Using Both Sides of the Card

Memaw's Recipe Box

What you see above, Sweeties, is my Memaw’s recipe box. It has a special spot in my kitchen, and it holds the secrets to many of the foods I loved as a child. It isn’t a simple feat to find things in here– Most cards have one recipe on the front and another recipe on the back. It makes organizing it an impossible task, but it also highlights my Memaw’s tendency to make the most of what she had. Using both sides of the card is a sign of thrift, and the recipe I want to share with you today is one of the thriftiest dessert recipes I know. 

Oddly enough, I couldn’t find this recipe in the recipe box, but my mother came to the rescue. Thanks, Mom! I’m sure the recipe is in the box… somewhere. I’m glad my mother is so organized! :-) This is a sweet treat that you can whip up with things you have on hand, and the ingredients are among the most basic and inexpensive things in the pantry. That seems to be especially relevant these days as people are definitely trying to find ways to use “both sides of the card.”

This recipe actually started with my Great Grandmother, and it has been prepared and enjoyed by each subsequent generation. She and my Great Grandfather (and later my Memaw and Papaw) were cotton sharecroppers who farmed in Arkansas and Tennessee. They never had a lot, but they used what they had wisely. This dessert is definitely a wise and delicious use of a few humble things! It’s also a good use of time. You can easily have it ready to go in the time it takes the oven to heat up. After my long and busy week, I wanted something quick and satisfying tonight, and this was the perfect thing. Another benefit is the fact that I only dirtied up a bowl, a pan, a fork, a measuring cup and a rubber spatula. Not bad for tasty dessert!

P-I-E Pie

Great Grandma Clement’s Easy Apple Pie

Ingredients:

4 Tbsp. butter

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon 

1/2 cup milk

1 cup sweetened applesauce or 1 cup peeled and thinly sliced apple

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. While the oven is preheating, place the butter into a 9×9 baking dish, put it in the oven, and allow the butter to melt. While the oven is heating and the butter is melting, mix the dry ingredients together using a fork. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, add the milk, and stir until the batter is smooth.

Once the butter is completely melted, pour the batter over the top of the butter. Pour the applesauce (or place the fruit) into the middle. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the crust begins to brown. If using fresh apples, the apples should begin to brown as well. I left mine in a little bit longer because I like for the edges to be super chewy and crispy. Mmm….

Just to illustrate:

Melted butter…

Like ButtahTopped with batter…

Battery ButterTopped with applesauce…

Applesauce PoolTurns into this…

Ta da!Close-up of the chewy and crispy edges (my favorite part!)…

Corner piece, please!

Makes 6-8 servings

As you can see, this “pie” kind of stretches the definition of what counts as a pie. Whatever you call it, I think it’s awesome! I added a little bit of nutmeg, and I used unsweetened Almond Breeze almond milk in place of regular milk. Otherwise, I didn’t tinker too much with the recipe. I wanted what I wanted. Ya know?

I’ve never tried it, but I feel certain that this would work well with lots of other fruits. I’m thinking…. peaches, pears or frozen berries, in particular. It is simple, humble, cozy and delicious. I have a strong suspicion that some of this pie may find its way into a bowl of oat bran in the morning. ;-)

Since I’m counting calories while trying my best to respect my hunger signals these days, I took the time to figure out the calories for this recipe. Using almond milk instead of regular milk, one sixth of this pan was about 210 calories. That’s not as bad as I might have guessed! I was very pleasantly surprised. :-) As an added bonus, my apartment smells fabulous!

Now, I’m going to relax and watch a movie. Last night’s work out with my trainer was tougher than usual, and I’m VERY sore today. Some moves were new, and others were just altered to make them a souped up version of the usual (holding heavier weights while doing core, increasing the weight on weight machines, adding holds to lunges, that sort of thing). I’m happy about making progress, but I can tell that today needs to be a good, solid, rest day. Luckily, I have a cheesy French movie waiting for me, courtesy of Netflix, and some comfy frumpwear. I love my frumpwear!! :-)

I hope you have an amazing weekend, and I hope you’ll try my Great Grandma’s recipe sometime when you need a bit of cheap cozy comfort and the smell of fall in your kitchen. Ciao for now, sweeties! :-) 

Do you have a favorite dessert from your childhood?

24 Comments

Filed under Applesauce Pie, Baking, Cheap Eats, cooking, Food, Money Saving Recipe, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss Success Story

24 responses to “Using Both Sides of the Card

  1. M

    I just love your blogs. :)

  2. Selina

    Just made it…it’s in the oven now. Thank you for the interesting recipe with simple ingredients! :)

  3. I wonder if substituting Spenda, or Spenda half and half would make much difference. I think this might make a nice fellowship meal.

    Looks good.

  4. The cursive on the index card tells of a time gone by. Few people have neat handwriting these days, let alone pretty swirly cursive.

    Do you think the applesauce filling will work on toast? Is it thick enough? It’s actually quite healthy if you compare it to regular apple pie.

    How flaky was the crust?

  5. debby

    Yummmm! Baking with real butter…makes my mouth water just thinking about it. And only 200 calories–definitely worthy!

  6. I’m so glad ya’ll think this looks good. I’m also glad to have leftovers in my fridge. ;-)

    Carol, you could certainly try a mix of sugar and splenda. I’m not sure what would happen… but it might be worth a shot!

    Linda, thanks for commenting on her handwriting. Most of my recipes are electronic these days, and I love that hers are written out in her neat writing. It is definitely a sign of days gone by. As for your questions about the filling and the crust– the crust is more doughy than flaky. I’m not really sure how to describe it, but it might be more like cake. The hot applesauce in the middle is really just that. The batter kind of surrounds the applesauce and cooks around it. I should really eat more hot applesauce. I forgot how good it is!

  7. YUMMY! Family recipes are the best. My mom actually has a very similar looking recipe box. Favorite family recipe- my pop pop’s spaghetti sauce

  8. Wow…I wish I had family recipes like that! It must feel so good to thumb through those old recipes…

  9. Alyssa

    I was looking at your apple pie, and wondering if there is any dough under the apple in the middle? I’m a dough/bread person, so I’d think the edges would be the best part. Then I thought that the best way to have more edges would be to adapt this recipe to make individual servings in ramkins. Have you ever tried this? I’ll let you know if I try this!

    • Hey Alyssa-
      There actually isn’t a lot of dough in the very middle. I like the outer edges the most myself. I think this would work pretty well in ramekins. I hadn’t thought about it, but that would be the perfect way to have plenty of chewy edges. If you try it, definitely let me know!

  10. sarahdbelle

    This looks simple yet delicious. There’s nothing like apples in the fall.
    Sarah

  11. Aunt Nancy

    Thanks for the memories. Uncle Ronnie dosen’t care for the cake…….I bake me one in my little iron skillet from time to time. Both Sides works for me too.

    Aunt Nancy,

  12. This sounds like a nice fast treat, thanks for sharing.

  13. I have to make that IMMEDIATELY, it sounds SO TASTY!

  14. That is so cute she wrote on both sides. I would treasure those recipes too! And a pie is a pie is a pie! :) Whatever you call it, it looks great to me!

  15. What an absolute treasure you have! I’ve actually been to garage sales, seen cookbooks lovingly written into and brought it to the sellers saying “did you mean to sell this for .50 cents?” with the response – how about a quarter?!!

    My great grandma’s name was Memaw too! But My great grandpa’s name was Ditty. Grandparents were Grammy and Grandy and my parents are Nana and Poppy!

    Thanks for sharing! :D

  16. This recipe sounds wonderful! I will absolutely try it :)

  17. A bit like an apple cobbler … lovely! You’re so right abt how these days so many of us are trying to make the best food we can out of humble ingredients … and so far so good for me! This recipe is a great one to add to anyone’s repertoire.

  18. MmM apple pie! It sounds tasty!

  19. CRUMBLE APPLE PIE! It was my favorite!

    Your version looks amazing though…I just love eating pie when it’s all warmed up and delicious, serve aside some whip cream/ice cream/whatever you pleaseee :)

  20. Thanks so much for visiting my blog, and for posting your comment about the Biggest Loser. You obviously have much more to say about the topic, as someone who has been in their situation. Similarly, I have much to say about it because I WORK with people who are trying to loose weight and I can detect the problems with the show so easily. I plan on reviewing each episode on my blog, so feel free to keep the comments coming!
    I look forward to following your blog as well :)

  21. That is so sweet about the recipe box. I wish I had something like that handed down to me :(

    Favorite childhood dessert is Georgia cookies! My mom makes them every Christmas.

  22. Pingback: The Peaches Made Me Do It « Just Sweet Enough

  23. Those recipes look so yummy!

    My favorite dessert was always my grandfather’s birthday cake that had a pecan praline frosting. We had it once a year. Now I make it every christmas in his memory and I still love it just as much.

Leave a Reply

