The Peaches Made Me Do It

When you see what this post is about, you might be convinced that all I’ve eaten this week is dessert. I assure you that is not the case. Although, several food photos on my camera won’t help with that misperception. :-) First of all…

Beautiful BowlThe applesaucy pie from my last post was SO good mixed in with my morning oat bran and topped with walnuts. I’ve had this bowl every morning since I made my Great G-ma’s recipe, and today I ate the last of it. What would happen tomorrow? Would there be an oat bran crisis? Luckily, the peaches were super ripe and they were screaming for attention. This should make tomorrow morning’s oat bran bowl super sweet:

Peachy Keen!I love the original recipe, but it could certainly be a bit healthier. I’m taking on the challenge of experimenting with the recipe to see what I can do to retain the flavor and texture, but improve the specs. I’m moving slowly on this one, but I’ll certainly be updating you. I don’t want to make drastic changes all at once, so I’m experimenting a bit with each batch. The changes this time were minor, and I couldn’t tell any difference! I figure every little bit helps. :-)

  • I used 3 1/2 Tbsp. of butter instead of 4 (I plan to try 3 Tbsp. next time. I couldn’t tell the difference, so I’ll bet I could definitely use less.)
  • I traded out 1 Tbsp. of my regular flour for a Tbsp. of whole wheat flour. I’ll probably swap out even more next time.
  • I added a splash of vanilla extract to the batter.
  • I (obviously) used peaches instead of apples, and I’m sure that I used more than a cup of peaches. I put two whole peaches on top. Mo’ fruit is always mo’ better. :-)

PeachyliciousI’m sure that, with all of the awesome cooks in blogland, I am certainly not the first person to lighten up an old family recipe. What was your most successful experience with lightening up an old favorite? Sometimes it is as easy as replacing regular cheese or sour cream with lighter cheese or Greek yogurt. Since this recipe is a little bit weird, I’m hesitant to make a big change all at once so I’m easing into it. I often like the lighter versions better, so we will see what happens with this one! I will say that I would never ditch the butter. It’s a key to the flavor, and it’s a real treat to my taste buds. However, if I can use less and still get the dish I love, I certainly will.

So, in keeping with sweet eats, I should mention that I went to a beautiful wedding in D.C. on Saturday night. I had some of this gorgeous cake:

Congratulations!!That cake was followed by an amazing red velvet cupcake that I took home from the wedding in a cute pink box (what an awesome favor!!), and enjoyed on Sunday. I savored every bite. Yum! Each cupcake had a fondant medallion with the couple’s last initial perched on the top. I thought that was a great idea for a favor!

I also enjoyed the centerpieces, although I didn’t enjoy them with my tastebuds. ;-) I love hydrangeas, and I had to snap a photo:

Pretty!The wedding was beautiful, and I hope my friends will have many happy years together! :-)

Otherwise, this week has been kind of boring in the food department. I made a big batch food on the weekend, but it wasn’t really the type of thing that merits sharing a recipe. It was an attempt to rescue some produce from the brink. I cooked up a pound of 96/4 ground beef and sauteed in some squashes, slightly overripe heirloom tomatoes and a ton of herbs (oregano, thyme and basil) from my little balcony patch.

Mish MashI mixed it with a batch of Barilla plus elbows, and I’ve been having it for lunch each day topped with a bit of TJ’s light provolone.

Big Batch Munchy MunchI like Barilla plus pastas a lot, and they provide enough protein and fiber that they rank as more “valuable” than regular pasta in the nutrition department. This makes for a hearty and satisfying lunch. I cooked enough pasta so that I would have about half a serving of the pasta in each serving of the dish. It’s amazing how far the pasta goes when it is mixed with lots of tasty veggies and topped with cheese. Sometimes cleaning out the produce drawer turns out even better than expected. :-)

Here’s something else I’ve been enjoying this week:

Dippity DooHoneycrisp apples and PB2 mixed with Almond Breeze! Honeycrisps are my very favorite apples. ILOVE them so much. I look forward to them every year. PB2 is, however, not my favorite peanut butter product. :-( I bought some awhile ago, and it has been languishing in the pantry. It’s fine, but it doesn’t rock my socks off. I’d rather have a dab of real peanut butter (or almond butter… or cashew butter…) than a whole glob of PB2. Yes, in my world a glob is bigger than a dab. Do you agree? Anyway, I may have finally found a use for PB2 that I can get excited about. I mixed two Tbsp. of PB2 with enough almond breeze to make a rather thin dip. It went a long way, which was a good thing since this apple was ginormous! This will likely be the preferred method for consuming what’s left of my PB2 stash. Yum!

That basically covers my eats this week. Now, let’s play a game. Which of these pairs is not like the others?

New Shoes!I got an e-mail from Pacers yesterday reminding me about a 10K that will be happening on Saturday on the road in front of my apartment. Hmm… I haven’t really been running a lot as part of my cardio line-up lately, but it still seemed like a pretty good idea for me to sign up. I did that race a couple of years ago, and it was pretty fun. When I went to pick up my race packet this afternoon, I decided it was time to pick up some new shoes too. I’m an Asics girl, and I love my old 2130s. Today, I learned that the 2140s have arrived, and I’m happy to have a new pair of shoes that look different than the past three pairs I’ve had. They even have a cute little design on the tongues. Yay!!

I took my new shoesies for a test run this evening, and they felt great. I’m planning to just take my time on Saturday, and to walk part of the way if I feel like it. Since I haven’t really been training to run a 10K, I’m not out to set any new personal records, but I thought it would be a fun way to get in a Saturday workout. Sometimes, I still can’t believe that I’m fit enough to sign up for a 10K and actually plan to run most of it. I remember the days when I would have had a hard time walking that distance. At 340 pounds, I started out by walking for a few minutes at a time, and then built on that a little each day. The fact that I can bike and kickbox and run and lift weights and just do what I do is still sort of weird to me. Sometimes, I’m so amazed at how far I’ve come, even when the scale is being stubborn, and that is always followed by a huge feeling of gratitude. Anything is possible, blog friends. Never forget that!

So that’s what I’ve been up to this week– all in one mondo post. I’ve also been getting caught up on a lot of blog reading/commenting, and I’ve checked out some new blogs (and new to me blogs) that I’m excited about. Although, I still get pretty excited about some of the oldies! Speaking of which… check out this happy anniversary giveaway at Green Dog Wine! Congrats, Green Doggie! 

Ok, Sweeties. I have to go and empty the dishwasher. I need to get my act together for FRIDAY!! YAY! :-) Here’s wishing you a great Friday, and an awesome weekend too! Ciao for now. :-)

31 Comments

Filed under Applesauce Pie, Baking, Cheap Eats, cooking, diet, Fitness, Food, PB2, Peaches, Uncategorized, Weight Loss Success Story

31 responses to “The Peaches Made Me Do It

  1. mmmmmm those peaches look divine. I can’t believe they’re going out of season (TEAR!). That wedding cake is gorgeous. And yayy for new running shoes- I plan to get some either this week or next- I’m in major need. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Wedding cake is my favorite thing in the entire world. The last two cakes I’ve had have both been red velvet, but never did I get to take home a red velvet cupcake! Yum.

  3. Those peaches are absolutely amazing looking. Wow! Congratulations on all that you have accomplished.

  4. Wow, that’s my kind of dessert!! Hmm.. I usually make all of my family recipes exactly how I had them growing up. I think one major thing that I cook differently than my parents did growing up is perogies. We often had them deep fried to a crunchy perfection. Then we’d cut a little slit and scoop in butter to melt — yummm. However, I usually just cook them in a skillet or boil them – but it’s an unintentional lightening up, really it’s just b/c I’m not a huge fan of frying b/c it scares me and it makes a mess out of the kitchen! hehe

    Hehe you crack me up! Although I’m the same way w/ shoes. I’m an Adidas girl and I am about to turn 25 and I am not lying I still have a pair I wore in 7th grade. They have duct tape on them and everything! Of course I have many Adidas upgrades since then, but I keep the whole line up of them.

  5. debby

    Sweetie Pie, I always look forward to your blogs and your recipes! I have been thinking about that apple thing since you posted it. I even bought some butter to use to make it!

    I like the idea of adding the ‘pie’ to your morning oats. And I love barilla plus pasta. Very delish!

    And thanks for reminding me how much weight you’ve lost, and how physically fit you are. Very inspirational!

  6. p.s. I forgot you asked about re-doing a favorite recipe. My scone recipe is a complete re-do of a really great scone that I used to make. The original had white flour, white sugar, and pure cream in it. I really like the scones I make now, although I admit they aren’t really like the originals at all. After I saw your scones last week, I made a new batch of mine, and added a little flax meal and walnuts to make them a little more substantial. YUMM!!

  7. i like replacing mayo and sour cream with greek yogurt…i prefer it now, actually…

  8. Yum that peachiness looks delicious!

    Good luck with the race on Saturday, you will do awesome!

  9. LOL – I don’t know why but your title just seriously cracks me up! :)

    UM – those flowers are the most gorgeous thing I’ve ever seen! Absolutely beautiful! (the cake looks super yummy too!)

    Thanks for the link lovin’ and compliments :)

  10. I love the honey crisp apples! We’re taking the kiddies out to a pumpkin patch out towards Leesburg in a couple of weeks and I always stock up on the Honey Crisps. I love that they are popping up now that fall has arrived.

    Trader Joes has peaches still that we have eaten two boxes of in the last week (the kids LOVE them!) So if they arent at the Farmers Market anymore, check out TJ’s!

    I love that you keep buying the same sneakers! It’s really inspirational that you went from 340 and can now just sign up for the random 10k when the mood strikes. Seriously, how amazing is that? You should be so proud of yourself for all of the hard work that you’ve put in!

    Favorite heavy recipe that I’ve revamped….Chicken Marsala. I use chicken stock with a little flour to thicken the sauce. No need for the butter! Since I’m a mushroom freak, I load up on the mushrooms as well. I use the Ronzoni Smart Taste pasta, which is 180 calories for a 2 oz serving!

  11. that cake is beautiful, and your pasta dish sounds amazing!

    congrats on signing up for the race – new shoes are always fun :)

  12. I am going to use your Granny’s recipe (doubled) to take to a Life group meeting Sunday. I’ll probably use Smart Balance Light and Splenda half/half. Otherwise leave everything the same.

    Will let you know how those changes work.

  13. Ooo here I am thinking; no more desserts for me for a while and there she comes with this lovely dessert! Looks amazing. That weddingscake too by the way, wow, what a beauty!
    Good luck tomorrow with the 10k and enjoy your weekend!

  14. sarahdbelle

    Good luck with the 10K. Hope you have a blast.
    Also, that cake is gorgeous. Is that the grooms cake shaped like a baseball cap too?
    Oh, and about the marinated string cheese, I bought it at the local Superfresh. The brand is Sun-Ni.
    Take care!
    Sarah

  15. Wow, so many goodies…specially the wedding cake and the peach pie…all very nice. By the way, thank you for visiting my site :-)

  16. I could eat my weight of that baked fruity goodie! And that pasta, of course, with double – no, triple the cheese! YUM!

  17. I LOVE peaches…they are so refreshing. And i may or not have drooled a bit over your very peachy post! ;)

    Hope you are having a wonderful Sunday!

    xoxo

  18. Hello! Wow, those peaches look awesome! And boy what a cake, I bet that fed a lot of people. I love your pasta creation, my kind of dish :)
    thanks for stopping by my blog, hope you can make it to your Greek Festival :)

  19. 1) LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEE the peaches.

    2) LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEE that you’re lightening family recipes. I’m in the process of doing that too. I may start asking you for tips.

    3) That beef-barilla-veggie combo–on the upcoming dinner list!!!

  20. Peanut Butter Bliss

    boy oh boy is that cake a beauty!

    girlie that pasta with the melted cheese looks fantastic :) amazing meals!

  21. That cake looks so great!! hope you had a fun time on friday!

  22. I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  23. I just found your blog!! OMGosh!! your pictures are incredible! way to go! you look so awesome! i am so inspired by you!! can’t wait to keep reading

  24. Stephanie

    [INSERT DELAYED REACTION HERE!]

    I am so very, very behind in my Google Reader reading and designated Columbus Day as my “catch up” day. I’m glad I did, as I caught some of your pics of the cake and flowers! So happy you enjoyed our dessert-heavy wedding (what’s a girl to do when she can’t make up her mind?!) and that you were there to celebrate with us!

  25. That meal that you said is nothing much, the ground beef with the veggies, is exactly the type of dinner my family adores. Anything stewy with beef or sausage and veggies plus throw in some grains, just perfect.

  26. I left something for you on my blog! :)

  27. I hope you’re doing well!

  28. Just checking-in. Miss your blog posts.

    Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

