What? No Nut Butter?

That’s right. I had a day without any peanut, cashew or almond butter. I didn’t do it on purpose. I swear! That doesn’t mean there were no nuts. I saw several while riding the metro. *Ba dump bump* Ha! Oh, Sweetie Pie. What can I say? It’s been a long day. At least it started out with a tasty bowl:

BananabowlerrifficThere’s a smushed up banana in the bowl along with some oat bran and some five grain cereal. I topped it with a bit of honey and some of these:
Daily CrunchI bought these awhile back, and they are yummy. The problem is, it is 150 calories for the few little bites you see in that bowl. Hmph. My solution? I run it through my nut chopper and put 1/2 or 1/3 of a serving on my morning bowl. You’ll see some later in this post in another bowl too. On their own, it takes about three bites, and they’re gone. Chopping them up makes them go a bit farther, and they taste really good mixed in with the other things!

I didn’t add protein powder to my bowl this morning, and I got hungry earlier than usual. I really do need a good amount of protein in the morning if I’m going to make it to lunch. I had a little yogurt and some Fiber One about two hours before lunch. I like the Yokids. It isn’t too sweet, the serving is small, and it’s kind of perfect for a small snack with a calcium punch at only 80 calories. Plus, I can pretend I’m a kid. :-)

Yoooooo Kids!!I also broke out the piece of a Theo’s orange and dark chocolate bar that I had tucked into the lunch bag, and I sort of nibbled on it throughout the morning. 

ChockieDark chocolate is SO satisfying!

When lunchtime came around, I was very excited about my eats! I had a serving of the Springtime Market Potato Salad that I whipped up on Sunday, a hard boiled egg with some natural sea salt that a friend shared with me, and an Arnold’s sandwich thin topped with the rest of my container of Tribe chipotle hummus and some radishes and green onions from the market. My lunch was so fresh and springy. It made me happy. :-) 

Lunchy LunchSpeaking of happy… I had this after lunch:

Cookie LoveAs you can see, I cut it in half. This little cookie is a prime example of why it’s important to read nutritional information carefully. The cookie is two servings, although, you might think it was only one if you weren’t reading closely. It’s kind of high in calories, so I planned on having half. It was incredibly tasty, so I decided to skip one of my planned snacks and have the whole thing. Some times you just need the whole cookie!!! :-) I like the whole graininess of Cookiehead’s cookies. This one also had various seeds and nuts with some very yummy chunks of chocolate. It was gooooood, and well worth the calorie splurge.

Since my lunch was a bit light on the protein, I made sure that a couple of my afternoon snacks were a bit higher in protein. This edamame gave me a little boost:

EdamameI followed it up with this pretty little apple. This would have been a usual place to insert peanut butter into the afternoon, but that was part of the cookie trade-off. This apple was crisp and sweet all on its own. Can you believe that it’s May already? Do you have anything special planned for the summer months? Vacation? Personal challenges? Lounging by the pool?

Pretty Little LadyAnother protein rich snack I had this afternoon was a bowl of Greek yogurt topped with some honey pomegranate jelly and some more crushed up Goji snacks. This combo was great! I had forgotten how much I love cashews. 

Greek yogurt!I still can’t believe I didn’t have any peanut butter on vanilla wafers, my apple, a newton crisp, a date, my finger… You get the point! My eats were a little different, and I like that! It’s so important to avoid the food rut for both my own eating enjoyment and for the purpose of including a lot of variety in my diet. Today was a good day for that!

When I got home, I made a huge salad with lettuce, radishes, tomatoes and green onions from Saturday’s farmer’s market trip. Look at the purple radishes. What fun!! I also topped it with some goat cheese, a chopped up chicken mushroom asiago sausage from Trader Joe’s, salt, pepper and a bit of balsamic vinegar. Yum!

Big SaladFor dessert, I had the bowl I’d been looking forward to all day. LaLoo’s Strawberry Darling goat’s milk ice cream. I really love this stuff. I put some chopped almonds on the top for a little crunch. Just look at all of the balsamic swirl in the bowl. Mmmm….

Strawberry Darlin'Finally, I finished off the day with a little bowlful of one of my favorite snack combinations: Galaxy Vanilla Almond Munch Granola and Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips. This is a perfect snack for a nibbler like me!

Galactic SnacktasticI worked out with my trainer tonight and followed the strength training up with cardio for a total calorie blast of 600 calories. I’m making the most of my workout routine this week in anticipation of next week’s vacation. I’m hoping to try a few new exercise classes for fun on the ship, but I’ll have to see what my choices are after I get there. I’m kind of hoping for Zumba. I’ve heard great things about it, and I’ve wanted to give it a try. Do you zumba?

I had a productive day at work today, and I’ve started a list of things to pack. I’m just so ready to go! I haven’t really taken any time off since the Christmas holidays, and I’m really looking forward to it. I guess it’s kind of like my very own spring break. I don’t think you are ever to old for spring break!

So now I need to take my clean sheets out of the dryer, put them on the bed, and crawl under the covers. I hope you are having a great week. We are already up to Wednesday, and my week sort of seems to be flying by. Time does fly when you are having fun… or when you are just really busy!!

Ciao for now, bloggies and have a happy humpday!

19 Comments

Filed under Asparagus, Bananas, cooking, diet, Farmer's Market, Fitness, Food, Greek Yogurt, Nuts, Salad, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

19 responses to “What? No Nut Butter?

  1. I am dying to try zumba but haven’t had a class show up around here…it looks like a lot of fun!

  2. Good job on the 600 calorie blast! Zumba is offered at my gym, but it’s always packed so I’ve not had the opportunity to take it. Of course, I peek in and am mesmerized by the dance-like moves. It’s just as fun watching sometimes.

    I’d like to answer your questions about summer plans. For us, it’s still to early to plan but we are traveling to Ottawa to see family and run the Ottawa Half at the end of the month.

  3. Now that sounds like my kind of salad!

  4. I do not Zumba. I have heard that if you can’t dance, you can’t Zumba. And I CAN NOT dance!

  5. what a great day, even without the nut butter :) I have never tried Zumba, but I’ve heard great things about it!

    Your lunch look so delicious – I wish I had that for my lunch today!

  6. Erin

    I can’t imagine a no nut butter day, but yours looks delicious! So many new foods and snack ideas. And I love the yo baby yogurts :)

  7. Delicious as usual. :) I really want to make that potato salad.

  8. AmyJoGo

    That salad looks incredible. I’ve never considered adding sausage to a salad (mainly because of the grease!) but I will have to buy some of the neat poultry flavors I’ve seen at Central Market. I would love to try some of the other cheese but they are so expensive that I stick to the standards most of the time.

    Balsamic = my fave :)

  9. I love how that you show it is possible to have a full and healthy diet and still lose weight. Seriously, if I hear another friend say that they cant have carbs or they cant eat something because they are on a diet, I’m going to scream :D

    We have Zumba at my ginormous gym, but due to a complete and utter lack of coordination, this lady avoids it to prevent injury!

  10. Goats milk ice cream? Never seen it or tried it! Does it taste like cows milk ice cream?? Your lunch sammy looks super. Glad you got a great workout in. I have taken Zumba- its a lot of fun and if you shake it, you can get a GREAT lower impact workout

    • Erica– I can’t say enough about how much I love the LaLoo’s goats milk ice creams. I get them at my whole foods. They are lower in calories and fat than many of the light cow’s milk ice creams I’ve tried, but even creamier and more rich tasting. I’m pretty amazed by them!! Plus, the company website shows some very cute goats. That makes me like it even better!!!

      Zumba I’m happy to hear everyone’s thoughts on Zumba. Keep ‘em coming! A new gym has opened up near my apartment, and I might go and try it there if not on my vacation. I’m not sure I’m much of a dancer, but I’d willingly give it a whirl (even if I look completely and utterly ridiculous!!) Ha!

  11. maggieapril

    I love Zumba. I just bought a 10 week pass at my class last night. I’m not that great at following the more complicated dance moves, but I figure as long as you’re shakin’ it, you’re burning calories. (The hispanic ladies in my class look all hot and sexy. Me? I just look hot and sweaty. Oh well.)

  12. Ahhhh…. clean sheets! The best feeling (and smell) in the world.

    My gym just started Zumba classes. I haven’t taken any yet because they tend to be very crowded and I tend to be very uncoordinated. I will probably break down and do at least one class this summer–I know I work out harder when I have a trainer directing me. It’s my own little gold star syndrome–I always want to be a good student.

    I’ve been working on a fantabulous kick butt summer workout plan, which I blogged about this morning. Twice a day workouts and more varied exercise (walking, swimming, elliptical, spinning, kickboxing class and maybe Zumba). I’m also looking to incorporate more in-season veggies. I suspect the college dining hall is causing my plateau. Time to kick my own butt. Hard.

  13. sometimes you TOTALLY need and deserve the whole cookie! LOVE IT!

    have a great day ;)

  14. what, no nut butter?!! well, as long as you replaced it with honey …

    i love colorful foods, and your salad definitely wins the colorful award!

    (i’ve never zumba’d, but i’ve always been so curious about it)

  15. 600 calories is awesome! You definitely earned that cookie! Although I agree, it’s a great lesson in reading labels.
    I honestly don’t know if I have gone a day without nut butter for a while. It’s hard because I haven’t been keepin an exact food diary recently, but I’m pretty sure those days are rare! :)

  16. Everything looks so delicious in this post! Especially the orange & dark chocolates and your lunch!!

    And that’s so funny you lived a day w/o nut butter…..I haven’t done that in a while! :)

  17. No nut butter?! That’s a crime ;)

    Those nut crunches look fun! I also really like your radish, hummus, green onion sandwich! I’ve never heard of goat milk ice cream – very interesting. No zumba for me yet but one of these days!!

  18. I have never tried Zumba, but i would love to try it especially since its been earning rave reviews!

Leave a Reply

