Soup Weather

Lying MugThe mug. It lies. If I had a “Curried Carrot and Squash Soup” mug in the cabinet, I would have used it, but this seemed like a good alternative. :-)

It seems like Labor Day flipped the switch on fall weather in D.C., and I’m not complaining! The weather this week has been decidedly fall like, and I’m loving every minute of it. In fact, it inspired me to make a warm, cozy and spicy soup with things I had on hand, and I wanted to share it with you.

I had a pile of yellow summer squash, a partially eaten bag of baby carrots and the usual staples of broth, onions, nut butter (of course!) and Greek yogurt (as always!!). Add to that, the variety of spices in my spice drawer, and a creamy soup was imminent. I used lots of spice, because I love a little burn, but if you aren’t a fan of spice, you could certainly use a bit less curry powder, give it a taste, and add more if you decide you want to kick it up a bit. What’s better than roasted veggies? They are always just the way I like them– nice and sweet!

Carrot Roast

Squash Roast

Pot of Coziness

Sweetie’s Curried Carrot and Squash Soup

Ingredients:

Cooking spray

3/4 pound baby carrots

1 1/2 pounds yellow squash, quartered and cut into 1/2 inch slices

salt

1/2 tsp olive oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

3 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/8 tsp ground red pepper

1 Tbsp. almond or peanut butter

1/3 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Spray two baking sheets with cooking spray. Layer the baby carrots on one baking sheet. Spray the carrots with cooking spray and then sprinkle them with a bit of salt. Layer the squash chunks on the other baking sheet. Spray the squash with cooking spray and sprinkle it with a bit of salt.

Place both sheets in the oven. Roast the carrots for 15 to 20 minutes, or until they become soft and start to brown. Roast the squash for about 25 minutes, stirring the mixture at the halfway point. 

Heat 1/2 tsp olive oil in a 3 1/2 quart saucepan. When the oil is hot, add the onions and a sprinkle of salt. Reduce the heat and cook the onions for seven minutes, or until they become soft. Add the squash, carrots and broth to the saucepan, bring it to a boil, reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer for 10 minutes. 

Add the curry powder, cinnamon, ginger, red pepper and nut butter to the veggie mixture. Using a blender, carefully puree the veggie mixture in batches. I usually remove the stopper from the top of the blender container and hold a dish towel loosely over the opening to allow some steam to escape while the veggies are pureeing. They are hot and they will spatter so be careful!

Add all of the pureed vegetables back to the saucepan. Stir in the Greek yogurt, and heat the mixture through on medium heat. Add salt to taste.

This makes 5 or 6 servings

The roasted veggies make it slightly sweet. The spices make it cozy, and the nut butter and Greek yogurt add creaminess as well as protein. This soup is low calorie with a high satisfaction factor. That’s a match made in heaven!

I’ve been having this for lunch over the past few days, and I’ve been looking forward to it each time. While packing my lunches this week, I realized it has been awhile since I have made a big batch type food for my lunchtime munching. I love having a hearty and filling soup ready to go in the morning, and then being able to match it up with whatever suits my whim– peanut butter on an Arnold’s sandwich thin, hummus and pita, cheese and crackers, whatever! I know that the soup will guarantee that I will have a full tummy, and that’s a good thing! Soup is also one of my favorite ways to eat my veggies. :-)

Since the weather is cooling off, I thought I’d give you a little flashback with links to some of the soup type things I’ve made and blogged about in the past:

“Big Batch” Bulgur Chili

Cleaning Up the Apartment Roasted Eggplant and Tomato Soup

Creamy Cauliflower and Cannellini Soup

Just Sweet Enough Pinto Bean Soup with Tomato Chipotle Ketchup

“Not Going to the Store” Garlic Scape, Eggplant and Red Lentil Stew

“Project: Clean Out the Freezer” Spinach and Sausage Soup

Super Quick Lentil, Carrot and Tomato Soup

My little trip down memory lane reminded me of several things I need to make in the cooler months to come. I see bulgur chili in my near future for sure.

Bulgur ChiliMmmmm…..

Most of the soups I make are created using what I have on hand. How about you? Do you have a favorite soup, stew or type of chili? Is there one ingredient that always inspires you to whip up a pot of comfort?


18 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Food, Greek Yogurt, Lowfat, Recipes, Soup, Squash, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Recipes, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

18 responses to “Soup Weather

  1. yum! thanks for sharing the recipe! Every fall I get in a daily-soup-for-lunch kick and keep a batch in the fridge. This year’s will be the curried carrot and squash!

  2. That soup looks AMAZING. I can’t wait until I get squash in my CSA so I can whip some up myself. Even though I live in southern CA, I am a soup and chili fiend. I don’t think I could pick a favorite!

  3. I have some of your cauliflower and cannelini soup in my freezer! :)

    My brother and I had those Campbell’s soup bowl mug thingies growing up and LOVED them!!

    Hmm I think I usually throw things together just like you. I really like using the crockpot and just build flavors in there w/ things on hand, what needs to be used up, or what was available. I like throwing in beans or serving over rice to bulk up a bit and extend it cheaply!

  4. mmm this sounds soooo good right now. I love that there is nut butter in it! How cool. My favorite soup is black bean. Delicious and so filling!

  5. Thanks for sharing that fantastic recipe! It looks delicious! I wish it was soup weather in North Carolina, it’s still in the 80’s.

  6. megzzwinsatlife

    The recipe looks great!! Can’t wait to try it!!

  7. Brandi

    oh my goodness, i need to make this! what an awesome sounding soup!!!

    i love chilis and thick soups in the winter…not sure if I have ONE favorite, but it is hard to beat really good, homemade chicken noodle soup.

  8. yay thanks for that recipe – I love soup at this time of year!

  9. M

    Ahhh, those recipes=stomach=growllllll!! :) Thanks so much for posting.

  10. I almost never buy ingredients to make soup with. Usually I make soup with all my veggie leftovers and it always comes out great!

  11. Vani

    That soup looks SO. GOOD!!!!! My very favorite winter recipes usually involve roasted/pureed veggies :-)

    fitforfree.wordpress.com

  12. Thanks for sharing all of the recipes! Perfect for low-cost eating, as you suggested on my blog ;) Thanks!

    Love that Campbells mug. It’s so perfect to hold your many soups :)

  13. I’m in such a fall mood now…soup, a sweater…not that I can ever wear a sweater down here in S. Texas…

  14. That soup sounds awesome!! I love that it’s ‘soup weather’ now :)

  15. Too much good looking food at your house!

    Your tomato pic from your last post inspires me to make the following tomato tart again:

    http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/archives/3547

    And your delicious, creamy squash soup reminds me of my favorite fall winter soup staple (recipe courtesy of my friend Jenny)–it’s a soup with butternut squash and white beans, flavored with cumin and topped with toasted pumpkin seeds and crispy bacon. I just posted the recipe on my blog, if you want it!

  16. I like your soup – it sounds so delicious and great for a cold winter day.

  17. Yum – I’m a sucker for pretty much anything curry-flavored. Your soup sounds fantastic! Perfect for one of those grey winter days!

Leave a Reply

