New Tricks

Scones!

Hi, Sweeties! This week has been so busy. I’m so glad the weekend is almost here! I’ve had basically the same thing for breakfast and lunch day after day, but I’m not complaining! Luckily, I’ve had a new breakfast up my sleeve (or… actually… in the freezer), and it has been getting me off to a good start in the mornings. What is your ideal breakfast for a busy day?

I’ve always loved the overly sugary and often frosted scones for sale at local coffee shops, but I’ve learned that they make a better dessert than meal. The hit of sugar gives me energy for a little while, but they aren’t very good when it comes to staying power. If I have one for breakfast, I’ll be hungry again in no time. I saw a scone recipe in a Prevention newsletter a few weeks ago that looked as if it might be a bit different. Whole wheat flour, a wealth of nuts, no sweetener aside from what is found in the protein rich vanilla yogurt, and a smattering of dried fruit makes for a delicious, but not too sweet, breakfast treat!!

Eight Meals in a Pan

The link to the original recipe can be found here.

I changed it a bit by using:

  • Regular whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour for a nuttier and chewier texture
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. of canola oil instead of 2 Tbsp.
  • Lemon zest in place of orange zest 
  • Dried cherries instead of dried cranberries (b/c that was what I had in the pantry)

I like to have one of these scones with a big pile of fruit and my morning coffee.

BrekkieThe scones are yummy, and, thanks to the healthy fats and protein, they keep me full until lunch time!! I will be making these again, and, undoubtedly, experimenting with variations. I had a few fresh ones, but I froze most of the batch. I had my first scone from the freezer this morning. I zapped it for about 20 seconds, and that was long enough to thaw it out and warm it up just a bit. Tasty– and quicker than my bowl of oats!

I’m so sad that the summer peaches are almost gone. If the farmer I spoke with at the farmer’s market last week was right, I may not have any more of these little gems until next season:

Peachy KeenI’ve been stocking up each Saturday, and then using the paper bag trick to ripen a few at a time. I was spoiled by the peaches from Swihart Orchard, near my hometown, as a kid, and I never find peaches at the grocery store that are worthy of my spoiled taste buds. The peaches from the farmer’s market have been amazing, and I’m going to miss them so much!  :-)

Speaking of the farmer’s market, I happened to catch this fuzzy little guy frolicking among the blooms on Saturday:

BuzzzzzzzzzzI love blogging because I always seem to have my camera when I need it! :-)

In other news, I tried a “new to me” product this week, and I’m a big fan! I’m sure many of you already keep these in your freezer, but, for those of you just starting to explore the realm of frozen veggie burgers, I thought I’d tell you about these:

Spicy!I always keep a variety of soy and veggie burgers in my freezer. While I like most of them just fine, there are only a few that I really get very excited about. These spicy black bean burgers are on that list! I had them crumbled on top of my lunchtime salads this week with lettuce, tomatoes, fresh corn, reduced fat Mexican cheese blend, fat free Greek yogurt and salsa.

EnsaladaYUM! Seriously, I even love the way these burgers smell while they are cooking. The only problem is the fact that I’ve eaten them all. I need to buy more!!

The other fun thing I’ve had this week is the result of a little griddler experiment. I was cooking a pork tenderloin on the griddler, and I wondered what would happen if I tossed some thinly sliced potato on with the pork.

Griddler Me ThisI’ve never tried to grill potatoes, and I wasn’t sure what would happen. I love making fries in the oven, but sometimes I just hate the time it takes to heat the oven to temperature. I would also hate to heat the whole oven to cook one little potato. If this worked… oh my! I’d have a whole new quick method for making something fry like! My fingers were crossed!!!

I sprayed the thin potato slices on both sides with cooking spray, and then sprinkled them with a little bit of salt. The end result:

YES!! Griddler Fries!Yes!!! We have griddler fries!! They were crispy on the outside, and nicely cooked in the center. A few of the thinner pieces got super crispy and tasted like potato chips. I’m so happy I tried this, and I’ll be making more… and more… and more… of them in the future! They went well with my sauteed swiss chard and pork tenderloin. Don’t be fooled by the photo, however. I did decide to have some ketchup with my fries. What could be better?

What’s your favorite way to eat a potato?

P.S. Mara is having an insanely awesome and cheesy giveaway. You should definitely check it out!!

Christina is also having a celebratory giveaway (Congrats, Christina!!) and you should check it out too!!

17 Comments

Filed under Baking, cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Food, Greek Yogurt, Nuts, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss Success Story

17 responses to “New Tricks

  1. Hey Nicole!

    You’re story is so inspirational!! I’m so thrilled you read and commented on my blog so I could find you.

    PS I think we live near each other…but I’m at school now :(

  2. I love those veggie burgers! Decent amount of protein too. I don’t buy them often but they are awesome!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog.Yep, pumpkin Hershey’s kisses are great, seek them out soon!

    As for my favorite way to eat a potato, I like it with Wendy’s chili on top! Perfect.

  4. We grew up picking our own peaches ripe off the tree – so I agree w/ you! I have spoiled taste buds too and store-bought peaches never, EVER compare and I’m always disappointed!

    Mmm I love love love those black bean burgers too! My favorite way to enjoy them was just how you did – crumbled over a salad. Sometimes I make the whole salad southwestern and use a little salsa or taco sauce as the dressing too! hehe

    Thanks for the linkback, I really appreciate it! You’re the only person who has linked back!!!

  5. debby

    I love scones too! I have a recipe on my blog for blueberry scones that I use all the time. And I freeze them too, but I like to warm them up in the toaster oven–I swear it is like they are fresh baked when you do that!

    • Hi, Debby-
      I have the Cuisinart griddler, and I love it! It has removable plates, and it can either be used for grilling and pannini pressing (with the ridged plates) or as a griddle (with the smooth plates.) I’ve made some pretty successful pancakes using the griddle plates. Being able to control the temperature using the griddle control knob makes it nearly fool proof, as my pancake problem is quite often a pan that is too hot.

      The plates are dishwasher safe, which is key for me. Another great feature is that it has a hinge that allows you to flatten it out and have twice the cooking surface if you are grilling a lot of veggies at once. I’m usually just cooking for me so I typically sandwich my food between the two rather than flattening it out. It was a bit of an investment, but it is probably the kitchen appliance I use the most. I highly recommend it!! It’s also great because cooking spray is always a sufficient (and low fat) way to keep food from sticking.

      If you decide to purchase some sort of indoor grill, let me know! I hope you do, and I hope you love yours as much as I love mine!! :-) I think it is perfect for making quick meals for one.

  6. debby

    Hi Sweetie Pie, I forgot to mention that those potatoes looked fantastic. And I finally got around to looking up ‘griddler’ and I see there are quite a few choices. Can you tell me which one you have, or do you have a recommendation about which would work best for a single person?

  7. Wow, your breakfast looks fabulous! I love overnight oats in greek yogurt, or a quick combo of a muffin/vitatop, greek yogurt, and pb :) I often wake up earlier to make stovetop oats, cause I like having them.

    I love the pretty flowers, and that burger salad looks delicious. I like potatoes + ketchup. Like french fries, haha :)

  8. Yum! It’s a breakfast pie, instead of a breakfast cookie. :P Way to break barriers! And peaches are my favorite by far, by the way.

  9. I am pretty boring when it comes to breakfast as 9 times out of 10 we have yogurt, cereal of some sort and loads of fruit. I love it though and it’s filling and healthy and keeps me going way past lunchtime!
    We always do our potatoes either in a frying pan or a griddle pan! I love them and I like the flavor better then in the oven or frying them. You can add spices to them as well just to vary a bit in taste.

  10. Your Swiss chard also looks beautiful! I love the combo of yellow and pink stalks. It’s one of my fave summer veggies, but I haven’t been able to find it at the Farmer’s Markets around here, for some reason.

  11. Mmm your breakfast looks delicious!

  12. hello there lady! those scones look awesome. I have them on my list :)

    don’t you love those black bean burgers? so good.

    I hope you have a great Friday!

  13. thank you for the scone recipe — i have a whole bunch of whole wheat flour i dunno what to do with!

Leave a Reply

