in a strong and able body, I’m making a lot of changes in the way I live my life aside from the obvious changes to my diet and my relationship with exercise. 

Over the last couple of years, there have been a number of weight loss blogs that have really inspired me. It was great reading blogs written by people that I could totally relate too. This is a tough process. It is tough physically, but it is pretty darn rough emotionally as well. I think I’ve learned some things on both fronts that could be useful to others, and I know that there are many things that I can learn from you. 

My current goal is to lose about 20 more pounds and celebrate reaching my goal weight this year. Stay tuned and we will see what happens. I’ve learned not to rush the process and to try to be kind to myself when I fail to live up to my idea of perfect, so, if this isn’t my year, there is always next year. Still…., it would be really nice. I have other goals such as increasing my running speed, doing more push-ups and that sort of thing, but I’ll talk about them later.

butter, eggs, sugar, vanilla and a little vinegar in a flaky crust. Yum. I only get it about once a year so I always make the most of it.

We always have a chess pie made from my great-grandmother's recipe. If you aren't familiar with chess pie, let me sum it up for you: butter, eggs, sugar, vanilla and a little vinegar in a flaky crust. Yum. I only get it about once a year so I always make the most of it.

Just to get things started, I’ll tell you where I am right now. If you celebrated the holidays with lots of festive foods, you might be able to relate. Last week, I came back from my holiday vacation in Arkansas weighing 13.6 pounds more than I did when I left. From experience, I knew that the scale would get back to a reasonable number pretty quickly once I got back on track, and it did not disappoint. The situation is much better this Friday than when I had my weigh in last Friday, but there are still five pounds hanging around that, if past experience is any indicator, won’t be going away so quickly. Before I can make real progress, I have to back track a bit. Frustrating? You bet. I know that I can’t be a “perfect” eater all the time, and, lets face it, I really enjoyed the cookies, pie, biscuits and barbecue that I feasted on while I was home.

Where there is chess pie, there is usually a pecan pie as well. My parents have a ton of pecan trees in their yard, so at least we are eating locally! Nuts are good for you, but I somehow think all of the Karo might cancel that out.

Where there is chess pie, there is usually a pecan pie close by. My parents have a ton of pecan trees in their yard, so at least we are eating locally! Nuts are good for you, but I somehow think all of the Karo might cancel that out.

Are you battling a holiday gain? The better question may be: Are you beating yourself up for what you ate over the holidays? I know that I need to leave it in the past and move forward. Still, there is always a little bit of regret. Am I the only one?

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Watchers

Leave a Reply

